Thread: Macro Photography

Default Macro Photography

(: hello all,

I have been wanting to get a macro lens. however, i do not know what and which to get. I am still new to DSLR and only have the kit lens and a 50mm lens. i read the macro converter on the macro photography thread and dont know if i should just get that since i am new to using a DSLR.

should i get a macro converter or a dedicated macro lens?

Default Re: Macro Photography

1. Read the FAQs in the Macro section.
    2. Read up online a bit. This is heavily discussed with sample shots already.
    3. It depends on your budget.
    4. Once you've decided on a lens/convertor, do a google search for reviews and make up your own mind.
    Alpha

Quote Originally Posted by crimsonred View Post

I have been wanting to get a macro lens. however, i do not know what and which to get. I am still new to DSLR and only have the kit lens and a 50mm lens. i read the macro converter on the macro photography thread and dont know if i should just get that since i am new to using a DSLR.

I will say for a start, get the close up filter (Raynox) or extension tubes.. And couple that with ur 50mm.

Get a feel of what its like when doing macro before u commit urself.

But on a serious note, if you think u will go a long way in macro photography, its always better to get a dedicated macro lens.

HTH
    I turned PRO in diaper chg!
    My Flickr|My Son

Quote Originally Posted by Rashkae View Post
    1. Read the FAQs in the Macro section.
    2. Read up online a bit. This is heavily discussed with sample shots already.
    3. It depends on your budget.
    4. Once you've decided on a lens/convertor, do a google search for reviews and make up your own mind.
    I have read up, but still didnt what to get and hence asked for opinion.

Quote Originally Posted by Numnumball View Post
    I will say for a start, get the close up filter (Raynox) or extension tubes.. And couple that with ur 50mm.