Thread: cheaper alternative to zoom lens?

Default cheaper alternative to zoom lens?

hi! all. was just wondering if theres a cheaper alternative than investing in a zoom lens. just curious as i'm very new to dslr.

Default Re: cheaper alternative to zoom lens?

no. Prime lens are more ex. If you are new to dslr, use your current kit lens and test out the range. There will be a range that you always use. Example you have a lens that gives you 18-55. And for most of your shots you use 35mm range. Maybe you can consider buying a 35mm lens next time. But of cuz it will be much more expensive. Use your gears, and explore their limitations then expand your gears along the way. There is no cheaper way to get the range you want using prime lens setup. If you want a good zoom range you can use a travel lens. 18-200. Is light, easy to use and you dont need to change lens when you travel. Cheaper then you buying the whole lens range. always think of what you need and what you want. Get what you need first. Wanting an item is ok if you have the extra cash. cheers
    Nikon D3s , 300s 24 - 70 70 -200 14 -24 35 SB900 SB910
    Jump Ship from canon to Nikon

depending on the situation, there is a free alternative. Simply get closer to the subject.
    You wont see me much less remember me but i am the guy who makes you look good.

yes, zoom with your leg

how about putting a magnifying galss in front of the lens? that would be cheap!!!!!!
    7D w/ 70-300mm/50mm1.8/70-200F4L/17-50mm F2.8

Quote Originally Posted by jed091270 View Post
    how about putting a magnifying galss in front of the lens? that would be cheap!!!!!!
    That will be macro shooting
    Take the shot!

You can buy good manual focus zoom for peanuts.
    Home is where the heart is.

Quote Originally Posted by jed091270 View Post
    Excuse me?

Swarovski Magnifying Glass
    CS Aviation / Flickr
    Per aspera ad astra

Usually the zoom kit lens by individual camera company is relatively cheap..