Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lense recommandations/help for D5000

Default Lense recommandations/help for D5000

Hi friends of CS,

I'm a total newbie to DSLR and I'd really appreciate if anyone would kindly help me out in selecting a new lens. Currently, I'm having the default(18-55mm) lens and would like to upgrade to a better performing lens.

I'm a plane spotter and would really love to shoot jets, sunsets, clouds and birds/animals/mammals(humans). I read on some forums that Sigma lenses are great and cheaper, I'm not sure how true is this and recently, I saw this 55-200mm and 70-300mm. I'm not sure if those lenses would fit me in those categories I want to shoot. And my budget for the new lens is around $300-$450.

I'd really be grateful if someone would recommend me a lens that could fulfill those categories of shots I want.

Thank you all!

Cheers!

Leo
    Last edited by Leo Chin; 28th April 2010 at 11:47 PM.

Default Re: Lense recommandations/help for D5000

Quote Originally Posted by Leo Chin View Post
    Hi friends of CS,

I'm a total newbie to DSLR and I'd really appreciate if anyone would kindly help me out in selecting a new lens. Currently, I'm having the default(18-55mm) lens and would like to upgrade to a better performing lens.

I'm a plane spotter and would really love to shoot jets, sunsets, clouds and birds/animals/mammals(humans). I read on some forums that Sigma lenses are great and cheaper, I'm not sure how true is this and recently, I saw this 55-200mm and 70-300mm. I'm not sure if those lenses would fit me in those categories I want to shoot. And my budget for the new lens is around $300-$450.

I'd really be grateful if someone would recommend me a lens that could fulfill those categories of shots I want.

Thank you all!

Cheers!

Leo
    70-300 then. longer better.
    cameras are not made of tofu

Hi friends of CS,

Thank you all!

Cheers!

Leo

Hello Leo! Welcome to CS.