Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 100

Thread: Do you own a powerful computer?

  1. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pro Image
    Eh how's the performance on your ATI 9600XT? Is it original ATI or other brands? I guess it should be able to play all games currently in the market. Did you OC your card at all? Want to get one but not sure how's the performance. Now only have Nvidia GF4 MX420......
    I have tried Gecube, Sapphire and Powercolour 9600XT

    IMO, Sapphire display is sharpest on my 20" LCD, next is Gecube and powercolour is the worst

    but in the end i got Gecube because Sapphire got no stock

    never get the 256MB version, because no game can take advantage of that, 128MB good enough. and may be pay a bit more for faster memory chip, like 2.8ns or 2.5ns if u want to overclock.

    Gecube heatsink is quite good too, Sapphire one a bit small, but good enough lar

  2. #22

    Default

    Intel 2.40GHz
    2GB RAM
    2x120GB harddisk
    Broadband

    Nikon D100

  3. #23
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    6,601

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wai
    I have tried Gecube, Sapphire and Powercolour 9600XT
    wah.... what things are these?

  4. #24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pro Image
    Eh how's the performance on your ATI 9600XT? Is it original ATI or other brands? I guess it should be able to play all games currently in the market. Did you OC your card at all? Want to get one but not sure how's the performance. Now only have Nvidia GF4 MX420......

    Mine is the MediaMax one.. Get the Gexcube as it has the largest HSF and comes with Ram sinks! As for performance, it plays games (3d) and movies (divx) very well. No regrets buying it!

  5. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Last planet from the sun
    Posts
    2,822

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tokrot
    Mine is the MediaMax one.. Get the Gexcube as it has the largest HSF and comes with Ram sinks! As for performance, it plays games (3d) and movies (divx) very well. No regrets buying it!
    Thanks a million. Think I will get that this weekend. Anyone knows what's the latest price for the Gexcube 9600XT at the moment?

    Thanks in advance!

  6. #26

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zaxh81

    NIKON 3700@4300 (J/K)

    If you can do that, I take my hat off you..

  7. #27
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Last planet from the sun
    Posts
    2,822

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wai
    I have tried Gecube, Sapphire and Powercolour 9600XT

    IMO, Sapphire display is sharpest on my 20" LCD, next is Gecube and powercolour is the worst

    but in the end i got Gecube because Sapphire got no stock

    never get the 256MB version, because no game can take advantage of that, 128MB good enough. and may be pay a bit more for faster memory chip, like 2.8ns or 2.5ns if u want to overclock.

    Gecube heatsink is quite good too, Sapphire one a bit small, but good enough lar
    Thanks Wai! How much you paid for your Gecube? What's the price diff between a 256MB and the 128MB?

  8. #28
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tokrot
    Mine is the MediaMax one.. Get the Gexcube as it has the largest HSF and comes with Ram sinks! As for performance, it plays games (3d) and movies (divx) very well. No regrets buying it!
    the ram sink not very useful...but better than nothing lar

    price is $290+

    get the Sapphire lar...the image is slightly sharper

  9. #29

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pro Image
    Thanks a million. Think I will get that this weekend. Anyone knows what's the latest price for the Gexcube 9600XT at the moment?

    Thanks in advance!
    Should be <$300.

  10. #30
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pro Image
    Thanks Wai! How much you paid for your Gecube? What's the price diff between a 256MB and the 128MB?
    256MB use very slow ram, 3.5 or 4ns (cannot remember liao)

    while the 128MB uses the more expensive BGA DDR (square shape) and they are rated 2.8ns or 2.5ns (extreme edition)

    that's why the price for 256 and 128 is about the same, get the 2.8ns if u dun need overclock lor

  11. #31
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Last planet from the sun
    Posts
    2,822

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wai
    the ram sink not very useful...but better than nothing lar

    price is $290+

    get the Sapphire lar...the image is slightly sharper
    YES MAJOR WAI! Will dig into my account and sacrifice........

  12. #32

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wai
    256MB use very slow ram, 3.5 or 4ns (cannot remember liao)

    while the 128MB uses the more expensive BGA DDR (square shape) and they are rated 2.8ns or 2.5ns (extreme edition)

    that's why the price for 256 and 128 is about the same, get the 2.8ns if u dun need overclock lor
    You did the homework!! Same as me... No point getting 256mb if you are playing games. Marketing Gimmick only IMHO.

  13. #33
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Last planet from the sun
    Posts
    2,822

    Default

    tokrot and wai,

    sorry another question. where on earth to get RD-RAMs. Yes, Yes, my P4 850E MB uses the most ex rams in the market. I have 768MB at the moment and I have to buy in pairs. Just wondering if anywhere or anyone selling a pair of 512MB RD-RAMs?

    Why I need it? Well of course faster application. Sometimes it slows down when I do multiple images on PS. Anyway to overcome this?

    Thanks in advance.

  14. #34
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    6,601

    Default

    everyone siam my question one...

    but all talking about display cards, right?

    i don't play games, what kind of performance differences can i expect btw them and my millenium g400 max?

  15. #35
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Last planet from the sun
    Posts
    2,822

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sehsuan
    everyone siam my question one...

    but all talking about display cards, right?

    i don't play games, what kind of performance differences can i expect btw them and my millenium g400 max?
    maybe no one knows?

  16. #36
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    6,601

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pro Image
    maybe no one knows?
    WAI!!! remember your old card you used to have?

  17. #37
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Last planet from the sun
    Posts
    2,822

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sehsuan
    WAI!!! remember your old card you used to have?
    hehe! of course I know lah! just joking only......

    to me I think in terms on performance and speed between the GF440 and the 9600XT is way way apart.

    when playing those hardcore games like Splinter Cell and UT 2003, you will find smoother graphics. The probabilty rate of hang on games depends on your config of your computer as well.

    As for mine, I use 768MB RD-RAMs P4 2.4GHz which is fast for some applications but not super fast. AMD 64 3400, now that is super fast! It's the cards that helps as well when you play games which need loads of memory.

    And of course a good HDD too. Now the newer MB which uses SATA cables ( I think they are faster right? Correct me if I am really wrong) which is smaller and faster.

    So graphics cards really do give a smoother graphics and sharper images compare to my old junk.

  18. #38
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sehsuan
    everyone siam my question one...

    but all talking about display cards, right?

    i don't play games, what kind of performance differences can i expect btw them and my millenium g400 max?
    keep your G400MAX if u dun play those latest 3D games

    anyway, i still can play CS at 99fps with G400

    matrox colour and sharpness beat any of those nvidia or radeon card, esp when i use 21" CRT last time, can really tell the different at 1600x1200.

    But i sold mine because i need a DVI for LCD, and G550 is too expensive and i need a gaming card to do testing too

    unless one day if u are upgrading your motherboard and that motherboard only accept AGP8x card, then u will have no choice but to upgrade the graphic card too
    Last edited by Wai; 24th March 2004 at 02:13 AM.

  19. #39
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Behind the viewfinder...
    Posts
    5,851

    Default

    wah say.. damn chim for me... you people talking simi??

    looks like my com is in serious need for an upgrade

  20. #40
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Last planet from the sun
    Posts
    2,822

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SniperD
    wah say.. damn chim for me... you people talking simi??

    looks like my com is in serious need for an upgrade
    sure or not you dun know meh? so how old is your computer?

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •