Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Help! Lightroom says catalog being used but it's not.

  1. #1
    Member lamergod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Fratton Park, Portsmouth
    Posts
    1,511

    Default Help! Lightroom says catalog being used but it's not.

    Today, my laptop have some connection issues with the power supply wire, it keeps dropping. When I was uploading some pictures, it fell off, so I restarted, then when it restarted, it shows
    " The lightroom catalog name Lightroom 2 catalog cannot be opened because another application already has it opened. There is nothing open, I checked my task manager nothing applications was running. Any idea why is it like that? I tried googling it but nothing of this sort came out.

    TIA

  2. #2
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,390

    Default Re: Help! Lightroom says catalog being used but it's not.

    Many programs set a mark to avoid that a second instance of the same program causes inconsistent data. With databases (LR uses a small flat file database as backend) it's even more important. LR uses a lock file to indicate that one program instance is already running.
    In your catalog directory there is a file called [name].lrcat.lock. Every time LR starts the lock file is created and it's deleted again when LR is closed properly. Due to your unclean restart the lock file still exists. Delete it and restart LR, that's it.
    EOS

  3. #3
    Member lamergod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Fratton Park, Portsmouth
    Posts
    1,511

    Default Re: Help! Lightroom says catalog being used but it's not.

    Quote Originally Posted by Octarine View Post
    Many programs set a mark to avoid that a second instance of the same program causes inconsistent data. With databases (LR uses a small flat file database as backend) it's even more important. LR uses a lock file to indicate that one program instance is already running.
    In your catalog directory there is a file called [name].lrcat.lock. Every time LR starts the lock file is created and it's deleted again when LR is closed properly. Due to your unclean restart the lock file still exists. Delete it and restart LR, that's it.

    I love you! I was struggling with Bridges and CS4! Hug you many many times!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •