Thread: Hello! sorta new here and have some queries

Default Hello! sorta new here and have some queries

heyy! i set up this account like ages ago, but never got down to actually using this. I am still a newbie when it comes to photography and i only own a point & shoot camera. (:

i notice that when i take photos in places whereby the lighting condition is not all that great but yet not that dark and dim either, my photos always turn out to be are rather grainy/ noisy. but when I use the flash on the point and shoot the colours are not great and are either over exposed. so i was wondering, if there is anyway i can get a not so overexposed photo and yet not so grainy. (:

plus, is there any make shift lighting that i can use to help the lighting conditions cos i dont think i would be able to get a DSLR or the other equipments anytime soon. ):

Thanks in advance! much appreciated!

Default Re: Hello! sorta new here and have some queries

A lot depends on what you're shooting. If you could post a sample photo, it would be easier to offer advice.
    But the basics are:
    - if you are shooting in low light, and set your compact to full auto, it's probably going to set a high ISO setting, which results in grainy images
    - in that situation, if you're shooting static objects (buildings at night), you might want to take some control back and set a lower ISO. This will result in a slow shutter speed, so you need to stabilise your camera for the exposure. A tripod is ideal, or a stable surface (make sure you camera won't slide or fall off!). Use the self-timer to shoot, to avoid vibrations from you pressing the shutter release.
    - if you're shooting people or anything that moves, you're probably going to need the flash. Not sure why your shots are overexposed -- could be the subject is too close to the camera (a small piece of tissue can lower the flash power), or the metering is being 'fooled' by a large dark background.