Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Photo Galleries > Ready, Lights, Action!

Ready, Lights, Action! Concert, stage performances & events photography.

Old 18th April 2004   #1
mpenza

Default Singapore Fashion Festival - Singapore Designers/Labels Show Street Finale

It's the big show! Lots of fashion, models and a big crowd.

Didn't get a good position today though. Lady at the "gate" said that they would let the invited into the tent first before opening to the public and said cameras are forbidden inside the tent unless we have photographer passes. Many with invitations did get their cameras in though Wasn't well equiped too and used a 1.4x tele plus 100mm macro usm. would have brought the 70-300 if I knew we couldn't get in at the end of the runway and shoot.

So, pardon the heads which got in the pic when I tried to capture full body

For most pics, I used the following settings: ISO400, F3.5x1.4 (due to tele) and 1/200s. 2/3 FEC was used for flash. I've cropped some of the pics to get rid of distracting elements and did some minimal post processing (exposure was generally fine. was tired and didn't tweak the wb much too - though it could have improved the color balance for some pics).

Enough of ranting. Hope you like the pics.

Last edited by mpenza; 18th April 2004 at 10:43 AM.
Old 18th April 2004   #2
mpenza

was she the Singapore representative for Elite model contest?

Last edited by mpenza; 18th April 2004 at 03:34 AM.
Old 18th April 2004   #3
mpenza

she walked like this all the way to the front before opening up.....

Last edited by mpenza; 18th April 2004 at 03:33 AM.
Sponsored Link
Old 18th April 2004   #4
jimtong

Originally Posted by mpenza
Hey how did you get the model looking at you considering that there are many cameras around.
Old 18th April 2004   #5
mpenza

she's not looking directly at me lah.... probably looking at Garion's direction (Garion, you caught her in this pose?)

There're really a lot of cameras around. At least 20 DSLRs on my side of the stage. Many more at the centre and probably at least 20 on the other side. There're at least 3 100-400L IS in action too together with other big lenses....
Old 18th April 2004   #6
jimtong

she's not looking directly at me lah.... probably looking at Garion's direction (Garion, you caught her in this pose?)

There're really a lot of cameras around. At least 20 DSLRs on my side of the stage. Many more at the centre and probably at least 20 on the other side. There're at least 3 100-400L IS in action too together with other big lenses....
Indeed very crowded, does not have the luxury of space to shoot full body. therefore force to shoot mostly in portrait.
Old 18th April 2004   #7
mpenza

Originally Posted by jimtong
Indeed very crowded, does not have the luxury of space to shoot full body. therefore force to shoot mostly in portrait.
hmm... where were you? were you at the fountain, centre or ngee ann city side? maybe, have seen you
Old 18th April 2004   #8
AReality

Lady at the "gate" didn't let anyone without an invitation card into the tent and said cameras are forbidden inside the tent unless we have photographer passes.
Hmmm...
They totally no crowd control lor.
1 batch of pple gatecrashed, then everyone followed.
Think they learnt their lesson already, next yr wun be so easy.
Old 18th April 2004   #9
mpenza

Originally Posted by AReality
Hmmm...
They totally no crowd control lor.
1 batch of pple gatecrashed, then everyone followed.
Think they learnt their lesson already, next yr wun be so easy.
It was ok though. The photographers were well-behaved

Actually, the event was meant for public (like the BluePrint). But somehow, they had invited more people than the benches could fit.
Old 18th April 2004   #10
AReality

It was ok though. The photographers were well-behaved

Actually, the event was meant for public (like the BluePrint). But somehow, they had invited more people than the benches could fit.
Yeah.
after the gatecrashes, U got see 1 daring old man, slowly make his way to the front row of benches, sit down... He no invitation also...
Old 18th April 2004   #11
STboy

Smile

Upload so fast. My pictures looks shitty today. Need to PS first to correct the pictures

I ready have much fun today....

Cheers,
STboy
Old 18th April 2004   #12
mpenza

STBoy, what happened? over/underexposure?

btw, anyone went for the fashion show at Zouk (which starts at 10 pm)?

I may post some rehearsal pics later.... turning in now....zZZz.... had a tiring day.

Last edited by mpenza; 18th April 2004 at 02:12 AM.
Old 18th April 2004   #13
jimtong

hmm... where were you? were you at the fountain, centre or ngee ann city side? maybe, have seen you
behind. near the offcial photographers' position
Old 18th April 2004   #14
zekai

i went for the one at Zouk... see how my negative turns out...
Old 18th April 2004   #15
mpenza

great share share

Adding more pics:
confirmed no indecent exposure after "opening":

also left out my facourite model in the first series....

Last edited by mpenza; 18th April 2004 at 03:35 AM.
Old 18th April 2004   #16
mpenza

pics of the back:

during rehearsal....

a few more pics of backs and rehearsal can be found here:
http://mpenza.clubsnap.org/gallery/sff-finale

jumtong, paiseh for your post. I had renamed my directory. for others, jim was referring to the fourth pic.

Last edited by mpenza; 18th April 2004 at 03:37 AM.
Old 18th April 2004   #17
STboy

Smile

Having a number of overexposed pictures. Trying to PS them to save some of them.

Cheers,
STboy
Old 18th April 2004   #18
mpenza

STboy, do share your pics after processing

It was great meeting up with so many clubsnappers last night
Old 18th April 2004   #19
chrisleng

Hi mpenza,

I have seen quite a few of you guys's photo. I must admit that it was well taken. Look like I have to become one of those rule breaker. "Shoot good photos at all costs". If you wonder why I said that, below was what I have encounter that night

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Last night I was at Street Finale @ Ngee Ann City, it need invitation to enter the main tent. Actually I feel quite disappointed on how the photographer behave. (I overheard their conversation and happen they are from Clubsnap too).

Before the show start, we (photog) were standing outing the pubic boundary line patiently (near Taka side). When the show is about to begin, a few photog jump over the boundary and enter the main tent, the rest saw it and do the same, result in three row of "public" standing behind the sitting bench. A official staff who saw it and advise them not to cross over the boundary but no one seems to border, thus she can't do anything at all.

I remain outside the boundary line and have to hold my lens above their head level to shoot. Thus , I got only a limit angle and have to hold camera high up to avoid their head and camera.

The question is , does a photographer need not need to follow the rules and regulation as long as their can take good angle photos? If it is true, then I still got a lot to learn from those "rule breaker".

------------------------------------------------------------------
Old 18th April 2004   #20
mpenza

Not too sure but I believe they allowed public in at the end. Had seen people without cards entering from the front (which probably explained why all the seats are filled and the side near the fountain is already 3-4 deep).

Neverthelss, it's still better for those that wanted to get in to ask the organiser first (they may agree if there's no prohibition from the management) or try from the "gate" to prevent any unpleasantness. Yesterday, no one asked the organisers who were busy ensuring all logistics are ready for the cocktail and show.

At one private show (showcasing fashion from Kenzo) in Taka last year, a group of clubsnappers asked and was given permission to shoot from behind the guests.

Last edited by mpenza; 18th April 2004 at 11:09 AM.
Closed Thread