Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast
Results 61 to 80 of 108

Thread: Time Lapse

  1. #61

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    Quote Originally Posted by flipfreak View Post
    realise virtualdub generates really big avi files. how do i churn out smaller files?

    you need to choose the appropriate compression codec.. I tried H.264, but the videos turned to be having a lot of blocky artifacts(it has a lot of settings, i did bother with all the options). so i export uncompressed avi and then use Sony Vegas to convert to H.264
    :: Canon EOS 7D | 18-135 IS | 100mm Macro f 2.8 ::
    Xperience

  2. #62

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    Quote Originally Posted by aruns View Post
    you need to choose the appropriate compression codec.. I tried H.264, but the videos turned to be having a lot of blocky artifacts(it has a lot of settings, i did bother with all the options). so i export uncompressed avi and then use Sony Vegas to convert to H.264
    my file generated was like 3gb for a 40 sec clip.

  3. #63

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    Quote Originally Posted by flipfreak View Post
    my file generated was like 3gb for a 40 sec clip.
    yup..thats about right..on the plus side..it does it very fast

    encoding the 3Gig to 1080p/24p H.264 in Sony Vegas pro takes around 2-3 Mins . Resultant filesize will be around 180-200Megs
    :: Canon EOS 7D | 18-135 IS | 100mm Macro f 2.8 ::
    Xperience

  4. #64

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    Quote Originally Posted by aruns View Post
    yup..thats about right..on the plus side..it does it very fast

    encoding the 3Gig to 1080p/24p H.264 in Sony Vegas pro takes around 2-3 Mins . Resultant filesize will be around 180-200Megs
    ic ic. no wonder video editing software requirement need so much speed. i am not using any other video editing software right now. so normally after the time lapse is put together, i add in music using imovie and upload it already.

  5. #65

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    ERM abit OT.

    @flipfreak, where you find all these cool music ar? i am music bai chi.. so.... yea..

  6. #66

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    Quote Originally Posted by IsenGrim View Post
    ERM abit OT.

    @flipfreak, where you find all these cool music ar? i am music bai chi.. so.... yea..
    there are a number of royalty free sites that u can download the music. as long as not commercial usage. most famous being moby.

  7. #67

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    Quote Originally Posted by flipfreak View Post
    there are a number of royalty free sites that u can download the music. as long as not commercial usage. most famous being moby.
    naise! i like, thanks man1

  8. #68
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    created another timelapse, here is the thread.

    Sunrise at Punggol Jetty, 24-08-2010, Timelapse
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  9. #69
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Punggol
    Posts
    43

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    Any more local time lapse to view from members here?
    Last edited by AnduTan; 2nd September 2010 at 12:13 AM.

  10. #70

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    Quote Originally Posted by flipfreak View Post
    i want to do a short time lapse clip on my camera but i don't own a intervalometer or want to lug out a laptop to run eos utility. any suggestion other than press down the shutter manually every 5 sec for 3hrs?
    You did not mentioned what camera u are using but for Canon, they have an item called "Timer Remote Controller TC-80N3".

    Its a remote switch with cord and self-timer, interval timer, long-exposure timer and exposure-count setting feature. Its for use with the EOS 1D, EOS 1D Mark II, EOS 1D Mark II N, EOS 1D Mark III, EOS 1D Mark IV, EOS 1Ds, EOS 1Ds Mark II, EOS 1Ds Mark III, EOS 5D, EOS 5D Mark II, EOS 7D, EOS 10D, EOS 20D, EOS 30D, EOS 40D, EOS 50D, EOS D30, EOS D60.

    Hope this helps.

  11. #71

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    Quote Originally Posted by AnduTan View Post
    Any more local time lapse to view from members here?
    been abit busy with work. haha. why don't u contribute something?

  12. #72

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    Quote Originally Posted by tesign2 View Post
    You did not mentioned what camera u are using but for Canon, they have an item called "Timer Remote Controller TC-80N3".

    Its a remote switch with cord and self-timer, interval timer, long-exposure timer and exposure-count setting feature. Its for use with the EOS 1D, EOS 1D Mark II, EOS 1D Mark II N, EOS 1D Mark III, EOS 1D Mark IV, EOS 1Ds, EOS 1Ds Mark II, EOS 1Ds Mark III, EOS 5D, EOS 5D Mark II, EOS 7D, EOS 10D, EOS 20D, EOS 30D, EOS 40D, EOS 50D, EOS D30, EOS D60.

    Hope this helps.
    thanks! already bought 1 from ebay.

  13. #73
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    4,195

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    Quote Originally Posted by tesign2 View Post
    You did not mentioned what camera u are using but for Canon, they have an item called "Timer Remote Controller TC-80N3".
    This is expensive. Just get the Nikos from RDP. I got mine last week and yet to test it out.

    http://www.***********.com.sg/ecomme....php?catid=2.3

  14. #74
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Punggol
    Posts
    43

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    Please have a look at my first attempt in this TimeLapse after doing a lot of research and learning from the web...guess the milage for my shutter is going to fly from now on...



    Please excuse some of the newbie mistake of some frame jitters and the compression quality. This is unedited so its a bit too long
    until I have lots more scenes then I will start snipping and editing. Comments appreciated besides the length. Thanks

    Planning to add on to these clips and expanding to make it a 5 min vid of Singapore timelapse scenes of day and nights and some transitions of day to night when the sky is better with pretty clouds.
    Last edited by AnduTan; 5th September 2010 at 03:45 PM.

  15. #75

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    Quote Originally Posted by ManWearPants View Post
    This is expensive. Just get the Nikos from RDP. I got mine last week and yet to test it out.

    http://www.***********.com.sg/ecomme....php?catid=2.3
    i am using that. got it from ebay. got a spare one brand new in case anyone is interested in buying it.

  16. #76

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    Quote Originally Posted by AnduTan View Post
    Please have a look at my first attempt in this TimeLapse after doing a lot of research and learning from the web...guess the milage for my shutter is going to fly from now on...



    Please excuse some of the newbie mistake of some frame jitters and the compression quality. This is unedited so its a bit too long
    until I have lots more scenes then I will start snipping and editing. Comments appreciated besides the length. Thanks

    Planning to add on to these clips and expanding to make it a 5 min vid of Singapore timelapse scenes of day and nights and some transitions of day to night when the sky is better with pretty clouds.

    nice one. pity on the compression quality. u shot in small jpeg? i am planning to shoot something similar but work has been keeping me busy to go do time lapse at the moment.

  17. #77
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Punggol
    Posts
    43

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    yes...the compression is making it look messed up.
    I shot in small jpeg 2144 x 1424 and quality is set to high
    it appears good as images but I think there's a breakdown in quality when I run it
    thru for a mov compilation of the shots. It's even worse after iMovie.
    Any suggestions on how to preserve a good quality?

    Do post in your new timelapse movies whenever you have...
    it will be good to see more from the local scene.

    Vimeo has a lot of Singapore scenes in TL.

  18. #78

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    Quote Originally Posted by AnduTan View Post
    yes...the compression is making it look messed up.
    I shot in small jpeg 2144 x 1424 and quality is set to high
    it appears good as images but I think there's a breakdown in quality when I run it
    thru for a mov compilation of the shots. It's even worse after iMovie.
    Any suggestions on how to preserve a good quality?

    Do post in your new timelapse movies whenever you have...
    it will be good to see more from the local scene.

    Vimeo has a lot of Singapore scenes in TL.
    i shoot in small jpeg as well. set to around 7 in quality. i am using quicktime pro to put them together then imovie to edit. mine turn out ok. how do u save them?

  19. #79
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Punggol
    Posts
    43

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    Run the images thru time Lapse Assembler in MAC
    selecting the following :

    Codec : h.264
    Framerate : 15, 24 or 30 fps
    Dimensions : Custom
    (i usually size down to 1280 proportionally)
    Quality :
    All I can select is LOW, NORMAL, HIGH, MAX
    I normally set HIGH

    Then I do my simple editing in iMovie and output again with the following settings:
    in expert settings options

    MP4 file
    Video format : H.264
    Data Rate : 2000 kbits/sec
    Resolution : 1280 x 720 letter box as camera shoots in 4:3 (sometimes too big so scale down to 640x480 for standard definition) or can I customise like eg 800 x 600 ????
    Should I insist on 1280 to get a sharper vid?
    audio : 320 kpbs / 44.100 khz

    Please tell me if I am doing something wrong.
    Last edited by AnduTan; 6th September 2010 at 06:52 PM.

  20. #80

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    i am using qt pro as mentioned earlier. the quality is the same as the jpeg that i shot. so minimal compression there. i can't remember what setting i save under in imovie right now though.

    the latest few movie was done with that. i think it is pretty decent for free software.

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •