Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Settings for street photography

Default Settings for street photography

Hi everyone, I am a newbie here and interested in street photography. Any of the veterans here care to share the settings they commonly use for street shooting?

Quote Originally Posted by leodo
    Hi everyone, I am a newbie here and interested in street photography. Any of the veterans here care to share the settings they commonly use for street shooting?
    depends on your camera...and lighting conditions and wat u are taking...
    loads of stuff to work out...if u using dslr no problem....snap and snap till u get it right....

if using to film...like my f401...then take and take and write down your settings and learn when u develop the film...expensive and oldschool....

but film's got feeling...

what kind of camera do you intend to use for your street shoots?

I am using a Canon A80. Well, the current settings I am using is Aperture priority using ISO 100. I am mostly dissatisfied with my pictures, because a lot of times they turn out not so sharp. (well, maybe its my skills )

Anyway, thanks for the replies, hope more are coming

if they turn out not so sharp...i tink its the film...coz wif iso100 if u shake abit while holdin ya cam the photo will blur....try iso200 instead....

too bad it's A80.

if it's film or dslr i can tell you typical settings all the way up till iso 3200.

but well
    just shoot a little more and get used to whatever gear you have and you'll get the hang of everything.

I think regardless what camera you are using, there's no fixed method or recommended settings for street shoot. Dun limit yourself to the settings.
    Does that mean you can't take night street shots with ISO 100? Of coz not... your creativity is your only limitation.

Technically, you have hand shake therefore it's not sharp at ISO100. Keep training and shooting!