Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Noobie query

  1. #1

    Default Noobie query

    hiya folks
    once again.. it's me and my dust thingy..
    i decided to ignore the dust problem with my lens
    but now i found another problem.

    wondering if any kind soul can enlighten me

    i see a red dot on my photos when i view it on the dslr screen (500d). when i put the picture to the desktop, there're no red dots or anything..

    is this a bad sign of things? heh..
    pls kindly advise..

  2. #2
    Senior Member ovaltinemilo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Sin jia Po lah
    Posts
    2,820

    Default Re: Noobie query

    your lcd is spoilt?
    ...:::..::.Nikon.::.:::..
    RGB Metering & Focusing.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Noobie query

    haha.. no..
    i confirm liao.. should be got dust on the sensor.. hence the red dot..
    hais.. sianx..

  4. #4
    Member dingaroo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Singapore | East
    Posts
    1,950

    Default Re: Noobie query

    Think you should try visit the Canon Service Centre tomorrow and ask them for a 2nd opinion.

    If need, let the camera and lens be 'warded' for a few days so that the 'doctors' could nurse them back to health.

    How's that?
    A picture a day keeps the blues away!

  5. #5

    Default Re: Noobie query

    hmm.. out of warranty.. means need to pay even if i wanna clean..
    and it's only a very entry level body.. so.. i will just ignore this .. and try to save for a better body..

  6. #6

    Default Re: Noobie query

    its not dust. dust specks on lens should not show up on picture, unless it is a chunk of dust.. it should be a hot pixel on your sensor. the reason why it does not appear on your monitor is because some program auto corrects detected hot pixel.

  7. #7
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Noobie query

    Quote Originally Posted by chiangkxv View Post
    its not dust. dust specks on lens should not show up on picture, unless it is a chunk of dust.. it should be a hot pixel on your sensor. the reason why it does not appear on your monitor is because some program auto corrects detected hot pixel.
    I think if the "red dot" shows on the camera LCD but not on the computer when view on the computer. It is highly probably that the hot pixel is on the camera LCD. As long as it doesn't show up when viewed in the computer monitor, you should be safe.

  8. #8
    Senior Member wildcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Bedok
    Posts
    3,268

    Default Re: Noobie query

    Quote Originally Posted by shadlightsg View Post
    i see a red dot on my photos when i view it on the dslr screen (500d). when i put the picture to the desktop, there're no red dots or anything..
    I think you already identified the problem yourself
    1. It shows on the DSLR small screen red dot
    2. It does not show on the desktop when you load the same pix onto your computer
    Therefore, the problem should be the DSLR screen

    To confirm, you can just zoom in any photo; if the red dot can be magnified, then it's in the photo. If you magnify already but the dot remains at the same place, then it's the LCD monitor of your camera.

  9. #9

    Default Re: Noobie query

    hmm..
    i need to amend this..
    the red dot is on the picture when i take it in jpeg.
    if i take in raw and directly process out, there's no red dot in the photo.

    can refer to the link..

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/50983828@N05/4687771367/


    Quote Originally Posted by wildcat View Post
    I think you already identified the problem yourself
    1. It shows on the DSLR small screen red dot
    2. It does not show on the desktop when you load the same pix onto your computer
    Therefore, the problem should be the DSLR screen

    To confirm, you can just zoom in any photo; if the red dot can be magnified, then it's in the photo. If you magnify already but the dot remains at the same place, then it's the LCD monitor of your camera.

  10. #10
    Senior Member ovaltinemilo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Sin jia Po lah
    Posts
    2,820

    Default Re: Noobie query

    Quote Originally Posted by shadlightsg View Post
    hmm.. out of warranty.. means need to pay even if i wanna clean..
    and it's only a very entry level body.. so.. i will just ignore this .. and try to save for a better body..
    huh?? cleaning sensor is dirt cheap...how long must you save per cleaning to get a new body?
    Last edited by ovaltinemilo; 10th June 2010 at 11:30 PM.
    ...:::..::.Nikon.::.:::..
    RGB Metering & Focusing.

  11. #11
    Senior Member ovaltinemilo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Sin jia Po lah
    Posts
    2,820

    Default Re: Noobie query

    looks like a hot pixel to me...
    ...:::..::.Nikon.::.:::..
    RGB Metering & Focusing.

  12. #12

    Default Re: Noobie query

    oh in that case.

    anyone can highlight how much does it cost to clean at csc?
    lens and body

    hot spot is what sia? btw?

  13. #13
    Senior Member ovaltinemilo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Sin jia Po lah
    Posts
    2,820

    Default Re: Noobie query

    Quote Originally Posted by shadlightsg View Post
    oh in that case.

    anyone can highlight how much does it cost to clean at csc?
    lens and body

    hot spot is what sia? btw?
    hot spot can't be solved by cleaning...needs to do remapping...can call csc to check....
    ...:::..::.Nikon.::.:::..
    RGB Metering & Focusing.

  14. #14

    Default Re: Noobie query

    eh
    remappping will cost more?

    Quote Originally Posted by ovaltinemilo View Post
    hot spot can't be solved by cleaning...needs to do remapping...can call csc to check....

  15. #15
    Senior Member ovaltinemilo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Sin jia Po lah
    Posts
    2,820

    Default Re: Noobie query

    since it looks like only 1 pixel...it's easily removed during PP...hotspot might appear during high iso/long exposure during night shot...maybe you can test out if it shows up in all your photos?

    I'm not sure how much does remapping takes...anyone can share?
    ...:::..::.Nikon.::.:::..
    RGB Metering & Focusing.

  16. #16

    Default Re: Noobie query

    thanks for your help bro

    but for this .. the exposure is 1/125

    my friend say its like serious case..
    haha..

    Quote Originally Posted by ovaltinemilo View Post
    since it looks like only 1 pixel...it's easily removed during PP...hotspot might appear during high iso/long exposure during night shot...maybe you can test out if it shows up in all your photos?

    I'm not sure how much does remapping takes...anyone can share?

  17. #17
    Senior Member ovaltinemilo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Sin jia Po lah
    Posts
    2,820

    Default Re: Noobie query

    you can try google and read up...they are caused by higher leakage current than usual..more leakage current->high voltage charged-> brighter than usual...

    Always at the same spot, if yours is not..then it's not...
    ...:::..::.Nikon.::.:::..
    RGB Metering & Focusing.

  18. #18
    Senior Member ovaltinemilo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Sin jia Po lah
    Posts
    2,820

    Default Re: Noobie query

    Quote Originally Posted by shadlightsg View Post
    thanks for your help bro

    but for this .. the exposure is 1/125

    my friend say its like serious case..
    haha..
    very serious meh? if it's in the centre then it's serious...
    bring to csc and see what they can do...ask for a quote...if too ex, then consider using pp to remove it...
    ...:::..::.Nikon.::.:::..
    RGB Metering & Focusing.

  19. #19

    Default Re: Noobie query

    it's always the same spot..
    :P

    hais.. i either live with it.. or repair it..
    hah.a.

    Quote Originally Posted by ovaltinemilo View Post
    you can try google and read up...they are caused by higher leakage current than usual..more leakage current->high voltage charged-> brighter than usual...

    Always at the same spot, if yours is not..then it's not...

  20. #20
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Noobie query

    Quote Originally Posted by shadlightsg View Post
    it's always the same spot..
    :P

    hais.. i either live with it.. or repair it..
    hah.a.
    If I am you, I will live with it. In pictures where the dot looks obvious, I will just clone it out. BTW which camera body is this?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •