Thread: How do you guys use your flashgun

Default How do you guys use your flashgun

Hey people, just got my flashgun recently and brought it out to test it at TGX'10 today. I found it pretty difficult to get the correct exposure with the flash, and had to do trial and error and tweak the settings several times for a shot to get good exposure. I know the difference in how the flash meters differently in M and Av and stuff, but I just want to know what settings you guys normally have when using a flashgun to shoot portrait (all the way from full body to shoulder+face), and which diffuser do you use? Anything special to take note of?
    Canon Kiss X3 BG-E5 | Canon 135 f2 | Sigma 17-70 f2.8-4 | Sigma 50 f1.4 | 430EXII
    View my gallery

Default Re: How do you guys use your flashgun

im not a pro...

for diffuser....
    1.) Umbrella - cheap, light but not so easy to control the lights
    2.) softbox - slight more ex, more difficult to set up but easier to control the lightings.
    and some says that you can see the shadow of the frame in the umbrella.... esp the model's eyes...

from what i have read so far... you need a light meter to gauge the shutterspeed and aperature.....

(like i said, i am not a pro... so my advise might be wrong)
    http://www.EdmundPhoto.com
    for Weddings, Family Portraits, Executive Portraits, etc

on the hot shoe you can use TTL so the camera compensates for you. then need to learn how to bounce the flash using a card so as to not take a picture of a white ghost.

off shoe flash you need to estimate how near or far you can hold the flash next to the subject. i usually use lowest power and experiment from there
    instagram: @2ndhandphotog

Quote Originally Posted by Soundaholic View Post