Thread: newbie

Default newbie

i am a newbie.. still in a jc... joined e photographic society..

i planning to get a digital camera.. budget shld be ard $300 to $400

wat cameras are there in e market? i am planning to use e camera only for casual outings, etc. and yes, also to take pics of fishes i hav at hm...

any ideas? thks..

(sorry if i posted in e wrong forum, still nt quite familiar with this site...)

Hello, hello... Welcome to Clubsnap.
    I think you might be looking at prosumer digicams with 3.0 megapixels.

Hmm.. I can't help you here because I'm more on the film camera side.

Anyway, welcome again!

Quote Originally Posted by Poledra
    Hello, hello... Welcome to Clubsnap.
    I think you might be looking at prosumer digicams with 3.0 megapixels.

Hmm.. I can't help you here because I'm more on the film camera side.

Anyway, welcome again!
    wat are prosumer digicams?

anyway, can anyone explain wat is megepixels and how it affects my photos?

also, wat is optical zoom?

just realized that there is a newbie forum... i suppose its ok to leave this post here it is shifted by e mods?

you joined a photographic society... maybe consider an film slr.

Quote Originally Posted by zekai
    you joined a photographic society... maybe consider an film slr.
    Kinda agree with zekai on that. You don't really learn much on a consumer or prosumer digital camera. And frankly, on that budget, most probably you would only get a consumer digicam first-hand, or maybe even a prosumer range second-hand. Note that while cameras like Canon A70 which are considered decent consumer digicam at less than $500, the manual controls setup could be a real horrid. Also, some may just be contended with looking through the LCD screen to take picture, which isn't necessarily be good, since minute details could not be displayed (e.g. Effects of circular polariser filter don't necessarily show out on the screen).