Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 108

Thread: Time Lapse

  1. #41
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    Quote Originally Posted by flipfreak View Post
    set as 1 sec interval. 1/60 shutter speed. 10 fps video frame rate.
    840 over frames??
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  2. #42

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    Quote Originally Posted by catchlights View Post
    840 over frames??
    700 plus. haha. i am thinking of buying a old used slr to do this.

  3. #43
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    Quote Originally Posted by flipfreak View Post
    700 plus. haha. i am thinking of buying a old used slr to do this.
    no, you should get a new body, if you write off the shutter with the first year, you can get free replacement... lol
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  4. #44

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    Quote Originally Posted by catchlights View Post
    no, you should get a new body, if you write off the shutter with the first year, you can get free replacement... lol
    serious? for nikon?

  5. #45

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    @flipfreak - nicely done. virtually no aperture/shutter flicker. Im assuming you shot in M mode.

    @flowerpot - Have you tried settings the shots on the Intervalometer to 0. In some models thats required for unlimited shots.

    I use Yong Nuo's intervalometer. got it for $75 from the Mass Sales section..(it supports unlmited shots)


    :: Canon EOS 7D | 18-135 IS | 100mm Macro f 2.8 ::
    Xperience

  6. #46
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    Quote Originally Posted by flipfreak View Post
    serious? for nikon?
    actually no, I have no idea, maybe one day I will ask Nikon myself.
    but my point is TL is unlike any other shoots, can't afford the camera brake down in the middle of shoot, can't risk all the hardwork will go down the longkang.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  7. #47

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    Quote Originally Posted by aruns View Post
    @flipfreak - nicely done. virtually no aperture/shutter flicker. Im assuming you shot in M mode.

    @flowerpot - Have you tried settings the shots on the Intervalometer to 0. In some models thats required for unlimited shots.

    I use Yong Nuo's intervalometer. got it for $75 from the Mass Sales section..(it supports unlmited shots)

    thanks. manual is only way to go. any flicker will kill it for me. i normally take a few test shots and check before i let it run. and hope the lighting stay consistent enough for the shoot.

  8. #48
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    even manual mode will not give you 100% guarantee, this what I encountered, shooting from sunny day to cloudy day, not only exposure value changes, the WB as well. @#%^&^*&
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  9. #49

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    @flipfreak;catchlights -
    If you haven't tried it yet the MSU DeFlicker plugin for Virtual Dub does a good job of removing flicker. I prefer manual, but forced to shoot AV (With custom WB & manually disengage lens from contacts) when doing day <-> Night transitions.

    Post shoot I run it through DeFlicker to clean the footage. Only con is its 32 Bit. 64 bit version is not out yet
    :: Canon EOS 7D | 18-135 IS | 100mm Macro f 2.8 ::
    Xperience

  10. #50

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    Quote Originally Posted by catchlights View Post
    even manual mode will not give you 100% guarantee, this what I encountered, shooting from sunny day to cloudy day, not only exposure value changes, the WB as well. @#%^&^*&
    everything must manual and hope it doesn't change. wb, focus, mode. haha.

  11. #51

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    Quote Originally Posted by aruns View Post
    @flipfreak;catchlights -
    If you haven't tried it yet the MSU DeFlicker plugin for Virtual Dub does a good job of removing flicker. I prefer manual, but forced to shoot AV (With custom WB & manually disengage lens from contacts) when doing day <-> Night transitions.

    Post shoot I run it through DeFlicker to clean the footage. Only con is its 32 Bit. 64 bit version is not out yet
    virtual dub seems too complicated for me. i downloaded it n was totally lost on how to use it. hahaha.

  12. #52

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    Quote Originally Posted by flipfreak View Post
    virtual dub seems too complicated for me. i downloaded it n was totally lost on how to use it. hahaha.
    agree on it being complicated..but its powerful
    :: Canon EOS 7D | 18-135 IS | 100mm Macro f 2.8 ::
    Xperience

  13. #53
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    yes, everything on manual is the way to go, my mistake is I didn't check the weather.

    Virtual Dub is not complicated, in fact, I find it so simple and basic, I only need to put all the images in and plus a few clicks, and that's it..

    there is a tutorial here.. Virtualdub HOW-TO?
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  14. #54

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    gonna give it another shot when i shoot the next time lapse. hehe.

  15. #55

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    realise virtualdub generates really big avi files. how do i churn out smaller files?

  16. #56

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    bridge crossing


  17. #57
    Senior Member egnaro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Boon Lay, Singapore
    Posts
    2,989

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    Quote Originally Posted by flipfreak View Post
    bridge crossing

    Very interesting!! especially the small family trying to pose and shoot...
    Life is like Photography, to improve, you have to keep shooting!

  18. #58

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    Quote Originally Posted by egnaro View Post
    Very interesting!! especially the small family trying to pose and shoot...
    u can't imagine how often people ask me to take pics for them when i am doing time lapse.

  19. #59
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Punggol
    Posts
    43

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    LOL
    Thats funny that you double up as their photo man when doing this shoot.
    Very good job on these TL vids including the City Hall night shoot.
    I have been doing lots of research and will be planing some on my own.
    (with a beer in my hand of course!!!)
    I am waiting for my Intervalometer from HK and will be doing some test runs.
    I hope to learn more from you guys.

  20. #60

    Default Re: Time Lapse

    Quote Originally Posted by AnduTan View Post
    LOL
    Thats funny that you double up as their photo man when doing this shoot.
    Very good job on these TL vids including the City Hall night shoot.
    I have been doing lots of research and will be planing some on my own.
    (with a beer in my hand of course!!!)
    I am waiting for my Intervalometer from HK and will be doing some test runs.
    I hope to learn more from you guys.
    i am still experimenting on the speed to get the look i want. haven't nail it yet due to the weather lately. maybe try again these few days.

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •