Thread: Lens Query

Wink Lens Query

Hi dear all,

I am new to Photography and Clubsnap.
    I use currently use:
    550D
    Canon 18-200mm IS

I am thinking of getting another lens to predominantly take portraits, children, babies, people during events etc, indoor low-light and outdoors.
    I also like good background blur effect and would not want to spend more than $800 on the lens.

Therefore should I be looking at the 30mm, 35mm, or 50mm lens and which focal length will suit better and offer the best flexibility? I am also mindful of the crop factor on my 550D.

I have also been doing research on these few lens. Which would you recommend?
    Is Sigma as good as Canon?
    Canon 50mm F1.4 USM
    Sigma 50mm F1.4 HSM
    Sigma 30mm F1.4 HSM
    Canon 35mm F2
    Canon 28mm F1.8

Any advice will be appreciated!

Default Re: Lens Query

Welcome to CS mou!

Any of those lenses would fit the bill, but the question depends largely on your shooting style and conditions. However, do note that with any wider lens, there's always a possibility of distorting faces and body parts. It may look so prominent on a 1.6x crop body, but it's still there.

If you can, try to borrow/rent the lenses you have shortlisted to get a feel or look at lens specific albums in flickr or on other album hosts.

Also, you could consider including the EF 85mm 1.8 in your list. For the money, it's quite a stunning performer. It's a very sharp lens, great bokeh and focuses fast. I've tried it on a 1,6x crop body and find it just nice for half body shots of small children in tight HDB sized rooms. For large children and adults, it might be a little too long in similar rooms.

All the best in your search.

Thanks Dream Merchant. Appreciate your prompt response.

Will certainly add the 85mm 1.8 to the list!

Have you tried the other 1.4?

Welcome to CS
    Take the shot!

Deregistered

Welcome to CS

Quote Originally Posted by Dream Merchant View Post