Thread: suggestion on macro lens for Nikon D5000

Default suggestion on macro lens for Nikon D5000

newbie here and want to ask what macro lens is compatible for Nikon D5000? i am still new in using dslr and would love to try macro perhaps. i understand that the only lenses that would work on Nikon D5000 is a DX lens so the question is if i want to buy a macro lens for such dslr what are the compatible lens?

Default Re: suggestion on macro lens for Nikon D5000

Quote Originally Posted by zalzalero8 View Post
    newbie here and want to ask what macro lens is compatible for Nikon D5000? i am still new in using dslr and would love to try macro perhaps. i understand that the only lenses that would work on Nikon D5000 is a DX lens so the question is if i want to buy a macro lens for such dslr what are the compatible lens?
    Try the new 60mm micro and the 105mm micro. Both have AF-S and are supported for use on the D5000 with full AF.

The other Nikon F-mount lenses can also be used but without the AF function. You can also consider the Tamrons if you are on a budget and dun mind using manual focusing.
    Michael Lim
    My Flickr Site

i understand that the only lenses that would work on Nikon D5000 is a DX lens so the question is if i want to buy a macro lens for such dslr what are the compatible lens?

That's wrong. You can also use the FX lenses. But you only get autofocus with AF-S and AF-I lenses.
    Alpha

thanks zac08. since i'm new to dslr, i really appreciate and comfortable using AF-S lens. i really haven't tried using manual focus since i got my Nikon d5000.
    i am also tight on budget but would really love to have a dedicated macro lens. any suggestion? is tamron a good choice or should i get the nikon macro lens?

Quote Originally Posted by zac08 View Post
    Try the new 60mm micro and the 105mm micro. Both have AF-S and are supported for use on the D5000 with full AF.