Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 25 of 25

Thread: Trouble with sharp quality photos

  1. #21

    Default Re: Trouble with sharp quality photos

    photo #2, you were using Auto mode? the settings used for this photo was ISO 2000, f1.8, 1/8, shot at 50mm. can tell that the place was really super dark. change to a brighter place lar.. ><

    the blur can be because of the high ISO, with ISO 2000, there will be some visible noise due to the high ISO, and the High ISO noise reduction (if it is switched on) may cause the photo to be a bit soft.

    it can be due to camera/handshake too, with 1/8 on a 50mm focal length, quite easy to get blur photo if you do not have firm support.

  2. #22
    Senior Member ZerocoolAstra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    rainy Singapore
    Posts
    9,523

    Default Re: Trouble with sharp quality photos

    Quote Originally Posted by sheaffey View Post


    ( The potrait look like belachan to me so i need help in it)

    Here it is brothers, any help will be much appreciated
    By the way, it's spelt "PORTRAIT" with 2 Rs...
    I see your watermark also mis-spelt...
    Exploring! :)

  3. #23
    Senior Member ovaltinemilo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Sin jia Po lah
    Posts
    2,820

    Default Re: Trouble with sharp quality photos

    those 2 photos look like you have shot in a challenging lighting...look at your shutter speed before you shoot in those lighting...for your 17-50mm...anything faster than 1/50 should help reduce shake...

    anyway, for portrait, can do spot metering instead of matrix to see what's the diff in your shutter speed...
    if all fails, your lens has focus prob if it's not in-focus after stopping down to f8 or above....

    Quote Originally Posted by miaoteh View Post
    photo #2, you were using Auto mode? the settings used for this photo was ISO 2000, f1.8, 1/8, shot at 50mm. can tell that the place was really super dark. change to a brighter place lar.. ><
    TS, just fyi, automode doesn't mean the cam can go auto-pilot and produce splendid images everytime, it gets tricked often too...haha...
    Last edited by ovaltinemilo; 14th May 2010 at 09:34 AM.
    ...:::..::.Nikon.::.:::..
    RGB Metering & Focusing.

  4. #24
    Moderator ortega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    23,686
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default Re: Trouble with sharp quality photos

    for the 1st shot

    1. to get everything sharp you need to have a greater DOF, which means a smaller aperture (eg. f16/f22)

    2. use a tripod, it will eliminate camera shake due to the slow shutter speed when you are trying to get everything sharp

    3. if you are still learning then with the above setup, shoot in aperture priority mode then bracket using the exposure compensation.

    with a tripod you do not have to use a higher ISO speed since the subject will not move.

  5. #25
    Senior Member wildcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Bedok
    Posts
    3,268

    Default Re: Trouble with sharp quality photos

    I am also very confused how TS can get f1.8 from a 17-50mm lens (second picture)

    The rest have been mentioned by others already and so I repeat understanding the basics is important. Looking at the EXIF data, it's very easy for us to see why, but you need to know also, and it's easier for you to read up and play around with your camera.

    The first pix was shot at f2.8
    The second pix was shot at 1/8s with a non-VC lens (and at 50mm some more)

    I see it as two different problems and you may have confused them... read up first and come back if still don't understand
    Last edited by wildcat; 14th May 2010 at 09:56 AM.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •