Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22

Thread: Tips to share with correct white balance...

  1. #1

    Default Tips to share with correct white balance...

    Hi Guys,

    I accidentally discovered there's a good way to correct the white balance in PS.



    The above picture was taken in auto white balance of s602z which at evening time, the pic taken shows bluish white balance which is wrong.

    after changing the Match Color and click on Neutralize



    It shows much improved correct white balanced. I have tried with other portrait shots which also showed very pleasing quite "true to life" skin color after amendment. Hope this helps ppl with white balance problems..
    Last edited by tokrot; 4th May 2004 at 07:02 PM.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    newbie land
    Posts
    1,971

    Default

    Thanks but where is the "Match Color" option found ? I am using PS 7

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DarkForce
    Thanks but where is the "Match Color" option found ? I am using PS 7
    sorry forgot to mention...

    Go to Image->Adjustment->Match Color-> Click on Neutralize


  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DarkForce
    Thanks but where is the "Match Color" option found ? I am using PS 7
    It's a feature found in Photoshop CS.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    newbie land
    Posts
    1,971

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Noir
    It's a feature found in Photoshop CS.
    Well, not a problem as I always shoot in RAW. While balance can be adjust with easy

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    East
    Posts
    706

    Default

    Alternate solution is to make sure that you have the correct white balance before you take your shot. That will save you an extra step in Photoshop.

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tokrot
    Hi Guys,

    I accidentally discovered there's a good way to correct the white balance in PS.



    The above picture was taken in auto white balance of s602z which at evening time, the pic taken shows bluish white balance which is wrong.

    after changing the Match Color and click on Neutralize



    It shows much improved correct white balanced. I have tried with other portrait shots which also showed very pleasing quite "true to life" skin color after amendment. Hope this helps ppl with white balance problems..
    thanks for sharing!

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rayfoo
    thanks for sharing!
    Aiyah I using PS7. How to do similiar trick huh?

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    newbie land
    Posts
    1,971

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hoky
    Aiyah I using PS7. How to do similiar trick huh?
    Hi Hoky,

    I happen to know that you are aiming for EOS 300D, well, with that you could shoot in RAW mode and change the white balance with the RAW softwarre with easy
    寒冰不能斷流水 枯木亦會再逢春

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DarkForce
    Hi Hoky,

    I happen to know that you are aiming for EOS 300D, well, with that you could shoot in RAW mode and change the white balance with the RAW softwarre with easy
    RAW is nice. (Something that I usually take with my G5).

    But it's like 12mb per photo. Can't afford that for long travels.
    Actually I'm looking for solutions to touch up the white balance for photos taken by my Ixus.

  11. #11
    Jason H0
    Guests

    Default

    RAW is good to be processed but what is good to process RAW?


    Quote Originally Posted by Hoky
    RAW is nice. (Something that I usually take with my G5).

    But it's like 12mb per photo. Can't afford that for long travels.
    Actually I'm looking for solutions to touch up the white balance for photos taken by my Ixus.

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    In the void.
    Posts
    1,322

    Default

    Erm... sorry to cast doubts, but I don't think the white balance is actually corrected. From the example shown, it's just a shift from a cooler temp to a warmer temp.

  13. #13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jason H0
    RAW is good to be processed but what is good to process RAW?
    He meant good as in easier to process raw.

  14. #14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Prismatic
    Erm... sorry to cast doubts, but I don't think the white balance is actually corrected. From the example shown, it's just a shift from a cooler temp to a warmer temp.
    The walls of the building looks corrected.
    But the colours of lightings seems to have over-saturated.
    Anyway, it's nice effort to me.

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    In the void.
    Posts
    1,322

    Default

    It's probably personal perference, but I feel there's too much red in the picture. Judging from the picture, the scene is probably around 6~7?
    If the sun has set, there should be more blue than orange on those surfaces not affected by the lights. Anyway, it is a good effort no doubt.

    My take at it:

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hoky
    RAW is nice. (Something that I usually take with my G5).

    But it's like 12mb per photo. Can't afford that for long travels.
    Actually I'm looking for solutions to touch up the white balance for photos taken by my Ixus.
    RAW file for G5 is 12MB?!

    according to http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/canong5/page10.asp
    G5 RAW file should be about 5MB

    for 10D, the RAW image (with small jpeg embedded) is abt 5-6MB

    whereas for jpeg, it is about 4-5MB (for a smiliar photo)

    If i take the RAW file convert to TIFF, it is about 18MB

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,720

    Default

    wai, i dunno why. My G2 raw is 10MB -11MB

  18. #18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zekai
    wai, i dunno why. My G2 raw is 10MB -11MB
    Errr, I get about that size also leh (for my G5).
    Dunno why DPreview says 5-6mb.

  19. #19

    Default

    how come g5 raw file so big?
    d60 raw only ard 4.8mb

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zekai
    wai, i dunno why. My G2 raw is 10MB -11MB
    sounds like TIFF to me

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •