Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: INfocus RED DOT

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,056

    Default INfocus RED DOT

    Dear bros...

    Sorry to ask another 2 question, when using my previous K200D.

    1. When point to a subject and it been focused, there is a red dot in the centre of the box when looking into the view finder for K200 but Kx do not have it, only beep sound. Is this normal or can be set?

    2. The green button can determine setting for speed and apeature then auto adjust for use but on Kx, I press the green button...nothing happen. There is no auto detect of current setting advise indication for both speed and apeture?

    Anyone have these before, please tell me
    Thankyou.
    Enjoy your every moment with our nature and friends

  2. #2

    Default Re: INfocus RED DOT

    Quote Originally Posted by stanycjw View Post
    Dear bros...

    Sorry to ask another 2 question, when using my previous K200D.

    1. When point to a subject and it been focused, there is a red dot in the centre of the box when looking into the view finder for K200 but Kx do not have it, only beep sound. Is this normal or can be set?

    Anyone have these before, please tell me
    Thankyou.
    The entry level k-x does not have the red dot feature to cut cost. You can see where the focus point is on the LCD display but I prefer to set to centre focussing to make things easier.

    PENTAXKR,18250,18135,35,40,70,600,AF360
    SONYA6000,1650,1855,18200,5018,3028,16,RX100M3

  3. #3
    Senior Member darrrrrrrrrr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,208

    Default Re: INfocus RED DOT

    Quote Originally Posted by stanycjw View Post
    Dear bros...

    Sorry to ask another 2 question, when using my previous K200D.

    1. When point to a subject and it been focused, there is a red dot in the centre of the box when looking into the view finder for K200 but Kx do not have it, only beep sound. Is this normal or can be set?

    2. The green button can determine setting for speed and apeature then auto adjust for use but on Kx, I press the green button...nothing happen. There is no auto detect of current setting advise indication for both speed and apeture?

    Anyone have these before, please tell me
    Thankyou.
    1. The red dot does not indicate that the subject is in focus! It only tells you the selected AF point, which the K-x does not have. You will have to look at the back LCD to see which AF point you have selected. The green hexagon on the bottom and the beep is what indicates correct focus.

    2. Are you talking about in manual mode? I think somewhere there is a setting, I changed mine to Tv shift in M mode, so I set the aperture and when I press the green button the camera sets the appropriate metered shutter speed.

  4. #4

    Default Re: INfocus RED DOT

    how come people never read online about this before they buy the camera...

    k-x doesn't have af dots.....

  5. #5

    Default Re: INfocus RED DOT

    Quote Originally Posted by stanycjw View Post
    2. The green button can determine setting for speed and apeature then auto adjust for use but on Kx, I press the green button...nothing happen. There is no auto detect of current setting advise indication for both speed and apeture?
    like darren asked, what camera mode are you in?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,056

    Default Re: INfocus RED DOT

    Quote Originally Posted by darrrrrrrrrr View Post
    1. The red dot does not indicate that the subject is in focus! It only tells you the selected AF point, which the K-x does not have. You will have to look at the back LCD to see which AF point you have selected. The green hexagon on the bottom and the beep is what indicates correct focus.

    2. Are you talking about in manual mode? I think somewhere there is a setting, I changed mine to Tv shift in M mode, so I set the aperture and when I press the green button the camera sets the appropriate metered shutter speed.
    Thanks Bros!
    Yes alway using Manual mode. Thanks, I'm done with it.
    Thanks again
    Enjoy your every moment with our nature and friends

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,056

    Default Re: INfocus RED DOT

    Quote Originally Posted by airconvent View Post
    The entry level k-x does not have the red dot feature to cut cost. You can see where the focus point is on the LCD display but I prefer to set to centre focussing to make things easier.

    Thanks and understood. I used to be with Canon and K200.
    OK Thanks I just set mine to SPOT meter

    Cheers!!!
    Enjoy your every moment with our nature and friends

  8. #8
    Senior Member darrrrrrrrrr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,208

    Default Re: INfocus RED DOT

    Quote Originally Posted by stanycjw View Post
    Thanks and understood. I used to be with Canon and K200.
    OK Thanks I just set mine to SPOT meter

    Cheers!!!
    Spot meter or centre focus point? Very different lei

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2,056

    Default Re: INfocus RED DOT

    Quote Originally Posted by darrrrrrrrrr View Post
    Spot meter or centre focus point? Very different lei
    Opp!!!!
    Need to double check the manual and the reconfirm. But now 0104hrs....sleepy liao.

    Cannot find then ask you again if U dont mine.
    Enjoy your every moment with our nature and friends

  10. #10
    Member reyreina's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Singapore, Boon Lay
    Posts
    433

    Default Re: INfocus RED DOT

    Quote Originally Posted by stanycjw View Post
    Opp!!!!
    Need to double check the manual and the reconfirm. But now 0104hrs....sleepy liao.

    Cannot find then ask you again if U dont mine.
    We don't mind you are truly tired. Anyway, just in case you need the full usage of the green dot, sticky-ed at PF beginner's corner

    http://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/p...en-button.html

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •