Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 34 of 34

Thread: CPU Fan error! Click F1 to resume

  1. #21
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    611

    Default Re: CPU Fan error! Click F1 to resume

    Quote Originally Posted by cks2k2 View Post
    It's more of you getting a gem... quad-cores are difficult to overclock by that much - the more cores, the harder.
    How long did you run prime95? I'd go for 8 hours min before declaring it as stable.

    Dream Merchant: it's really simple to replace the heatsink-fan. just make sure you got the specs right: intel/amd, p4/c2/athon etc...
    Bro, the Q6600 is one of the well known over clockers... 3ghz is a very common clock people hit. Most top out at 3.6 and some 3.9. Ran prime over night, intel burn test actually stresses the com much more. I also did a pencil mod on my mb to keep my vcore stable due to vdroop. Without the mod i could only top out at 3.4... Now the vcore is currently 1.4250... This processor is rated to be able to take up to 1.5v if i'm not mistaken... As its from an older generation running on 65nm compared to the newer 45nm processors. The 65nm processors are able to take a higher Vcore compared to the 45nm...
    S5pro,Toki28-70,12-24,Tam17-35spoilt,70-200,SB600,800,Voigt 58F1.4,http://hensongerard.multiply.com

  2. #22

    Default Re: CPU Fan error! Click F1 to resume

    Thanks again 9V.

    Here's what is says:

    Intel Core 2 Duo E7400

    Package: Socket 775 LGA
    Last edited by Dream Merchant; 9th May 2010 at 10:43 PM.

  3. #23

    Default Re: CPU Fan error! Click F1 to resume

    Quote Originally Posted by smile_gerard View Post
    Bro, the Q6600 is one of the well known over clockers... 3ghz is a very common clock people hit. Most top out at 3.6 and some 3.9. Ran prime over night, intel burn test actually stresses the com much more. I also did a pencil mod on my mb to keep my vcore stable due to vdroop. Without the mod i could only top out at 3.4... Now the vcore is currently 1.4250... This processor is rated to be able to take up to 1.5v if i'm not mistaken... As its from an older generation running on 65nm compared to the newer 45nm processors. The 65nm processors are able to take a higher Vcore compared to the 45nm...
    What stepping/revision? IIRC the earlier steppings/revision weren't great, my friend on Q6600 couldn't squeeze too much.
    Smaller process = lower vcore
    Last edited by cks2k2; 9th May 2010 at 10:45 PM.

  4. #24
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    611

    Default Re: CPU Fan error! Click F1 to resume

    Bro, you need to look for a Socket 775 cooler. The cooler i posted earlier will work just fine on yours, i did quite a bit of research before deciding on that, it was the most cost effective at that point of time. But the shop did tell me they were not bringing in anymore. So u gota try your luck. Other shops were selling it at abt $90 where else the one i got it from was abt $40+... $48 if i'm not wrong.
    S5pro,Toki28-70,12-24,Tam17-35spoilt,70-200,SB600,800,Voigt 58F1.4,http://hensongerard.multiply.com

  5. #25
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    611

    Default Re: CPU Fan error! Click F1 to resume

    Quote Originally Posted by cks2k2 View Post
    What stepping? IIRC the earlier steppings weren't great, my friend on Q6600 couldn't squeeze too much.
    Smaller process = lower vcore
    Q6600 comes in two versions (i think), one is the B3 stepping if i'm not wrong, this was the first version and wasn't much of a clocker. But it would hit abt 3ghz to 3.2ghz, then came the G0 stepping which i have, it was able to run at a slightly lower voltage. Which is also why it is able to be squeezed more compared to the other.
    S5pro,Toki28-70,12-24,Tam17-35spoilt,70-200,SB600,800,Voigt 58F1.4,http://hensongerard.multiply.com

  6. #26

    Default Re: CPU Fan error! Click F1 to resume

    Quote Originally Posted by smile_gerard View Post
    Nono... you can just replace the fan of the heatsink but i don't think that comes by easily. So if i were u, i'd change the CPU Heatsink.
    If your using Intel this is probably what u have


    Judging from your error its probably the fan not working. Replacing the fan will do. I tried removing once but i ended up breaking the fan.
    So i'd recommend getting that whole piece replaced, it also means u need to apply thermal paste when u do fit a new one.
    This is what i installed onto mine...
    http://www.ocztechnology.com/product...max_cpu_cooler

    And just so u don't get cheated when u do look for these parts, there's a shop called "PC Themes" in sim lim square, their prices are very reasonable when it comes to computer parts.
    Quote Originally Posted by smile_gerard View Post
    Bro, you need to look for a Socket 775 cooler. The cooler i posted earlier will work just fine on yours, i did quite a bit of research before deciding on that, it was the most cost effective at that point of time. But the shop did tell me they were not bringing in anymore. So u gota try your luck. Other shops were selling it at abt $90 where else the one i got it from was abt $40+... $48 if i'm not wrong.

    The gladiator look like something I may not know how to install, not that I don't appreciate the suggestion.

    Smile, I just go SLS and ask for a socket 775 cooler can? If I ask for a good quality one with better RPM, how much would I be looking at?

  7. #27

    Default Re: CPU Fan error! Click F1 to resume

    Just ask if they are selling the stock 775 HSF. In Malaysia some shops do sell it for IIRC MYR20, not sure in SG.

  8. #28
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    611

    Default Re: CPU Fan error! Click F1 to resume

    Quote Originally Posted by Dream Merchant View Post
    The gladiator look like something I may not know how to install, not that I don't appreciate the suggestion.

    Smile, I just go SLS and ask for a socket 775 cooler can? If I ask for a good quality one with better RPM, how much would I be looking at?
    RPM isn't actually the most important factor, for example a 12cm fan at 1500rpm is quieter and moves more air compared to an 8cm fan at 2000rpm. For normal use, probably a $20 cooler will be alright. They might just sell you the intel stock one if they have haha. The one i have is massive and yea it is troublesome to install. Just go down to hardwarezone web and check out their price list. The shop i'd recommend is "PC Themes" but it is always good to check out others as well. They usually have a section on "Coolers"
    S5pro,Toki28-70,12-24,Tam17-35spoilt,70-200,SB600,800,Voigt 58F1.4,http://hensongerard.multiply.com

  9. #29

    Default Re: CPU Fan error! Click F1 to resume

    OK.

    I just Googled stock 775 HSF and this sounds intimidating:

    The stock intel HSF can be very hard to install, just read customer reviews for any retail 775 cpu, especially if it's your first time.

    http://www.pcmech.com/forum/showthread.php?p=1244646

    What's your take? I don;'t want to stab or kill my CPU leh ...

  10. #30
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    611

    Default Re: CPU Fan error! Click F1 to resume

    Quote Originally Posted by Dream Merchant View Post
    OK.

    I just Googled stock 775 HSF and this sounds intimidating:

    The stock intel HSF can be very hard to install, just read customer reviews for any retail 775 cpu, especially if it's your first time.

    http://www.pcmech.com/forum/showthread.php?p=1244646

    What's your take? I don;'t want to stab or kill my CPU leh ...
    Bro u already are killing the CPU by having it on lol...
    Its not difficult this is what u should do.

    1 - Get a replacement
    2 - Remove the old heatsink by turning the 4 pins and then removing it (Might take a bit of force)
    3 - Clean off all remaining paste on the cpu ( I used nail polish remover and cotton wool)
    4 - Clean the new heatsink with the nail polish remover
    5 - apply new thermal paste (just a drop in the middle will be sufficient)
    6 - install the new cooler (small ones are usually push pin)

    To install the a push pin cooler, basically u just line it up with the holes, press the sides down in like a cross direction. U will hear a clip sound once it is in.

    Thermal Paste is important...!!! Too much and it doesn't get heat transfered. Less is more...

    Cleaning off the old Paste is even more important...
    Its really simple... Don't worry about it.
    Last edited by smile_gerard; 9th May 2010 at 11:03 PM.
    S5pro,Toki28-70,12-24,Tam17-35spoilt,70-200,SB600,800,Voigt 58F1.4,http://hensongerard.multiply.com

  11. #31

    Default Re: CPU Fan error! Click F1 to resume

    Quote Originally Posted by smile_gerard View Post
    Bro u already are killing the CPU by having it on lol...
    Its not difficult this is what u should do.

    1 - Get a replacement
    2 - Remove the old heatsink by turning the 4 pins and then removing it (Might take a bit of force)
    3 - Clean off all remaining paste on the cpu ( I used nail polish remover and cotton wool)
    4 - Clean the new heatsink with the nail polish remover
    5 - apply new thermal paste (just a drop in the middle will be sufficient)
    6 - install the new cooler (small ones are usually push pin)

    To install the a push pin cooler, basically u just line it up with the holes, press the sides down in like a cross direction. U will hear a clip sound once it is in.

    Thermal Paste is important...!!! Too much and it doesn't get heat transfered. Less is more...

    Cleaning off the old Paste is even more important...
    Its really simple... Don't worry about it.
    OK.

    Thanks bro!

    Step 4 - Clean the new heatsink with the nail polish remover. You mean just give the fins a wipe, or do exactly what?

    Anyways, going by this pictorial guide, it appears to be quite straightforward leh ...

    http://www.hardwarezone.com/articles...9&id=1215&pg=6

    Just to clarify, I found that as a link on the article which said that the 775 cooler can be very hard to install.
    Last edited by Dream Merchant; 9th May 2010 at 11:10 PM.

  12. #32
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    611

    Default Re: CPU Fan error! Click F1 to resume

    As long as your getting a push pin cooler, its very simple. For mine cuz its a very big cooler, i went to get a backplate for it which involves removing the whole mother board just to fit the cooler. There is a push pin method but i'm afraid one day it just falls off haha.
    For a small size cooler, push pins are really convenient, u won't go wrong. Just remember to clean off all the old thermal paste and when u apply new paste, don't over do it.
    S5pro,Toki28-70,12-24,Tam17-35spoilt,70-200,SB600,800,Voigt 58F1.4,http://hensongerard.multiply.com

  13. #33

    Default Re: CPU Fan error! Click F1 to resume

    OK, will do.

    Thanks a million!

    I owe you kopi man!

  14. #34
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    611

    Default Re: CPU Fan error! Click F1 to resume

    Kopi sounds good... If u have any problems or questions just let me know. Cuz the other thing that i like other then cameras is fiddling with computer stuff haha.
    S5pro,Toki28-70,12-24,Tam17-35spoilt,70-200,SB600,800,Voigt 58F1.4,http://hensongerard.multiply.com

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •