Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 35

Thread: How to Re format my Computer

  1. #1

    Default How to Re format my Computer

    Using Dell computer. Seems that something wrong... always system shutdown automatically...
    how to reformat?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    SG, Currently
    Posts
    175

    Default

    Just use your bootable Windows Installation CD and boot up from the CD rom, and prior to reinstalling the OS, it will have some option for you to reformat your HD.

  3. #3
    Moderator nightwolf75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    really MORE diaper changes
    Posts
    17,841
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    another way is to fdisk ur whole hdd. dat way, u're ensure of a really clean hdd prior to installing WinXP. problem is, u must go and find it online, since WinXp no longer come with a system disk. either dat, or u can try ask anyone with a win98 pc to create a system disk for u.

    when using winxp to reinstall OS, it does not necessary clean out the whole hdd as it will keep certain win DLL files.
    If Life worked on auto mode then manual mode for photography would have never existed. ― Deeksha Mittal

  4. #4
    Member/Tangshooter zaxh81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    4,339

    Default

    i think it's done this way.
    when booting up ur com,press F1 or delete to enter setup.
    in setup,there will be option for first,second and third boot.
    put cdrom as first boot then insert ur window install disc.
    choose save and exit setup then the continue from there.

    correct me if i'm wrong,i always use this step without problem.


  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kenghor
    Using Dell computer. Seems that something wrong... always system shutdown automatically...
    how to reformat?
    Don't reformat first, check see if kena virus.
    Some viruses shut down your system and they can be eliminated easily.

  6. #6
    ClubSNAP Idol Adam Goi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    5,682

    Default

    Make sure you backup your important files and have the important installation CDs on standby before you format!

    I learnt this lesson through the hard way ...

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    newbie land
    Posts
    1,971

    Default

    Well, I have been in IT line for the past 10 years and wish to share some idea here. There are two way to reinstall your O/S. Since you are using Dell, it should accompany with a recovery CD. I assumpt that you use XP.

    Method 1 , using Recovery CD
    This is the best and fastest method. Upon the completion of installation, all Dell related hardware driver should be install automatically.

    Method 2, use Windows XP CD
    You will need to obtain any hardware driver that is not build-in with XP installation. Which mean you will need to do a manual installation later.

    Regardless which method you adopt , it is always good that you note down (on paper) the following before the reformat take place

    - Type of video driver
    - Type of network driver (if any)
    - Type of Soundcard driver
    - Any other hardware driver that is not build-in with XP
    - Internet connection configuation / account / password
    - Backup your email address book, email message , ICQ data, DATA, photographsm, Internet Favorites etc ...

    If you are using boardband, install antivirus and firewall immediately before process to other application software installation

    Most of the time ppt often forget to backup their files in "My Document" folder

    Make sure you update your anti-virus pattern file and all XP sercurity patches

    Good luck
    Last edited by DarkForce; 2nd May 2004 at 02:10 PM.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    新加坡
    Posts
    1,811

    Default

    haha, i'm going to reformat my pc soon too. keep getting system hang

    anyway, good luck in reformatting your pc!
    "I want to have the best camera in the world and shoot XMMs."

  9. #9

    Default

    oh.. i'm going to reformat BOTH my laptop and PC soon as well

  10. #10

    Default

    To FDisk the whole HDD, it's generally advisable to boot from another medium... eg, a floopy or a CD Rom.

    To boot from CD-ROM, change your bios's boot up device priority setting (or something equivalent) else, go RTFM

    Reinstalling the OS?... always do it clean else you won't see the performance difference lor, but of course, back up necessary files and have your ALL your hardware driver ready in CD or another partition, else... good luck

    WinXp Does not comes with a system disc utility yup, but older version system disc image available on the net... try google'ing a bit for it...

  11. #11

    Default

    Kenna the 2 virus... can only logon for 60s...

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    newbie land
    Posts
    1,971

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kenghor
    Kenna the 2 virus... can only logon for 60s...
    kenghor, you might want to login to safe mode, to prevent the system to shut down, then

    - download and install the security patch to close the OS backdoor
    - run the virus remover tool to kill the virus

    Good luck

  13. #13

    Default

    How to logon in SAFE mode?

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    newbie land
    Posts
    1,971

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kenghor
    How to logon in SAFE mode?
    When you just power on your PC, when you see somethng like "starting window ..." press F8.

  15. #15

    Default

    I think you have the same problem as me about two months ago........you need an anti-virus software (e.g. McAfee) to be installed into ur pc. Then, activate the firewall.......if no firewall........ur system is going to reboot itself everytime u log onto the net even if u format ur pc. Good Luck!

  16. #16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Yezrah
    I think you have the same problem as me about two months ago........you need an anti-virus software (e.g. McAfee) to be installed into ur pc. Then, activate the firewall.......if no firewall........ur system is going to reboot itself everytime u log onto the net even if u format ur pc. Good Luck!
    To add on, download Kerio Personal firewall. So far, its the best software firewall available, and kicks the pants off the built-in XP firewall. If you are super kiasu, you can use both together.

  17. #17

    Default

    Installed some firewall fromthe msn website...
    But now my system can't even logon to internet....

    How?

    Any disk or CD rom available so that I can use it to boot up my system and then clean up those viruses?

  18. #18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kenghor
    Installed some firewall fromthe msn website...
    But now my system can't even logon to internet....

    How?

    Any disk or CD rom available so that I can use it to boot up my system and then clean up those viruses?

    try this:
    1. go to safe mode, and look for the file avserve.exe in the windows folder, or do a search for it.
    2. delete avserve.exe
    3. reboot, go back to your normal mode, then you should be able to surf the net for a removal tool.
    Last edited by karwing; 3rd May 2004 at 11:02 AM.

  19. #19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kenghor
    Installed some firewall fromthe msn website...
    But now my system can't even logon to internet....

    How?

    Any disk or CD rom available so that I can use it to boot up my system and then clean up those viruses?
    1) Go to [C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts] and open it with Notepad
    2) Other than [127.0.0.1 localhost], delete everything that comes with 127.0.0.1
    3) Save the change and try logging on to the net again.

    These websites were not accessible when infected with one of the Gaobot variants. They were deleted from my hosts.

    127.0.0.1 securityresponse.symantec.com
    127.0.0.1 symantec.com
    127.0.0.1 www.sophos.com
    127.0.0.1 sophos.com
    127.0.0.1 www.mcafee.com
    127.0.0.1 mcafee.com
    127.0.0.1 liveupdate.symantecliveupdate.com
    127.0.0.1 www.viruslist.com
    127.0.0.1 viruslist.com
    127.0.0.1 viruslist.com
    127.0.0.1 f-secure.com
    127.0.0.1 www.f-secure.com
    127.0.0.1 kaspersky.com
    127.0.0.1 kaspersky-labs.com
    127.0.0.1 www.avp.com
    127.0.0.1 www.kaspersky.com
    127.0.0.1 avp.com
    127.0.0.1 www.networkassociates.com
    127.0.0.1 networkassociates.com
    127.0.0.1 www.ca.com
    127.0.0.1 ca.com
    127.0.0.1 mast.mcafee.com
    127.0.0.1 my-etrust.com
    127.0.0.1 www.my-etrust.com
    127.0.0.1 download.mcafee.com
    127.0.0.1 dispatch.mcafee.com
    127.0.0.1 secure.nai.com
    127.0.0.1 nai.com
    127.0.0.1 www.nai.com
    127.0.0.1 update.symantec.com
    127.0.0.1 updates.symantec.com
    127.0.0.1 us.mcafee.com
    127.0.0.1 liveupdate.symantec.com
    127.0.0.1 customer.symantec.com
    127.0.0.1 rads.mcafee.com
    127.0.0.1 trendmicro.com
    127.0.0.1 www.trendmicro.com
    127.0.0.1 www.grisoft.com
    127.0.0.1 www.symantec.com
    Last edited by Barrios; 3rd May 2004 at 01:34 PM.

  20. #20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by karwing
    try this:
    1. go to safe mode, and look for the file avserve.exe in the windows folder, or do a search for it.
    2. delete avserve.exe
    3. reboot, go back to your normal mode, then you should be able to surf the net for a removal tool.

    Do I need to disable System Restore before I boot up in safe mode?
    If so, how to disable it?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •