Thread: Help DESPERATELY needed

Question Help DESPERATELY needed

I know I know… this question has been asked to death. But desperately need help as I am something of a tech idiot.

I have been using a analogue SLR for 3 years already but feel seriously constrained by the lack of lenses (big surprise! I dun have money to buy them)and my film developing cost. Am thinking of going digital, yet cannot bear to part with the $$$$$ involved in getting a DSLR. Plus the small problem that I am a tech idiot… (as highlighted above). So think the solution would be to get a good prosumer cam to get a feel of it first.

Am hoping you guys can give me some recommendations… please? Hee.

Actually, the main concerns I have would be able to play around with all the manual functions ala my faithful SLR (with a wider range of choices, of course) yet small enough for it to be not as cumbersome. I'm a simple person to please. Don't think I need very good quality. As long as can shoot above 3.2MP should be enough for me..

Was looking at a minolta dimage 7i or the dimage z1. what do you guys think? Would really appreciate any opinions you guys might have…. Or give me some recommendations.my budget is around $500. new and second hand (in good condition la) cams are fine by me.

Thanks for looking through this long winded post!

Quote Originally Posted by Jet1
    I know I know… this question has been asked to death. But desperately need help as I am something of a tech idiot.

I have been using a analogue SLR for 3 years already but feel seriously constrained by the lack of lenses (big surprise! I dun have money to buy them)and my film developing cost. Am thinking of going digital, yet cannot bear to part with the $$$$$ involved in getting a DSLR. Plus the small problem that I am a tech idiot… (as highlighted above). So think the solution would be to get a good prosumer cam to get a feel of it first.