Thread: The reason for soft pics from a D90

Default The reason for soft pics from a D90

Hi
    I'm a newbie. I bought a nikon D90 in August 2009 and have been using it regularly. I've made some good pics with it, sharpness was reasonably ok to my eye. Now, however I see a softness in my pics. I'll try to post a few pics of soon.
    I know it could be due to my own "proper focussing" inexperience. But, other than that, I want to know what else can contribute to this. I know about camera shake and the use of a tripod. With the tripod I have had good sharp images before, but now most times they are not as sharp as the pics taken previously.
    Can the UV filter I use have an effect? I still have the steinziser filter I bought at the point of purchase. Should I change this? Then again I did make some sharp pics with this filter.
    Could it be the polarizing filters I use. They are cheap ones.
    Any ideas anyone on what I should be checking? I'm thinking of taking the camera to nikon and asking them to check it for me.
    Thanks
    devin2010

Blog Entries

Default Re: The reason for soft pics from a D90

Quote Originally Posted by devin2010 View Post
    Hi
    I'm a newbie. I bought a nikon D90 in August 2009 and have been using it regularly. I've made some good pics with it, sharpness was reasonably ok to my eye. Now, however I see a softness in my pics. I'll try to post a few pics of soon.
    I know it could be due to my own "proper focussing" inexperience. But, other than that, I want to know what else can contribute to this. I know about camera shake and the use of a tripod. With the tripod I have had good sharp images before, but now most times they are not as sharp as the pics taken previously.
    Can the UV filter I use have an effect? I still have the steinziser filter I bought at the point of purchase. Should I change this? Then again I did make some sharp pics with this filter.