Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22

Thread: Why use ISO 200 over ISO 100?

  1. #1

    Default Why use ISO 200 over ISO 100?

    For a full sunlight portrait image, what's the need for using ISO 200 instead of ISO 100?

    Here's the exif data on a pic I just saw of a model shot in outdoor.

    Camera Info
    Device: Nikon D300
    Lens: VR 70-200mm F/2.8G
    Focal Length: 135mm
    Focus Mode: AF-S
    AF-Area Mode: Single
    Aperture: F/2.8
    Shutter Speed: 1/1250s
    Exposure Mode: Aperture Priority
    Exposure Comp.: -0.7EV
    Metering: Spot
    ISO Sensitivity: ISO 200
    White Balance: Auto, 0, 0
    Color Space: Adobe RGB

    If using ISO 100 for this shot, it would halve the shutter speed to 1/625s which is not a problem, so why not use ISO 100 in this case? Anything i'm not seeing here?
    ex-Nikon owner - now only iPhone :/

  2. #2
    Member Cartman2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    1,732

    Default Re: Why use ISO 200 over ISO 100?

    The ISO 100 on the D300 is a "fake" or push ISO. Google it for more details

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: Why use ISO 200 over ISO 100?

    Quote Originally Posted by TroyP View Post
    For a full sunlight portrait image, what's the need for using ISO 200 instead of ISO 100?

    Here's the exif data on a pic I just saw of a model shot in outdoor.

    Camera Info
    Device: Nikon D300
    Lens: VR 70-200mm F/2.8G
    Focal Length: 135mm
    Focus Mode: AF-S
    AF-Area Mode: Single
    Aperture: F/2.8
    Shutter Speed: 1/1250s
    Exposure Mode: Aperture Priority
    Exposure Comp.: -0.7EV
    Metering: Spot
    ISO Sensitivity: ISO 200
    White Balance: Auto, 0, 0
    Color Space: Adobe RGB

    If using ISO 100 for this shot, it would halve the shutter speed to 1/625s which is not a problem, so why not use ISO 100 in this case? Anything i'm not seeing here?
    err... where is the pic?

    Does D300 have ISO 100? (sorry not a nikon user, but some cam really don't have ISO100, and sometimes their ISO100 is worse than ISO200 in terms of noise.)
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  4. #4

    Default Re: Why use ISO 200 over ISO 100?

    think the d300's base iso is 200, not 100.

  5. #5

    Default Re: Why use ISO 200 over ISO 100?

    Quote Originally Posted by flipfreak View Post
    think the d300's base iso is 200, not 100.

    Not a Nikon user also...maybe that is the reason. No ISO 100.

    Again if my SLR have good control of ISO noise till 1600 i will use 400-800 for a in good light condition when shoot 'action' shot for 'freeze' effect.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: Why use ISO 200 over ISO 100?

    Quote Originally Posted by paesyl View Post
    Not a Nikon user also...maybe that is the reason. No ISO 100.

    Again if my SLR have good control of ISO noise till 1600 i will use 400-800 for a in good light condition when shoot 'action' shot for 'freeze' effect.
    depends... on the type of shots. my camera sucks anything beyond 400... hence only 100,200,400 for me...
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Why use ISO 200 over ISO 100?

    Like I said, it's for a full sunlight portrait pic, no moving subject.
    I'm actually using Nikon D90 which has ISO 100 (aka Lo 1).
    Basically I want to know if there's any advantage of using ISO 200 over ISO 100, other than to use faster shutter speed.
    ex-Nikon owner - now only iPhone :/

  8. #8
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: Why use ISO 200 over ISO 100?

    Quote Originally Posted by TroyP View Post
    Like I said, it's for a full sunlight portrait pic, no moving subject.
    I'm actually using Nikon D90 which has ISO 100 (aka Lo 1).
    Basically I want to know if there's any advantage of using ISO 200 over ISO 100, other than to use faster shutter speed.
    the base ISO is 200, however user can set to Lo 0.3, Lo 0.7 or Lo 1.
    since the shutter speed has not max out, there is no reason to use Lo ISO setting.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: Why use ISO 200 over ISO 100?

    Quote Originally Posted by TroyP View Post
    Like I said, it's for a full sunlight portrait pic, no moving subject.
    I'm actually using Nikon D90 which has ISO 100 (aka Lo 1).
    Basically I want to know if there's any advantage of using ISO 200 over ISO 100, other than to use faster shutter speed.
    if its like previously said 'push'ed instead of actual, then no point, a faster shutter speed is better than slower shutter speed.

    The only point using ISO 100 over ISO 200 is to retain the blacks or details if your system is able to reap from it.

    from his exif, i think he shot -0.7ev, so the shutter speed will be definitely faster than usual compared to people using 0ev. and using a 70-200, its best to increase shutter speed than actually using something slow, with bad holding techniques it will be more prone to handshake than your 50mm. 1/200 is just a guide. and VR doesn't really help much if he is extremely nervous and almost nose bleeding to his death.
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  10. #10

    Default Re: Why use ISO 200 over ISO 100?

    Quote Originally Posted by TroyP View Post
    Like I said, it's for a full sunlight portrait pic, no moving subject.
    I'm actually using Nikon D90 which has ISO 100 (aka Lo 1).
    Basically I want to know if there's any advantage of using ISO 200 over ISO 100, other than to use faster shutter speed.
    basically, if you understand what base isos are... and what is done to achieve something lower than base iso........ then you will realise very quickly that by not using base iso, you chance clipping the highlights.

    even canon will tell you that officiallly with their 5d:

    http://www.usa.canon.com/dlc/control...&articleID=268

    basically, iso 100 is shot with iso 200, then the camera dials it down..
    Last edited by night86mare; 5th May 2010 at 05:21 PM.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: Why use ISO 200 over ISO 100?

    Quote Originally Posted by catchlights View Post
    the base ISO is 200, however user can set to Lo 0.3, Lo 0.7 or Lo 1.
    since the shutter speed has not max out, there is no reason to use Lo ISO setting.
    wondering which nikon cam have iso 100 or 50... iirc nikon is great for high ISOs.
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  12. #12

    Default Re: Why use ISO 200 over ISO 100?

    Quote Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt View Post
    wondering which nikon cam have iso 100 or 50... iirc nikon is great for high ISOs.
    the newer ones all have it.

  13. #13

    Default Re: Why use ISO 200 over ISO 100?

    Quote Originally Posted by TroyP View Post
    Like I said, it's for a full sunlight portrait pic, no moving subject.
    I'm actually using Nikon D90 which has ISO 100 (aka Lo 1).
    Basically I want to know if there's any advantage of using ISO 200 over ISO 100, other than to use faster shutter speed.
    the base iso of a D300 is the same as D90, i.e. ISO 200.

    according to Dpreview HERE (scroll to "ISO Sensitivity and Dynamic Range"), D90 at Lo1 (iso 100 equiv.) will have about one stop less dynamic range at the highlight region, which is what you'd expect from what is essentially an ISO 200 image overexposed by a stop.

    therefore the lowest ever iso i will use on a D90 is ISO200.

    for D300 (link HERE), at ISO Lo1, you will also lose about 0.7 stops dynamic range in the highlight region than that of iso 200, therefore i also see no point of using ISO Lo 1 on a D300.

    HTH.
    Last edited by miaoteh; 5th May 2010 at 05:26 PM.

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: Why use ISO 200 over ISO 100?

    Quote Originally Posted by flipfreak View Post
    the newer ones all have it.
    got 50 liao ar?
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  15. #15

    Default Re: Why use ISO 200 over ISO 100?

    Yeah i've seen some cameras that have ISO 50.

    Ok, I see your logic with 200mm shot, better to use higher ISO.
    I think i'll stick to ISO 200 from now on, thanks
    ex-Nikon owner - now only iPhone :/

  16. #16

    Default Re: Why use ISO 200 over ISO 100?

    Quote Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt View Post
    got 50 liao ar?
    d3x. base iso 100

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    East
    Posts
    293

    Default Re: Why use ISO 200 over ISO 100?

    Referring to Thom Hogan Guide; D300 LO 0.3 , LO 0.7 and LO 1.0 are equivalent to ISO 100, 125 and 160. These so-called non numbered ISO values warn you that some aspect of image quality will be compromised. LO values will compromise for highlights (highlight data will get clip for high contrast scene). OK for low contrast scenes but bad for high contrast scenes.

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: Why use ISO 200 over ISO 100?

    Quote Originally Posted by flipfreak View Post
    d3x. base iso 100
    waiting for real iso50.
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  19. #19

    Default Re: Why use ISO 200 over ISO 100?

    Quote Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt View Post
    waiting for real iso50.
    2 words. medium format.

  20. #20
    Senior Member Numnumball's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Central
    Posts
    13,914

    Default Re: Why use ISO 200 over ISO 100?

    The base ISO value for any camera is where it gets the most dynamic range, least noise, and highest IQ.
    I turned PRO in diaper chg!
    My Flickr|My Son

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •