Thread: Sunset over city skyline - newbie HDR

Default Sunset over city skyline - newbie HDR

1. in what area is critique to be sought?
    Everything: composition, lighting etc. Im new at photography... landscapes in particular. I want to know how to creatively "see" the better picture. And also how to properly tone-map using HDR tools like Photomatix

2. what one hopes to achieve with the piece of work?
    Learn the techniques in landscape photography and make me decide if I want to purchase a UWA next week

3. under what circumstance is the picture taken? (physical conditions/emotions)
    Eagerness. I saw the cute cloud formations so I set my DSLR to bracket, took 3 takes at 0.7 increments and made the HDR.

4. what the critique seeker personally thinks of the picture
    I think its flat thats why I need some (hopefully constructive) critique

avidbirder.net|Nikon Coolpix P520|

Default Re: Sunset over city skyline - newbie HDR

View from Joo Chiat.

Is this pic 9,999 in your shutter count ?

Soon will be getting better.

A suitable subject will fully explore the virtue of HDR, but not this one. Try shooting some interior /indoor / or near evening scene.

There are too many elements in the photo, I have no idea what the focus is and where I should look, this is a common pitfall you will encounter especially once you start playing with an ultrawide.

there is no dominating element as an anchor for attention. as sabee has pointed out, this is just a mishmash of what you see thrown together, for the sake of capturing a photo, at least that's what i see. i see little effort put into thought, into how people will view the photograph.

what interested you here? why did you take this scene? what do you intend to show, or convey?

you state that it is the cute cloud formations, have you made them the focal point here?

other htan that, your hdr is pushed too hard. i don't know if you notice some of your buildings, trees, glowing.. the light is not correct.