Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: CR2 files for 450d and 500d different??

  1. #1

    Default CR2 files for 450d and 500d different??

    Urgent! I used to own 450d and didnt have prob opening raw files, but this is my first time editing photos after switching to 500d and CS3 prompted me cannot open the doc coz it's not the right doc! How come like that har? I mean im using the same memo card..just that i changed body...y got this prob? anyone? Quite urgent leh....sigh
    5DMk2

  2. #2
    Member shark78's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Woodlands
    Posts
    145

    Default Re: CR2 files for 450d and 500d different??

    update ur cs3....
    EM5

  3. #3

    Default Re: CR2 files for 450d and 500d different??

    is it a must? how to upgrade?
    5DMk2

  4. #4

    Default Re: CR2 files for 450d and 500d different??

    u mean cs4?
    5DMk2

  5. #5
    Member shark78's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Woodlands
    Posts
    145

    Default Re: CR2 files for 450d and 500d different??

    Sir, I am talk about update. Adobe update.

    I used to have this problem with i try viewing D700 pic on my CS3.

    When i update the Abode Cs3. i can view the picture.


    regards
    EM5

  6. #6

    Default Re: CR2 files for 450d and 500d different??

    thx dude...so i can update in the cs3 folder? Sorri har..im pretty IT decline person and not technical person.
    5DMk2

  7. #7
    Member shark78's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Woodlands
    Posts
    145

    Default Re: CR2 files for 450d and 500d different??

    hmmmm. i got a great laugh..


    ok. try this . open your cs3
    at menu bar. ->Help
    go to ->Updates.


    hope this help.
    EM5

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Upper Serangoon
    Posts
    1,187

    Default Re: CR2 files for 450d and 500d different??

    No. An update will *not* help. You need a newer ACR (adobe camera raw) that supports the 500D raw files, however that newer ACR is only available for CS4.

    What you can do is download the DNG converter (free) from the Adobe site and convert your raw files to DNG format first, then open them in CS4.

  9. #9
    Member shark78's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Woodlands
    Posts
    145

    Default Re: CR2 files for 450d and 500d different??

    wow. tat news to me. sorry for the wrong inform
    EM5

  10. #10

    Default Re: CR2 files for 450d and 500d different??

    Quote Originally Posted by shark78 View Post
    hmmmm. i got a great laugh..


    ok. try this . open your cs3
    at menu bar. ->Help
    go to ->Updates.


    hope this help.
    Quote Originally Posted by sabee View Post
    No. An update will *not* help. You need a newer ACR (adobe camera raw) that supports the 500D raw files, however that newer ACR is only available for CS4.

    What you can do is download the DNG converter (free) from the Adobe site and convert your raw files to DNG format first, then open them in CS4.
    thx for yr help...so meaning i convert raw to dng and then to jpeg?? cant convert raw straight to jpeg?
    5DMk2

  11. #11

    Default Re: CR2 files for 450d and 500d different??

    Quote Originally Posted by Gerald Lam CK View Post
    thx for yr help...so meaning i convert raw to dng and then to jpeg?? cant convert raw straight to jpeg?
    Not in CS3. If you want a straight to JPEG conversion, use the software that came with your camera or upgrade to CS4.
    Alpha

  12. #12

    Default Re: CR2 files for 450d and 500d different??

    okie..so meaning cs4 can convert straight from raw to jpeg? gosh...i tot 450d and 500d shdnt differ that much. That's troublesome...
    5DMk2

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Upper Serangoon
    Posts
    1,187

    Default Re: CR2 files for 450d and 500d different??

    If you want to convert RAW to jpg directly, you can use Canon DPP. Or just shoot in JPEG :P I assume the reason why you want to shoot in RAW is for more control... In that case converting it to JPEG and opening the JPEG in Photoshop is not very useful compared to converting to DNG then opening that in Photoshop.

    Basically CS4 can handle the 500D raw files in the same way that your CS3 could handle your 450D raw.

  14. #14

    Default Re: CR2 files for 450d and 500d different??

    Quote Originally Posted by sabee View Post
    If you want to convert RAW to jpg directly, you can use Canon DPP. Or just shoot in JPEG :P I assume the reason why you want to shoot in RAW is for more control... In that case converting it to JPEG and opening the JPEG in Photoshop is not very useful compared to converting to DNG then opening that in Photoshop.

    Basically CS4 can handle the 500D raw files in the same way that your CS3 could handle your 450D raw.
    hi sabee..got it. will try to get cs4 then.
    5DMk2

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •