Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Canon

Canon Exhilaration Of Sight

Old 4th April 2004   #1
nightwolf75

Default thinking of buying 300D. any advise?

hi, to all the canon pros, can someone help me out here. i'm a canon "virgin"...

1) is 300D is good beginner's DSLR? at the risk of getting , is 300D better than D70 or D100?

2) where to get a good deal for 300D? MScolor at AMK is selling it for $1750 for the basic kit.

3) if i buy the 300D, which 3rd party flash is a good buy? i browsed thru the threads, and some people recommended the sigma?

thanks!
Old 4th April 2004   #2
plinius

here we go again......

1) is 300D is good beginner's DSLR? at the risk of getting , is 300D better than D70 or D100?

hmmm....better in term of what? this topic was discussed till rot liao....do a search and you will find the answer....

2) where to get a good deal for 300D? MScolor at AMK is selling it for $1750 for the basic kit.

good price liao....MS Color & AP offers competitive prices

3) if i buy the 300D, which 3rd party flash is a good buy? i browsed thru the threads, and some people recommended the sigma?

Sigma will suffice...got FEC mah

thanks![/quote]
Old 4th April 2004   #3
nightwolf75

Default 300d

Originally Posted by plinius
here we go again......

hmmm....better in term of what? this topic was discussed till rot liao....do a search and you will find the answer....

good price liao....MS Color & AP offers competitive prices

Sigma will suffice...got FEC mah

thanks!
[/quote]

hahaha... knew i would be .....

i know there are a lot of threads abt the pros and cons of 300D vs D70/D100. i'm more interested in finding out from users of canon the user-friendliness of the 300D. i dun doubt the quality, judging from the dpreview's article. never used a canon b4, so dun know how usable it is. hmm.... come to think of it, used just abt all the major brands out there except canon....

came across another shop in peninsular hotel. shop claimed to have a closing down sale. selling the 300D for $1600. will check it out later in the week. and see if they sell the sigma flash!
Sponsored Link
Old 4th April 2004   #4
plinius

$1600 for kit set? if got local warranty must GRAB liao!!!!

came across another shop in peninsular hotel. shop claimed to have a closing down sale. selling the 300D for $1600. will check it out later in the week. and see if they sell the sigma flash! [/quote]
Old 5th April 2004   #5
sequitur

i'm a 10D user

i've touched a 300D
and i feel that the 10D is more user friendly than 300D.

features wise
nikon has produced a D70 winner over the 300D.

but i'll always use a canon.
Old 5th April 2004   #6
agape01

Like Sequitur, I just have got one thing to say....

DO NOT BUY 300D!!!!!!

The same reasons as Sequitur gave. Within a couple of months, you are going to start asking yourself why did I buy this in the first place.
Old 5th April 2004   #7
tonysantos

what do you suggest then?
Old 5th April 2004   #8
goering

Originally Posted by agape01
Like Sequitur, I just have got one thing to say....

DO NOT BUY 300D!!!!!!

The same reasons as Sequitur gave. Within a couple of months, you are going to start asking yourself why did I buy this in the first place.
I think the loud disapproval may be slightly misplaced

For beginner dslr users as mentioned by thread starter, I find the 300D pretty good actually. Different people do have different needs. In fact you can pick up a 2nd hand kit for around $1,400 or so and IMO it offers incredible value for this money. While its features are crippled, they are not so limiting to beginning dslr users that it limits their creativity.

However, for the thread starter, if you can afford the $2200 or so, then the D70 is an overall better camera - and more suited for you since you have presumably used Nikon gear before and you have no Canon lenses & accessories
Old 5th April 2004   #9
nightwolf75

Default newbie

yeah, in case u all haven't figure out, i'm a total newbie to DSLR. the closest i ever came to was using a Nikon FM2 some years ago. have sold off that faithful cam already...

i saw on another thread that there is a russian hack for the 300D, to unlock all the features? frankly speaking, i think i'll need a long time b4 i can be a true pro like AJ23, or regular posters on the site. so, i think i can live with whatever limitations of 300D till i'm good enuf not to malu myself at any shoots!

as for getting a 2nd-hand kit, sigh... no one seems to be selling off leh...

thanks for all the tips, bros!
Old 5th April 2004   #10
Cash

i have yet to see any difference between 300d , d70 10d or what have u in terms of picture qualities and the kind of pix that are distinctive of each of the cameras above.

if it aint gonna make a diff to the kind of pix u display or take at the end of the day, what does it matter? can someone show me a pic where only the d70 can take but not the 300d or one where only the 10d can take and not the d70?

i doubt it.

so much chitchat about which to get but not one piece of single pictorial supporting evidence...pointing to why to get which.

my opinion of cos is to wait for the price to plunge further before going in...the digital limit is coming to an end, dun jump in at the high end of the market...

;0
Old 5th April 2004   #11
semota

Hey man...i am a DSLR newbie too....my first DSLR cam is the 300d and i am still using it....i was salivating when i saw the D70 but i was told by a techno fanatic aka camera pow wow that the down side of D70 is that you have to stick with just nikon lens....not very $$$ friendly....

300D is idiot proof..i didnt flip thru the manual once.....10D is just too freaking expensive for the first timer....but one thing i can guarantee is that i improved a lot by exploring with the 300D...but be forewarned....you will not stay with it for a long time...i have used it for six months and i am looking for a prettier "wife"....haa...
Old 5th April 2004   #12
plinius

just be patient .....i am sure one will be up for salel soon ....
Originally Posted by nightwolf75
as for getting a 2nd-hand kit, sigh... no one seems to be selling off leh...

thanks for all the tips, bros!
Old 5th April 2004   #13
nightwolf75

Default new wife??

Originally Posted by semota
Hey man...i am a DSLR newbie too....my first DSLR cam is the 300d and i am still using it....i was salivating when i saw the D70 but i was told by a techno fanatic aka camera pow wow that the down side of D70 is that you have to stick with just nikon lens....not very $$$ friendly....

300D is idiot proof..i didnt flip thru the manual once.....10D is just too freaking expensive for the first timer....but one thing i can guarantee is that i improved a lot by exploring with the 300D...but be forewarned....you will not stay with it for a long time...i have used it for six months and i am looking for a prettier "wife"....haa...
hey, semota! ohhh.... naughty, naughty!! so fast want to abandon ur wife already ah??

dats wat i thot too. i crave user-friendliness, and price-friendliness. dats wat attracted me to 300D. thanks for all the honest opinions. at least, hearing from canon users, a newbie like me can buy with eyes opened.

oh yeah, semota! if u wish to part with ur wife, pls let me know? i'm still looking for a 2nd-hand set.

cheers!
Old 5th April 2004   #14
oracle0711

Originally Posted by sequitur
i'm a 10D user

i've touched a 300D
and i feel that the 10D is more user friendly than 300D.

features wise
nikon has produced a D70 winner over the 300D.

but i'll always use a canon.
I agree totally. I was contemplating between the 300D and the 10D for quite sometime when I decided to switch from film to digital. In the end, after trying out both models at different shop, I settled for the 10D for both exterior (hardiness over plastic body) and interior (good manual control functionalilty - an ease of using these functions - over the 300D where most are preprogrammed for use).

As for D70 versus 300D, review has it that it has more programmable features then the 300D and a body made of more sturdy material.

However, I do feel that the D70 produces more noise in pictures with high ISO settings than Canon (probably because Canon produces softer image results than Nikon).
Closed Thread