Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Shutter changing

  1. #1
    Member leowyien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Serangoon
    Posts
    859

    Default Shutter changing

    Hi guys, I was wondering if we can change the shutter unit after the shuutter has reached its limit; if can then how much would it cost and where can i get to replace it.
    indie

  2. #2

    Default Re: Shutter changing

    for your 1st question = yes, for 2nd question = not sure as never use until the limit yet

    Tel: 6799 8888 = canon Customer Service Centre
    their website doesnt provide the info, so you can ring them up

  3. #3
    Member dingaroo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Singapore | East
    Posts
    1,950

    Default Re: Shutter changing

    Just wondering, what is the latest file number on your picture? I have only reached about 8k counts of my shutter, but never had considered changing the shutter as I only believe it'll break when it wants to break.

    So, give no more thought about it, and continue shooting till it finally break! That may be many more years in future or touch wood, maybe tomorrow? If it does, Canon Service Center is at Harborfront, which is easily accessible by bus, mrt, or even taxi.

    Cheers!
    A picture a day keeps the blues away!

  4. #4

    Default Re: Shutter changing

    based on "http://www.the-digital-picture.com/Reviews/Canon-EOS-Rebel-T1i-500D-Digital-SLR-Camera-Review.aspx", shutter life for 500d is 100k.
    assuming it was released in may 2009 and u got it since then till now that is approx. 2yrs, means that you shoot 137 pics per day. *faint*

  5. #5
    Senior Member +evenstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Singapore / United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,655

    Default Re: Shutter changing

    why change something that isnt' broken yet?
    eat. drink. shoot

  6. #6

    Default Re: Shutter changing

    There is no "hard limit". It might last to 50,000 or it might last to 200,000 etc.
    Alpha

  7. #7
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,393

    Default Re: Shutter changing

    Quote Originally Posted by leowyien View Post
    Hi guys, I was wondering if we can change the shutter unit after the shuutter has reached its limit; if can then how much would it cost and where can i get to replace it.
    There aren't many people who can change the timing belt of their car .. and I guess it's similar with photographers who can change camera shutter. If you don't exactly know what your are doing then Service Center is your best friend. But in contrast to timing belt there is no recommendation to change a shutter. Use it as long as it works, change when broken.
    EOS

  8. #8

    Default Re: Shutter changing

    Those shutter dead before is there any symptoms? Or just dead..

  9. #9
    Member dingaroo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Singapore | East
    Posts
    1,950

    Default Re: Shutter changing

    Quote Originally Posted by Omega23 View Post
    Those shutter dead before is there any symptoms? Or just dead..
    Yup, just dead. Can't snap a shot at all. You can still turn it on, but not capture any pictures.

    HTH.
    A picture a day keeps the blues away!

  10. #10
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: Shutter changing

    Quote Originally Posted by leowyien View Post
    Hi guys, I was wondering if we can change the shutter unit after the shuutter has reached its limit; if can then how much would it cost and where can i get to replace it.
    the is no certain limit that the shutter will fail, but just higher chances.

    don't worry so much about it, hardly for casual shooters will shoot till shutter fail, even it is failed, you have all ready making full use of your camera, high time to write it off and just get a newer camera, probably is already Canon 800D or 900D.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Right behind you. :P
    Posts
    238

    Default Re: Shutter changing

    Quote Originally Posted by leowyien View Post
    Hi guys, I was wondering if we can change the shutter unit after the shuutter has reached its limit; if can then how much would it cost and where can i get to replace it.
    Approx SGD $700? Thats for my 5D... Not sure about others.

    Thats why, You don't point-and-shoot using a dslr.
    They Prefer MasterCard. But I Prefer VISA.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •