Thread: Using normal (digi)cameras Vs (D)SLR for photography

Default Using normal (digi)cameras Vs (D)SLR for photography

Do you get the kind of weird stares from people when you go around shooting with a digicam that isn't prosumer nor (D)SLR?

I guess when you shoot with a (D)SLR, the public kinda knowledge that you're probably a photographer by profession or someone who is a skilled photographer and would usually ignore you.

But when you shoot with a normal camera, do you feel kinda weird or out of place? Do you get stares of bewilderment? Or when you see people (not tourist) shooting with a normal digicam, do you think "what the hell is that guy doing with that toy?"?

IMHO, non-DSLR lookalike camera have the advantage of taking candid shots, since most people won't really give a damn, as they'd already dismiss you from being a serious photographer!

Actually, I think the most important thing when being a photographer(someone who takes photos, might not be pro ) is that u must have thick skin and ignore others who give u weird looks

Quote Originally Posted by tamade
    Do you get the kind of weird stares from people when you go around shooting with a digicam that isn't prosumer nor (D)SLR?

I guess when you shoot with a (D)SLR, the public kinda knowledge that you're probably a photographer by profession or someone who is a skilled photographer and would usually ignore you.

But when you shoot with a normal camera, do you feel kinda weird or out of place? Do you get stares of bewilderment? Or when you see people (not tourist) shooting with a normal digicam, do you think "what the hell is that guy doing with that toy?"?