Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: using ND Filter

  1. #1

    Default using ND Filter

    Hi,

    In order to syn the flash and use a bigger aperture on bright backgnd,
    is it a feasible idea to use ND filter ?

    Tks

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Upper Serangoon
    Posts
    1,187

    Default Re: using ND Filter

    Yes and its quite a common solution as well. Depending on whether you're using the flash as a fill flash for your subject, your background may be underexposed.

    Your other option is high speed sync.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    the blue planet
    Posts
    610

    Default Re: using ND Filter

    Quote Originally Posted by redwine View Post
    Hi,

    In order to syn the flash and use a bigger aperture on bright backgnd,
    is it a feasible idea to use ND filter ?

    Tks
    why not.. a CPL can also do it

  4. #4

    Default Re: using ND Filter

    Thanks Guys ...i suppose

    Btw,
    For taking slow shots of waterfall etc on bright day,
    is ND8 or ND400 is more suitable ?

    I suppose ND8=3 stop and ND400=9 stop.
    Pls correct me if wrong.

    Thanks.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Upper Serangoon
    Posts
    1,187

    Default Re: using ND Filter

    Quote Originally Posted by redwine View Post
    Thanks Guys ...i suppose

    Btw,
    For taking slow shots of waterfall etc on bright day,
    is ND8 or ND400 is more suitable ?

    I suppose ND8=3 stop and ND400=9 stop.
    Pls correct me if wrong.

    Thanks.
    ND400 is actually around 8.6~8.7 stops, but 9 stop is close enough I suppose.

    To get the approximate shutter time, just take X from NDX and multiply your shutter time. For example, a 1/200s shot will take 1/200 * 400 = 2s with a ND400 on. That sounds about right to smooth a waterfall. On the other hand, 1/200 * 8 is not quite enough

  6. #6

    Default Re: using ND Filter

    Quote Originally Posted by sabee View Post
    ND400 is actually around 8.6~8.7 stops, but 9 stop is close enough I suppose.

    To get the approximate shutter time, just take X from NDX and multiply your shutter time. For example, a 1/200s shot will take 1/200 * 400 = 2s with a ND400 on. That sounds about right to smooth a waterfall. On the other hand, 1/200 * 8 is not quite enough
    Thanks Sabee, great tips.

  7. #7

    Default Re: using ND Filter

    Hi,

    2 more questions,

    how many stop is ND110 filter ?
    Is it necessary to pre-focus before putting on the ND filter such as ND400 ?


    Thanks

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Upper Serangoon
    Posts
    1,187

    Default Re: using ND Filter

    Quote Originally Posted by redwine View Post
    Hi,

    2 more questions,

    how many stop is ND110 filter ?
    Is it necessary to pre-focus before putting on the ND filter such as ND400 ?


    Thanks
    Yes, you should pre-focus before using high stop ND filters. Generally for landscape, using the hyperfocal length suffices: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hyperfocal_distance

    The B+W 110 is not actually ND110, its more like ND1000 (10 stop). 110 is just some model number B+W uses.
    Last edited by sabee; 5th March 2010 at 03:14 PM.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Numnumball's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Central
    Posts
    13,914

    Default Re: using ND Filter

    Quote Originally Posted by redwine View Post
    Hi,

    2 more questions,

    how many stop is ND110 filter ?
    Is it necessary to pre-focus before putting on the ND filter such as ND400 ?


    Thanks
    Yes, u have to..i barely see **** when i put on my ND400, much less to compose and prefocus..
    I turned PRO in diaper chg!
    My Flickr|My Son

  10. #10

    Default Re: using ND Filter

    Thanks Sabee & Numnumball,

    That's clear
    Guess i will need a ND8 & ND400.

  11. #11

    Default Re: using ND Filter

    Quote Originally Posted by redwine View Post
    Hi,

    2 more questions,

    how many stop is ND110 filter ?
    Is it necessary to pre-focus before putting on the ND filter such as ND400 ?


    Thanks
    stated 10, but actually i think closer to 10.5-11.

    anyways, yes, your camera cannot AF also.

  12. #12
    Senior Member wildcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Bedok
    Posts
    3,268

    Default Re: using ND Filter

    Quote Originally Posted by redwine View Post
    Hi,

    2 more questions,

    how many stop is ND110 filter ?
    Is it necessary to pre-focus before putting on the ND filter such as ND400 ?


    Thanks
    Supposed to be 10 stops. It doesn't use the standard naming convention naming but makes it easier to count the stops. Just subtract 100.

    B+W's ND 103 is 3 stops, ND 104 is 4 stops, ND 110 is 10 stops.

    I prefer the standard way, i.e. ND8 is 8 attenuation factor (3 stops). That way I can use time multiplier. If a normal photo without ND will take in 1sec, then with the ND8 it should be exposed for 8 secs (1x8secs). Thus for ND400, for what would be a 1sec shot, with the ND, it would be 1secx400 = 400sec = 6mins 40secs.

  13. #13

    Default Re: using ND Filter

    Thanks for the info

    Btw,
    Beside 77mm, is there any 82mm ND400 filters ?
    I just want to buy the biggest and use step-up ring,
    dont want to end up with multiple sizes.

    Tks.

  14. #14
    Senior Member wildcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Bedok
    Posts
    3,268

    Default Re: using ND Filter

    http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=84

    82mm err... what lens you using arh?

  15. #15

    Default Re: using ND Filter

    Quote Originally Posted by wildcat View Post
    http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=84

    82mm err... what lens you using arh?
    maybe he's planning for the sigma 8-16, which is SUPPOSED to be 82mm filter size, though i can't see how.

  16. #16

    Default Re: using ND Filter

    8-16mm surely sounds very appetizing


    Not sure anyone done this,
    If you have a 82mm and caught in a situation where you only have a 82-77 stepdown + filter,
    how much would you lost when you crop off the vignette ?
    Easily 20% i guess.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •