Thread: Newbie here... advise needed..

Default Newbie here... advise needed..

Hi, first post in this forum.

Just bought a canon G5. Anyone can advise on how to maintain a digicam?
    Do I need a cleaning kit? Any guides on choosing a cleaning kit?

thanks in advance..

Do have a read on this thread: http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=64126

basically, keep it in a dry place.

if possible, invest in a good LEATHER pouch with soft cushioning inside for ur digital cam.

always take out ur battery and memory card when not in use for a period of more than 48hrs.

hmmm.....IMO, those are the few most BASIC things u should do. u shud read up more on it.

[QUOTE=Sukoo]Hi, first post in this forum.

QUOTE]

Use it.

Actually you don't really need any cleaning kit at all, simply clean with a cloth + a blower. that's all..

Quote Originally Posted by The_Cheat
    Good one! Thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by jonlou

if possible, invest in a good LEATHER pouch with soft cushioning inside for ur digital cam.

always take out ur battery and memory card when not in use for a period of more than 48hrs.

hmmm.....IMO, those are the few most BASIC things u should do. u shud read up more on it.
    Oh yes.. a pouch. The G5 doesn't comes with a pouch. I bought it during the canon promotion. Only comes with a tripod and 256mb CF.

Thanks for the advise on removing the CF and battery when not in use. I'll keep that in mind.

BASIC things like? Those mentioned in the threat given by "The Cheat" ? or u mean the manual that comes with the camera?

[QUOTE=Minoxman]
    Quote Originally Posted by Sukoo
    Hi, first post in this forum.

QUOTE]

Use it.
    Thanks! I'll keep that in mind. Still reading the user guide and trying to get familiar with the features... tried a few snaps at home and outdoors already...

result no good leh... errr I mean my skill, definately not the G5's problem. The Auto seems to be working the best for me now

Quote Originally Posted by Spyer2