Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 47

Thread: Changing lens w/o turning off the cam

  1. #21
    Senior Member ovaltinemilo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Sin jia Po lah
    Posts
    2,820

    Default Re: Changing lens w/o turning off the cam

    Quote Originally Posted by csupporter View Post
    oh, should i sent for servicing every month then? Thanks for your advice, i didnt know it
    I thot general maintenance service is like once every year...shd be stated smwhere in the manual... if go every month, unless you can't stand the slightest possibility of dust on sensor and focusing screen....
    ...:::..::.Nikon.::.:::..
    RGB Metering & Focusing.

  2. #22
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Changing lens w/o turning off the cam

    Quote Originally Posted by ovaltinemilo View Post
    I thot general maintenance service is like once every year...shd be stated smwhere in the manual... if go every month, unless you can't stand the slightest possibility of dust on sensor and focusing screen....
    Well, he has been changing lenses without turning the camera off.

  3. #23
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Changing lens w/o turning off the cam

    Quote Originally Posted by csupporter View Post
    Oh, ok...i think i need to go down to CSC...but i'd rather wait for the 1DS mk4 to come out than spend money on servicing the 1DS mk 3, and daredevil, i reserved my 1DSmk3 for you
    Sorry. I am with the dark side.

    I'll still take it, if it is free.

  4. #24
    Deregistered allenleonhart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    3,656
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Changing lens w/o turning off the cam

    Quote Originally Posted by daredevil123 View Post
    When your sensor is powered on, it will have electrical charge going through it, it will create static around the sensor, and will dust magnet, attracting dust to it.

    You were saying you are worried that the on-off switch will break due to over use due to turning on and off when changing lens. That is one of the most classic piece of kiasu kiasi bull I heard in a long time.
    so long as u dun abuse it too much can liao. worse come to worse just take a blower and blow it off later. if really cannot send to csc. if ur in an event shooting and u need to get the moment, the last thing on ur mind is if u switched off ur camera.

    but if its leisurely, like take landscapes, i think off will be good.

    dun abuse it can liao

  5. #25
    Senior Member ovaltinemilo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Sin jia Po lah
    Posts
    2,820

    Default Re: Changing lens w/o turning off the cam

    Quote Originally Posted by daredevil123 View Post
    Well, he has been changing lenses without turning the camera off.
    hhm...reasonable then..
    ...:::..::.Nikon.::.:::..
    RGB Metering & Focusing.

  6. #26
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Changing lens w/o turning off the cam

    Quote Originally Posted by csupporter View Post
    Lazy lah...The small on off switch is quite stiff too
    So lazy, might as well don't shoot with DSLR so ley-cheh. Just shoot with PnS lor.

  7. #27
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Changing lens w/o turning off the cam

    Quote Originally Posted by csupporter View Post
    I think theres a bit of dust in my cam...how bout i post some pics and you guys help me see if i need to throw it away
    Don't bother to do it here la. Bring to CSC. You have the FLAGSHIP leh...

  8. #28
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Changing lens w/o turning off the cam

    Quote Originally Posted by csupporter View Post
    You very naughty leh...shoo off newbies
    No la. you say yourself one mah, flagship mah, CSC should take care.

    I very nice to newbies one. You newbie meh? You using FLAGSHIP leh...

  9. #29
    Senior Member ovaltinemilo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Sin jia Po lah
    Posts
    2,820

    Default Re: Changing lens w/o turning off the cam

    Quote Originally Posted by daredevil123 View Post
    Don't bother to do it here la. Bring to CSC. You have the FLAGSHIP leh...
    ...:::..::.Nikon.::.:::..
    RGB Metering & Focusing.

  10. #30

    Default Re: Changing lens w/o turning off the cam

    turning off to change lens is to reduce chances of dust sticking to the sensor.

  11. #31

    Default Re: Changing lens w/o turning off the cam

    guys, i suspect cssupporter is a troll.

    just report his posts, let the mods deal with him. in the meantime, just ignore and carry on. there will always be troublemakers around.

  12. #32
    Senior Member ovaltinemilo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Sin jia Po lah
    Posts
    2,820

    Default Re: Changing lens w/o turning off the cam

    Quote Originally Posted by csupporter View Post
    Sir, please explain yourself

    Btw, here is the pic, is there a lot of dusts? And in that plane going into sonic boom? I am not a plane activist

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/52352745@N08/4825862923/

    Thank you


    if tt's dust on the plane...I think it's reasonable too since you don't off your cam when changing lens by the way, you can see for yourself the dust, isn't it?
    ...:::..::.Nikon.::.:::..
    RGB Metering & Focusing.

  13. #33
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Changing lens w/o turning off the cam

    Quote Originally Posted by csupporter View Post
    i can see 2 spots
    I see more than 10.

  14. #34
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Changing lens w/o turning off the cam

    Quote Originally Posted by csupporter View Post
    can anyone else see more than 10 or is he trying to act cool?
    Look properly.

    Also you can use that pic and boost the brightness. The spots will show.

  15. #35
    Deregistered wootsk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Small Island
    Posts
    1,689

    Default Re: Changing lens w/o turning off the cam

    Learn from ken watanabe, he doesn't off his camera when changing lens
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V_Srg1xZLNY

  16. #36
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Changing lens w/o turning off the cam

    cssupporter is de-reg is it? hmmm... all posts suddenly gone.

    Anyway, if you are still reading this here are the dusts in your pic.

    http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4077/...d7f4901c_o.jpg

  17. #37
    Deregistered allenleonhart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    3,656
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Changing lens w/o turning off the cam

    Quote Originally Posted by daredevil123 View Post
    cssupporter is de-reg is it? hmmm... all posts suddenly gone.

    Anyway, if you are still reading this here are the dusts in your pic.

    http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4077/...d7f4901c_o.jpg
    yea. clone account discovered via routine ip check

  18. #38
    Deregistered allenleonhart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    3,656
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Changing lens w/o turning off the cam

    Quote Originally Posted by wootsk View Post
    Learn from ken watanabe, he doesn't off his camera when changing lens
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V_Srg1xZLNY
    check out 47 sec of the vid. ken was using program mode before we caught him and he had to change to look pro

  19. #39
    Senior Member +evenstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Singapore / United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,655

    Default Re: Changing lens w/o turning off the cam

    Quote Originally Posted by allenleonhart View Post
    check out 47 sec of the vid. ken was using program mode before we caught him and he had to change to look pro
    aint P mode Professional mode?

    if pros cant use P mode, why is this function even in the FLAGSHIP series in the first place?
    eat. drink. shoot

  20. #40
    Deregistered wootsk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Small Island
    Posts
    1,689

    Default Re: Changing lens w/o turning off the cam

    Quote Originally Posted by +evenstar View Post
    aint P mode Professional mode?

    if pros cant use P mode, why is this function even in the FLAGSHIP series in the first place?
    Initially, my sister look at my DSLR not long after I brought it and ask me if this can record video in the TV mode?
    TV = Television.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •