Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Focusing screen for D700

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Still wondering where I belong
    Posts
    3,434

    Default Focusing screen for D700

    Any recommendation for a focusing screen for D700 ? Any user experience can share? Those from katzeye and focusing screen seems to have very small split screen in the middle which I have hesitation on getting.
    Gallery|Baby gallery
    I have become an expert in cleaning poo

  2. #2

    Default Re: Focusing screen for D700

    I find the stock screen good enough even for manual focusing except with slower lenses 3.5 or slower, and in low contrast conditions/subjects.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Ang Mo Kio
    Posts
    1,325

    Default Re: Focusing screen for D700

    Never compared the D700 VF with my D300 VF, but I got a split-prism focusing screen off eBay for my D300 just so I could use my 50/1.2 better on it. Cost me about $30. I think it's working good, and I like seeing the same thing in both my digital and film SLRs. =) Also, I find my f1.2 shots are more accurate than using a plain (stock) screen. Only downside is, now that there's a split prism, you notice how sometimes the camera's AF is not so zun. Haha! But that's good too coz then you can refocus instead of just shooting and getting a not-as-focused-as-you-like shot.
    incywincyspider climbup the waterspout...

  4. #4
    Member sf_kang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    642

    Default Re: Focusing screen for D700

    I just ordered a Katzeye focusing screen from Katzeye but it's not in yet. Will update you guys when I get it and have it installed and have the chance to test with some MF lenses.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    2,093

    Default Re: Focusing screen for D700

    Quote Originally Posted by sf_kang View Post
    I just ordered a Katzeye focusing screen from Katzeye but it's not in yet. Will update you guys when I get it and have it installed and have the chance to test with some MF lenses.
    please update =) i got a 3rd party split focus on my d200 now and when i finally get my next body im planning to put more $ into the screen. use manual lenses 95% of the time. and my 1 AF lens in manual focus another 2.5% of the time
    F3, FTN, D700, just primes =)
    http://littleredcake.smugmug.com/

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Buangkok
    Posts
    232

    Default Re: Focusing screen for D700

    Just so you have options...

    I got mine from here. Was good, I got the EC-L screen from Canon, cut to fit my D700.
    Have not used others. Fit was goodd and they provide extra plastic shims.
    If you're okay with having a Canon stuff inside your Nikon

    www.focusingscreen.com

  7. #7
    Senior Member icarus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    East
    Posts
    3,874

    Default Re: Focusing screen for D700

    Any updates on this? I am searching for a bright focusing screen for D700... specifically to use the large aperture primes on.

    Missed the super bright and DOF look on my FM3a
    Yngwie J. Malmsteen - "...I've never considered myself a fast guitar player..."

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    2,093

    Default Re: Focusing screen for D700

    Quote Originally Posted by icarus View Post
    Any updates on this? I am searching for a bright focusing screen for D700... specifically to use the large aperture primes on.

    Missed the super bright and DOF look on my FM3a
    im looking to adapt minolta acute-matte focus screen, but have yet to get hold of one. they re supposed to be the brightest and possibly the most accurate screens for manual focus.
    F3, FTN, D700, just primes =)
    http://littleredcake.smugmug.com/

  9. #9

    Default Re: Focusing screen for D700

    Quote Originally Posted by Ben Ang View Post
    im looking to adapt minolta acute-matte focus screen, but have yet to get hold of one. they re supposed to be the brightest and possibly the most accurate screens for manual focus.
    looking for one too...do update if got hold of if...
    Nikon D700, N24-70 f2.8, N70-200 f2.8, Sigma 50mm f1.4.

  10. #10
    Senior Member icarus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    East
    Posts
    3,874

    Default Re: Focusing screen for D700

    Quote Originally Posted by Ben Ang View Post
    im looking to adapt minolta acute-matte focus screen, but have yet to get hold of one. they re supposed to be the brightest and possibly the most accurate screens for manual focus.
    Yeah, please update if you find them. Possible to MO?
    Yngwie J. Malmsteen - "...I've never considered myself a fast guitar player..."

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    2,093

    Default Re: Focusing screen for D700

    Quote Originally Posted by RezzShaz View Post
    looking for one too...do update if got hold of if...
    Quote Originally Posted by icarus View Post
    Yeah, please update if you find them. Possible to MO?
    im thinking of getting afew dead minolta bodies from ebay for the screens, but have yet to find a good deal. im not even sure it ll work but i ll just try first =) will let you guys know if it works out.
    F3, FTN, D700, just primes =)
    http://littleredcake.smugmug.com/

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •