Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: pardon my ignorance, why need to trigger speedlight remotely?

  1. #1

    Default pardon my ignorance, why need to trigger speedlight remotely?

    saw some people holding a speedlight instead of mounting on their dslr
    what is the reason behind that?

  2. #2
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: pardon my ignorance, why need to trigger speedlight remotely?

    Quote Originally Posted by lamberry View Post
    saw some people holding a speedlight instead of mounting on their dslr
    what is the reason behind that?
    It is all about controlling the light. Light from different angles will give different effect.

    Also if the lens is super long, mounting the flash on the hotshoe may cause the lens to cast a shadow.

    If you want to know more, you should read this:

    http://www.f1point0.com/2008/11/23/t...-camera-flash/
    Last edited by daredevil123; 14th March 2010 at 12:18 PM.

  3. #3
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,901

    Default Re: pardon my ignorance, why need to trigger speedlight remotely?

    Quote Originally Posted by lamberry View Post
    saw some people holding a speedlight instead of mounting on their dslr
    what is the reason behind that?
    to give more 3D lighting.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  4. #4

    Default Re: pardon my ignorance, why need to trigger speedlight remotely?

    extra lightings. from different angles to light the object up the way the photographer wants.

    Similar to studio shooting i guess
    I love Tamron.

  5. #5

    Default Re: pardon my ignorance, why need to trigger speedlight remotely?

    No everything must be mounted on your camera especially for Speedlights. In fact if you have 2 you can play with one approx 45 degrees away from the subject and then use the other one to blow out the background for those high key shoots for example.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Numnumball's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Central
    Posts
    13,914

    Default Re: pardon my ignorance, why need to trigger speedlight remotely?

    Quote Originally Posted by lamberry View Post
    saw some people holding a speedlight instead of mounting on their dslr
    what is the reason behind that?
    Directional/Additional ligthing, give a pleasant 3D diffused effect if used correctly
    I turned PRO in diaper chg!
    My Flickr|My Son

  7. #7

    Default Re: pardon my ignorance, why need to trigger speedlight remotely?

    Quote Originally Posted by daredevil123 View Post
    It is all about controlling the light. Light from different angles will give different effect.

    Also if the lens is super long, mounting the flash on the hotshoe may cause the lens to cast a shadow.

    If you want to know more, you should read this:

    http://www.f1point0.com/2008/11/23/t...-camera-flash/
    great link frm daredevil123. thanks bro.. this link allow me understand manual flash by 1 more step :b trying to play with remote flash

  8. #8
    Member lonarciso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    226

    Thumbs up Re: pardon my ignorance, why need to trigger speedlight remotely?

    nice tips... thanks for sharing!

  9. #9

    Default Re: pardon my ignorance, why need to trigger speedlight remotely?

    Look pro

  10. #10

    Default Re: pardon my ignorance, why need to trigger speedlight remotely?

    Sometimes you want to lit the subject from other angle instead of just from the angle ur camera is shooting..

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •