Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Multiple Exposure in 1 frame

  1. #1

    Default Multiple Exposure in 1 frame

    I am just wondering whether is it possible to have multiple exposure in one frame without the use of Photoshop. As an example, I want to take 3 different posses of myself in one frame; hence, I'll see 3 of me in one frame.

    Can this be done? If yes, care to share?

  2. #2
    Member 9V-Orion Images's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Autenticate ALGRN @ 7987.8270
    Posts
    1,760

    Default Re: Multiple Exposure in 1 frame

    Quote Originally Posted by boinkboink View Post
    I am just wondering whether is it possible to have multiple exposure in one frame without the use of Photoshop. As an example, I want to take 3 different posses of myself in one frame; hence, I'll see 3 of me in one frame.

    Can this be done? If yes, care to share?
    Can, the cheapest option will be to use a Holga. It's medium format too.
    CS Aviation / Flickr
    Per aspera ad astra

  3. #3

    Default Re: Multiple Exposure in 1 frame

    Quote Originally Posted by boinkboink View Post
    I am just wondering whether is it possible to have multiple exposure in one frame without the use of Photoshop. As an example, I want to take 3 different posses of myself in one frame; hence, I'll see 3 of me in one frame.

    Can this be done? If yes, care to share?
    can, can try using "light painting" sort of method.

    find a dark room, set your camera on bulb mode,

    run to one part, get someone to flash you with sufficient power...

    run to another part, flash again

    run to third part, flash again. of course can..... but not easy.

  4. #4
    Member dingaroo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Singapore | East
    Posts
    1,950

    Default Re: Multiple Exposure in 1 frame

    Use Bulb mode and a black card.

    Like "Men who stares at goats" (@night86mare) said, you can use flash, or you can expose in Bulb mode, someone else covers lens with black card, you move to a different position, remove black card, expose you in a different pose/position, cover with black card again, you move, remove black card, expose, cover ... you get the hang of it?

    Once you are done, release the shutter so you'll complete the exposure. You would need a remote controller for this as well, to prevent holding on to the camera. Also, mount it on a tripod, so it's always in a fixed position.

    HTH.
    A picture a day keeps the blues away!

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    here
    Posts
    1,350

    Default Re: Multiple Exposure in 1 frame

    What kind of camera are you using?

    The D40 and D200 are capable of doing this through some settings in the menu. Can't remember exactly.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    East
    Posts
    293

    Default Re: Multiple Exposure in 1 frame

    Quote Originally Posted by boinkboink View Post
    I am just wondering whether is it possible to have multiple exposure in one frame without the use of Photoshop. As an example, I want to take 3 different posses of myself in one frame; hence, I'll see 3 of me in one frame.

    Can this be done? If yes, care to share?
    with SB800 or SB900, this can be done. Set the flash mode to RPT Mode (flash repeating mode), you program the Hz ( number of times flash fires per second) and Time ( number of times flash fires per frame), shutter speed is is determined by Time/Hz, determine your aperture with flash output level, focal length and Guide Number and there you go ....

  7. #7

    Default Re: Multiple Exposure in 1 frame

    i think its easier to just photoshop 3 of you into 1 pic =) cheers.

    there are many ways to do the same thing. yielding similar results.
    Flickr
    There's no present. There's only the immediate future and the recent past.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Upper Serangoon
    Posts
    1,187

    Default Re: Multiple Exposure in 1 frame

    Photoshop easiest imo... Unless you're a 'purist' :P

    Just take 3 shots at same settings (aperture, shutter, ISO, focal length)

    Open as layers in Photoshop.

    Mask yourself out from each layer and use the background from any layer.

    Its probably gonna be a 30 second job unless you have overlaps.

  9. #9
    Senior Member wildcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Bedok
    Posts
    3,268

    Default Re: Multiple Exposure in 1 frame

    Another addition is an ND filter (thanks to some of the above Pros for intro me to this).

    With ND filter, you can reduce the amount of light going into your camera, thus you can combine with the above methods especially if you need to reduce the amount of light going into your camera


  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    East
    Posts
    293

    Default Re: Multiple Exposure in 1 frame

    Quote Originally Posted by boinkboink View Post
    I am just wondering whether is it possible to have multiple exposure in one frame without the use of Photoshop. As an example, I want to take 3 different posses of myself in one frame; hence, I'll see 3 of me in one frame.

    Can this be done? If yes, care to share?
    with flash method, you get this ..
    http://www.slugsite.com/archives/971

    but if you are looking for this, use photoshop
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/tclement/43168136/

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Khatib, Singapore
    Posts
    68

    Default Re: Multiple Exposure in 1 frame

    Quote Originally Posted by boinkboink View Post
    I am just wondering whether is it possible to have multiple exposure in one frame without the use of Photoshop. As an example, I want to take 3 different posses of myself in one frame; hence, I'll see 3 of me in one frame.

    Can this be done? If yes, care to share?
    have not seen before in digital but there is a C.Fn for multi in my previous EOS 3 (film).

  12. #12

    Default Re: Multiple Exposure in 1 frame

    TS, there's this option call Multiple Exposure (for Nikon users) under shooting menu, you just need to set how many exposures to compose a frame.

    For further information, please visit here (done using D90, but similar concept).
    Last edited by szeping; 26th March 2010 at 11:10 AM.
    思斌的部落格 - szeping.com
    Wedding/Event Photography - 10eyesGallery.com

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: Multiple Exposure in 1 frame

    iirc, there is this function in LX-3 as well.
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •