Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast
Results 81 to 100 of 108

Thread: Time Lapse

  1. #81
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    4,195

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    I am thinking for HD video...resolution is 1920 x 1080. So no need to take too high res photo. The encoder will still re-encode to this resolution. Yes?

    I have Pinnacle Studio. Maybe I'll play around with it a little bit tonight.
    Last edited by ManWearPants; 6th September 2010 at 08:21 PM.

  2. #82

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    Neat!! A bunch of guys totally into time lapse
    well i first fell in love with time lapse after watching this particular movie




    check out my time lapse movies
    basically I took it outside of my window

    Stills were compiled using Quick Time Pro
    Don't mind the long winded movies and boring scene.
    Would explore more in the near future.

    the first done with iPhone 3GS
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=auBaGyKrZZw

    this is done using my D70S IR (ELP)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zfZtd_1SwL8

    finally another one done with my D90
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9g_hESfrXnY


    cheers and thanks for watching

  3. #83
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Punggol
    Posts
    43

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    Livideyez
    Keep shooting and editing for us to see more.
    Behind every timelapse is quite a lot of long hours alone mostly...
    and a lot of editing.

    Like your original music.

  4. #84

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    Quote Originally Posted by AnduTan View Post
    Livideyez
    Keep shooting and editing for us to see more.
    Behind every timelapse is quite a lot of long hours alone mostly...
    and a lot of editing.

    Like your original music.
    Thanks

  5. #85

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    Anyone has any idea where to get a motorized tripod mount for the panning shots? Hopefully not too expensive. Definitely makes for more interesting/dramatic compositions compared to static scenes.

  6. #86

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    Quote Originally Posted by CamInit View Post
    Anyone has any idea where to get a motorized tripod mount for the panning shots? Hopefully not too expensive. Definitely makes for more interesting/dramatic compositions compared to static scenes.
    think u gotta build your own.

  7. #87
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    4,195

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    Quote Originally Posted by CamInit View Post
    Anyone has any idea where to get a motorized tripod mount for the panning shots? Hopefully not too expensive. Definitely makes for more interesting/dramatic compositions compared to static scenes.
    There is a robotic one.......your arms.

  8. #88
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    4,195

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    wah liew.....my heart pain when the shutter goes click, click, click every few seconds that I aborted the sequence. It takes a lot of courage to embark on time lapse p. lol

    Just to create a 5 min 30fps NTSC video, need to click 7200 clicks over a duration of 10 hours to capture sunset to sunrise, or 1 click every 4 seconds for 10 hours. whew!

    there is a good calculator here
    http://www.time-science.com/timescie...asp#calculator
    Last edited by ManWearPants; 13th September 2010 at 07:46 PM.

  9. #89
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    Quote Originally Posted by CamInit View Post
    Anyone has any idea where to get a motorized tripod mount for the panning shots? Hopefully not too expensive. Definitely makes for more interesting/dramatic compositions compared to static scenes.
    it is very expensive, they using some thing like this, originally use for Telescope, modified it to mount camera for TL photography.
    http://www.firstlightoptics.com/proddetail.php?prod=Synscan_AZ_GOTO_Mount&cat=133
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  10. #90

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    Quote Originally Posted by CamInit View Post
    Anyone has any idea where to get a motorized tripod mount for the panning shots? Hopefully not too expensive. Definitely makes for more interesting/dramatic compositions compared to static scenes.
    The hardcore guys like milapse used to use this
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ni89TBOTCUA


    check this out
    http://openmoco.org/

    http://www.openmoco.org/node/112

    It won't come cheap though and it's definitely heavy to lug everything out

  11. #91

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    Quote Originally Posted by livideyez View Post
    The hardcore guys like milapse used to use this
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ni89TBOTCUA


    check this out
    http://openmoco.org/

    http://www.openmoco.org/node/112

    It won't come cheap though and it's definitely heavy to lug everything out
    if there are a few people interested in making one..why dont we pool our resources and try? Im game
    :: Canon EOS 7D | 18-135 IS | 100mm Macro f 2.8 ::
    Xperience

  12. #92
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Question Time Lapse

    after 100,000 shutter counts, your D90 will be disintegrated.........

    btw, if you take 100 photos a day, you need 1000 days to reach the 100,000 shutter counts, it means you shoot everyday for nearly three years.

    don't worry so much about shutter counts, not much people shoot beyond the figures, and even that if you really reach that stage, you already make full use of your camera, can either write it off buy a new camera or replace the shutter unit.

    anyway, everyday think about shutter counts, how to enjoy photography?
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  13. #93
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: "Tested to 100,000 shuttle actuations"

    go and shoot timelapse photography..
    produce a 30s clip you need nearly 1k shutter counts (30seconds times 30 frame per seconds)

    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  14. #94
    Senior Member sinned79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    10,849

    Default Re: "Tested to 100,000 shuttle actuations"

    Quote Originally Posted by catchlights View Post
    go and shoot timelapse photography..
    produce a 30s clip you need nearly 1k shutter counts (30seconds times 30 frame per seconds)

    i am trying this saturday

    hmm but i am not sure if my calculation is correct...

    i intend to camp for 1 hour... shoot at intervals of 5 seconds each... so that will be 5x12x60 = 720 shots?

    then for 720 shots, how long can the video be?

  15. #95
    Senior Member +evenstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Singapore / United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,655

    Default Re: "Tested to 100,000 shuttle actuations"

    Quote Originally Posted by sinned79 View Post
    i am trying this saturday

    hmm but i am not sure if my calculation is correct...

    i intend to camp for 1 hour... shoot at intervals of 5 seconds each... so that will be 5x12x60 = 720 shots?

    then for 720 shots, how long can the video be?
    common sense question. how long your video is depends on how many FPS u want.
    eat. drink. shoot

  16. #96
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: "Tested to 100,000 shuttle actuations"

    Quote Originally Posted by sinned79 View Post
    i am trying this saturday

    hmm but i am not sure if my calculation is correct...

    i intend to camp for 1 hour... shoot at intervals of 5 seconds each... so that will be 5x12x60 = 720 shots?

    then for 720 shots, how long can the video be?
    what is the 12?
    anyway, your intervals is 5s, let say your shutter shutter speed is 1s, in one hour is 60minx60s, total 3600sec, you get 600 shots in that hour. (3600/5s+1s)

    if you are using 24 FPS (the lowest), 600 frames is producing a 25sec clip.
    Last edited by catchlights; 17th September 2010 at 11:22 AM.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  17. #97
    Senior Member sinned79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    10,849

    Default Re: "Tested to 100,000 shuttle actuations"

    Quote Originally Posted by +evenstar View Post
    common sense question. how long your video is depends on how many FPS u want.
    sorry my maths quite poor, so i am not sure how to calculate. dun think it has something to do with common sense.

  18. #98
    Senior Member sinned79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    10,849

    Default Re: "Tested to 100,000 shuttle actuations"

    Quote Originally Posted by catchlights View Post
    what is the 12?
    anyway, your intervals is 5s, let say your shutter shutter speed is 1s, in one hour is 60minx60s, total 3600sec, you get 600 shots in that hour. (3600/5s+1s)

    if you are using 24 FPS (the lowest), 600 frames is producing a 25sec clip.
    ohh.. my 12 is taken take 1min = 60 secs, so if interval of 5 secs means each min 12 shots... so multiply by 60 mins that gives me 720 shots.

    hmm maybe i calculate wrongly haha.

  19. #99
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: "Tested to 100,000 shuttle actuations"

    Quote Originally Posted by sinned79 View Post
    ohh.. my 12 is taken take 1min = 60 secs, so if interval of 5 secs means each min 12 shots... so multiply by 60 mins that gives me 720 shots.

    hmm maybe i calculate wrongly haha.
    I see, depend you how/where set your shutter speed,

    if you set the shutter speed in your camera, the interval time is start from the signal send to your camera to open shutter to the next signal, so you need to be careful about the total time of your shutter speed and camera writing speed not longer than the interval time.

    if you are using a intervalometer to set shutter speed, the interval time starts from last shutter close to next shutter open.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  20. #100
    Senior Member sinned79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    10,849

    Default Re: "Tested to 100,000 shuttle actuations"

    Quote Originally Posted by catchlights View Post
    I see, depend you how/where set your shutter speed,

    if you set the shutter speed in your camera, the interval time is start from the signal send to your camera to open shutter to the next signal, so you need to be careful about the total time of your shutter speed and camera writing speed not longer than the interval time.

    if you are using a intervalometer to set shutter speed, the interval time starts from last shutter close to next shutter open.
    yup me using the intervalometer that comes with my shutter release cable.

    i will try this tomorrow... hopefully i dun get stuck

Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •