Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 35 of 35

Thread: How to Re format my Computer

  1. #21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kenghor
    Do I need to disable System Restore before I boot up in safe mode?
    If so, how to disable it?

    i didn't do that. just went to safe mode to delete that file.

  2. #22

    Default

    recently my pc infected with "lsass" virus, once you connect to internet the virus will activate system to shutdown/restart within 60seconds.

    the patch file is KB835732, you can download from microsoft website to
    get rid of the problem.

  3. #23

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kenghor
    Do I need to disable System Restore before I boot up in safe mode?
    If so, how to disable it?
    I didn't do that.

  4. #24

    Default

    dun FORMAT...i also using dell and got this prob too....call then up and then they will come and see to it..

  5. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    newbie land
    Posts
    1,971

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Witness
    dun FORMAT...i also using dell and got this prob too....call then up and then they will come and see to it..
    Is it free? I got some friends' home PC got viruses and need to pay for the service as Dell claims that the warrenty does not cover virus attack and software installation

  6. #26
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    SG, Currently
    Posts
    175

    Default

    Haiya, so troublesome for wha... backup all necessary data, Boot up with OS CD, repartition, reformat, reinstall OS + Drivers and wua la... u have a faster systerm... A good way to clean up the computer for any virus & add wares, not to mention a smaller registry as well, plus, you will probably be installing stuff you need thereafter...

  7. #27
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    newbie land
    Posts
    1,971

  8. #28

    Default

    Used NAV to remove most of the viruses from my computer.
    But a file in windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts always got itself appended with a list of

    127.0.0.1 websites

    that prevent me from connecting to these websites. Need to manually delete them with notepad.

    NAV can't detect anything.... anyone got any idea as to how to get rid of this?

  9. #29
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    newbie land
    Posts
    1,971

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kenghor
    Used NAV to remove most of the viruses from my computer.
    But a file in windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts always got itself appended with a list of

    127.0.0.1 websites

    that prevent me from connecting to these websites. Need to manually delete them with notepad.

    NAV can't detect anything.... anyone got any idea as to how to get rid of this?
    That is funny,

    The hosts file should contain this

    127.0.0.1 localhost

    Maybe you could do the change and see if that help.

    By the way, check your DNS configuration too.

  10. #30

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DarkForce
    That is funny,

    The hosts file should contain this

    127.0.0.1 localhost

    Maybe you could do the change and see if that help.

    By the way, check your DNS configuration too.
    it contains
    127.0.0.1 localhost
    and a long list of websites starting with 127.0.0.1

    how to check DNS config?

  11. #31
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    newbie land
    Posts
    1,971

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kenghor
    it contains
    127.0.0.1 localhost
    and a long list of websites starting with 127.0.0.1

    how to check DNS config?
    OK. maybe you could do this.

    Remove any IP address entry from you hosts file and enter only

    127.0.0.1 localhost

    Open a dos prompt session and type this

    ping www.yahoo.com.sg

    If you can see this

    Reply from 202.3.13.47: bytes=32 time=24ms TTL=55

    then your internet connection should be up and running.

  12. #32

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DarkForce
    OK. maybe you could do this.

    Remove any IP address entry from you hosts file and enter only

    127.0.0.1 localhost

    Open a dos prompt session and type this

    ping www.yahoo.com.sg

    If you can see this

    Reply from 202.3.13.47: bytes=32 time=24ms TTL=55

    then your internet connection should be up and running.

    mr system is up and running already. just that hte host file is always corrupted each time I reboot my system. Don't know which virus/batch file is causing the file to be appended. Do u know how to check and fix this?

  13. #33
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Tampines
    Posts
    3,287

    Default

    I can give you the fdisk program if you want. All you have to do is copy all these files that I sent to a floppy. Then boot from the floppy. You will have cd-rom support too. No worries. Insert your Windows cd and re-install the OS. This would definately solve your virus problem as it will be the cleanest way. Like DarkForce said you need to take note of your display card driver, sound driver, network card driver and any other drivers that you might need later. With Dell pc you can go to their website and enter your serial number and download all the necessary drivers. But you will need to know exactly which one is yours as there will be more than one version of drivers for each peripherials. If you call Dell they will charge you for the virus removal as it is not part of the warranty. Let me know your email address and I will send you the program. I've been using it for 8 years and no matter what system you have it will work. Also like Adam said make sure you back up your important files first.

  14. #34

    Default

    Reformatting now a little extreme cos everything seems to work fine other than this irritating host file the prevents me from accessing to those antivirus websites.

    BTW my system got no floppy drive... can creat a bootable CD instead? Read the norton antivius manual and it advise against using the CD as the startup drive....

  15. #35
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    newbie land
    Posts
    1,971

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kenghor
    mr system is up and running already. just that hte host file is always corrupted each time I reboot my system. Don't know which virus/batch file is causing the file to be appended. Do u know how to check and fix this?
    Wow that is good news. I would advise u to do the following

    - update all sercurity patches
    - update your anti-virus DAT files
    - scan your whole system with anti-virus again
    - scan for spy ware in your system, you can get Ad-aware from http://download.com.com/3000-2144-10...age&tag=button

    It is always good to be careful then to be sorry later

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •