Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: deleting pics

  1. #1

    Default deleting pics

    hi ppl,

    I heard deleting picture directly from dslr is not good to the camera, is it true? if it is true,what is the risk? my friend say it is better to upload to comp the delete is it really must be so troublesome?

  2. #2

    Default Re: deleting pics

    it's not true... it's neither bad for the camera nor for the memory card...

    but on the other hand, if you don't need to free up space to shoot more stuff, it's good to bring everything back and transfer and go through everything on your computer, just so that you won't miss anything... that shot you want to delete might actually be useful...

    but after you transfer all your images to your comp, use your camera to reformat your card... this would optimize your card to make sure new captures are written most efficiently in your card... it would be advisable to do that every time you transfer images to your computer and clear your card...

  3. #3

    Default Re: deleting pics

    not bad for anyone, just you, if you are a blur dodo who deletes all your pictures by accident.

  4. #4

    Default Re: deleting pics

    Think you being misled by your friend but its good to clear your doubts.

    Don't think camera manufacturers will be so stupid to put a delete button function that in the end damage their camera. Unless their service centre budget is very high

  5. #5
    Senior Member sinned79's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    10,850

    Default Re: deleting pics

    your fren think too much. on wat basis its bad (you should have ask your fren this)?

    for me i always had the habit to delete those photos that i find cmi on the spot after i took the photos.

  6. #6
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,392

    Default Re: deleting pics

    Quote Originally Posted by Stephzz87 View Post
    I heard deleting picture directly from dslr is not good to the camera, is it true? if it is true,what is the risk? my friend say it is better to upload to comp the delete is it really must be so troublesome?
    Not sure whether you got something wrong here. The upload to PC is an advice against accidental deleting of images. Once you have uploaded all images you can select and delete on PC. if you happen to delete an image by accident you have a) the Trash Bin of your PC and b) the memory card of your camera to retrieve the deleted file again.
    Deleting on camera can be undone but requires more efforts and additional knowledge and software.
    Since all camera makers include the "Delete" function into their camera there is no damage or whatsoever to your camera in using it. Wouldn't it be damn stupid otherwise?
    EOS

  7. #7
    Deregistered rgy1993's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    994

    Default Re: deleting pics

    i've heard a few things...
    but this is like seriously..


    LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •