Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 70

Thread: I sign up 10mbps but....

  1. #41
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bishan
    Posts
    133

    Default Re: I sign up 10mbps but....

    498Mbs ?!?!?!
    Are you sure?
    How to achieve this speed?
    Dig underground, connect direct to optics cable?
    Canon 1D mk3/ 16-35L II/ 35L / 135L / 85 f1.8/ 580EX II / Canon G11

  2. #42
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Singapore, Bedok
    Posts
    1,129

    Default Re: I sign up 10mbps but....

    Are you on LAN cable or wireless?


    Quote Originally Posted by domdomino View Post


    Now im getting half of what i paid for..

    I even tested my ping on singnet technical support side.. keep refreshing and it will start from 20-30 ms , than jump to 50-80 ms than go back down again than 100-200 ms than go back down.

  3. #43
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Singapore, Bedok
    Posts
    1,129

    Default Re: I sign up 10mbps but....

    maybe the "server" is on the same network? (i.e. traffic never really pass thru the ISP..)

    Even if the whole block nobody share the cable.. should not get this kind of speed rite?


    Quote Originally Posted by Paranoid View Post
    498Mbs ?!?!?!
    Are you sure?
    How to achieve this speed?
    Dig underground, connect direct to optics cable?

  4. #44
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    In The Shadows
    Posts
    1,230

    Default Re: I sign up 10mbps but....

    Singtel guys came to my house for the 3rd time.

    Seriously the young chaps know what they are doing.

    The old hags who came yesterday, made a mess, damaged my phone ports.

    Now i get my full speed.

    11.34mbps on lan. 9.82mbps on wifi. My plan is a 10mbps plan.

    Root of problem. Singtel substation hardware fault. Nothing to do with lines at all.

  5. #45
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Beside Fernando Torress
    Posts
    427

    Default Re: I sign up 10mbps but....

    Quote Originally Posted by Limsgp View Post
    Are you on LAN cable or wireless?
    LAN cables..

  6. #46
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Bishan
    Posts
    133

    Default Re: I sign up 10mbps but....

    I'm using wireless.
    If I switch to LAN cable, what type of difference in speed will I be seeing? Significant?
    The bottlenecking should not be caused by the router right?
    My router is a cheapo $70 for home use type.

    Canon 1D mk3/ 16-35L II/ 35L / 135L / 85 f1.8/ 580EX II / Canon G11

  7. #47
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Beside Fernando Torress
    Posts
    427

    Default Re: I sign up 10mbps but....

    damm my latency is still high.. dam jerky..


    tmr the technician come, make sure i ask him to fix the latency..
    Last edited by domdomino; 26th March 2010 at 05:05 PM.

  8. #48
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Beside Fernando Torress
    Posts
    427

    Default Re: I sign up 10mbps but....

    i was wondering..

    Lets say if i dont the mio box ( which i hate it ) to connect on my pc , i want to put in another room with a laptop . And i want to use back my old modem and plug in to my com. is it possible?

  9. #49
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: I sign up 10mbps but....

    Quote Originally Posted by domdomino View Post
    i was wondering..

    Lets say if i dont the mio box ( which i hate it ) to connect on my pc , i want to put in another room with a laptop . And i want to use back my old modem and plug in to my com. is it possible?
    you're using a user id with a password rite since you're using ADSL. then you probably can...

    starhub's cable is locked to modem, automatic login using mac address sync to starhub's network.
    m1 using starhub's cable infrastructure need manual login.
    singtel, iirc, should be key in userid/pw into the adsl router/modem.

    for mio, no idea, but definitely need some kind of login.
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  10. #50
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Bkt Timah
    Posts
    190

    Default Re: I sign up 10mbps but....

    I have a 25Mbps Singnet connection at home (comes only with home line and mobile) and it normally gives me 21~22Mbps due to the limit of ADSL2.
    just fyi, i connect my Apple time capsule to the mio box using bridge mode and only shares the network via ATC. Mio box tend to be super choppy if you run any p2p software (even after you close the software or shut downs ur com...). Connect a router to mio box is the way i guess.

    I switched to Singtel from Starhub because Starhub is basically unusable during peak hours like 8.30pm-11.30pm........and Singtel is always consistent.

    I use google dns proxy as well. 8.8.8.8 - super easy to remember.

    I am currently in China so i can't provide a screenshot of the speedtest or pingtest.....good luck
    Nikon D90 | Flickr

  11. #51
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Beside Fernando Torress
    Posts
    427

    Default Re: I sign up 10mbps but....

    there is no way to make the ping lower ?

  12. #52
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: I sign up 10mbps but....

    Quote Originally Posted by domdomino View Post
    there is no way to make the ping lower ?
    got... u pong it.

    anyway, i think you got really sucky service there... ever thought of changing your ISP or your entire homeline?
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  13. #53
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Beside Fernando Torress
    Posts
    427

    Default Re: I sign up 10mbps but....

    Quote Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt View Post
    got... u pong it.

    anyway, i think you got really sucky service there... ever thought of changing your ISP or your entire homeline?
    under contract

    i sign MIO cause :

    1.Free Mio TV
    2.20% off each bill every month for 2 singtel handphone lines.
    3.Home Line also included
    4.Free Caller ID for mobile

    Total :$84 per/mth

    AND im getting only 1-5mbps...



    2nd attempt

    Hoseh liao ping keep jumping. and 65ms is bad for local provider.. it seems like i connect frm malaysia like that... i think i can off my pc and suck thumb till tml the technician comes over..
    Last edited by domdomino; 26th March 2010 at 06:31 PM.

  14. #54
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: I sign up 10mbps but....

    Quote Originally Posted by domdomino View Post
    under contract

    i sign MIO cause :

    1.Free Mio TV
    2.20% off each bill every month for 2 singtel handphone lines.
    3.Home Line also included
    4.Free Caller ID for mobile

    Total :$84 per/mth

    AND im getting only 1-5mbps...


    Hoseh liao.. i think i can off my pc and suck thumb till tml the technician comes over..
    have u tried cutting the cable at the front door and crimp it to fit your router?
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  15. #55
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Beside Fernando Torress
    Posts
    427

    Default Re: I sign up 10mbps but....

    Quote Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt View Post
    have u tried cutting the cable at the front door and crimp it to fit your router?
    err what you mean?

  16. #56
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: I sign up 10mbps but....

    Quote Originally Posted by domdomino View Post
    err what you mean?
    isolate the issue from anything internal...

    remember... anything in your home is not singtel's problem, anything outside is theirs...
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  17. #57
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Beside Fernando Torress
    Posts
    427

    Default Re: I sign up 10mbps but....

    Dam mio box auto restart.. wtf

  18. #58
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: I sign up 10mbps but....

    Quote Originally Posted by domdomino View Post
    Dam mio box auto restart.. wtf
    damdammio?
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  19. #59
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Beside Fernando Torress
    Posts
    427

    Default Re: I sign up 10mbps but....

    Quote Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt View Post
    damdammio?

  20. #60
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Upper Thomson, Singapore
    Posts
    153

    Default Re: I sign up 10mbps but....

    My 8MB Singnet line... staying Sin Ming. OK ma, not as good as office but respectable.




Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •