Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 27

Thread: computer specs help

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    493

    Default computer specs help

    hi all,

    i just saw the other thread about building own PC and I remembered I could ask here about mine also so thanks Benji77 for the idea haha

    well, here are my specs

    Intel original BOXDH55TC i5-750 2.66 8mb
    corsair 2gb ddr3 133 c9 (x2)
    Sapphire ATI HD 5750 Vapor-X 1GB
    Seagate 500GB 7200.12 / 16MB
    LG 22X SATA SuperMulti (dvd/cd)
    CoolerMaster Elite RC310/330/331/332/333/334/335 (chasis)
    Asus P-50GA 500W Real 5yrs (power)
    MS Windows7 Home Premium oem
    Dlink DGE-530T (wireless card)
    CoolerMaster HyperTX2 / TX3

    what do you guys think?

  2. #2

    Default Re: computer specs help

    Quote Originally Posted by Grey Knight View Post
    hi all,

    i just saw the other thread about building own PC and I remembered I could ask here about mine also so thanks Benji77 for the idea haha

    well, here are my specs

    Intel original BOXDH55TC i5-750 2.66 8mb
    corsair 2gb ddr3 133 c9 (x2)
    Sapphire ATI HD 5750 Vapor-X 1GB
    Seagate 500GB 7200.12 / 16MB
    LG 22X SATA SuperMulti (dvd/cd)
    CoolerMaster Elite RC310/330/331/332/333/334/335 (chasis)
    Asus P-50GA 500W Real 5yrs (power)
    MS Windows7 Home Premium oem
    Dlink DGE-530T (wireless card)
    CoolerMaster HyperTX2 / TX3

    what do you guys think?
    Using it for? And your budget?
    P e r s p e c t i v e

  3. #3
    Senior Member wildcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Bedok
    Posts
    3,268

    Default Re: computer specs help

    Quote Originally Posted by Grey Knight View Post
    corsair 2gb ddr3 133 c9 (x2)

    what do you guys think?
    Been two years since I last upgraded so a bit rusty, but I thought DDR3 comes in sets of three. Also, have no idea what to comment on your RAM but things I will look out for is latency in addition to bandwidth speed, both of which are missing from your info.

  4. #4

    Default Re: computer specs help

    Quote Originally Posted by wildcat View Post
    Been two years since I last upgraded so a bit rusty, but I thought DDR3 comes in sets of three. Also, have no idea what to comment on your RAM but things I will look out for is latency in addition to bandwidth speed, both of which are missing from your info.
    DDR3 comes in single channel, dual channel or triple channel. will have to use it along with a motherboard that's able to support the channels.

    bandwidth speed is the 1333 or the Mhz? if it's the Mhz then it's about 667.

    he did put the latency, it's the c9

  5. #5

    Default Re: computer specs help

    Quote Originally Posted by Grey Knight View Post
    hi all,

    i just saw the other thread about building own PC and I remembered I could ask here about mine also so thanks Benji77 for the idea haha

    well, here are my specs

    Intel original BOXDH55TC i5-750 2.66 8mb
    corsair 2gb ddr3 133 c9 (x2)
    Sapphire ATI HD 5750 Vapor-X 1GB
    Seagate 500GB 7200.12 / 16MB
    LG 22X SATA SuperMulti (dvd/cd)
    CoolerMaster Elite RC310/330/331/332/333/334/335 (chasis)
    Asus P-50GA 500W Real 5yrs (power)
    MS Windows7 Home Premium oem
    Dlink DGE-530T (wireless card)
    CoolerMaster HyperTX2 / TX3

    what do you guys think?
    you wanna pak game one is it? if not can save on the graphics card lah.

    "Intel original BOXDH55TC" is the mobo is it? if not then wat mobo u using?

    i use AMD most of the time, gd and cheap, recently AMD got a few models that are unlockable, that means it's retailed as dual core (@dual core prices too) but it's able to unlock 2 more cores and run as quad core.

    if u want 2 sticks of ram, i suggest you get dual channel kits, can overclock somemore. a side note abt the CL thou, 9 is very high liao, will be slow.

    samsung HDD got one model tht's pretty gd but not sure got 500GB or not, i'm using the 1 TB myself

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    493

    Default Re: computer specs help

    Quote Originally Posted by Yoh View Post
    Using it for? And your budget?
    gaming and work hahaha

    Quote Originally Posted by wildcat View Post
    Been two years since I last upgraded so a bit rusty, but I thought DDR3 comes in sets of three. Also, have no idea what to comment on your RAM but things I will look out for is latency in addition to bandwidth speed, both of which are missing from your info.
    I have no idea at all. just began research not long ago only haha as for the sets of 3, I got the idea from http://www.cybermind.com.sg/images/s...-diy-page2.pdf 'cos they are offering the ram at discounted price with the motherboard and cpu



    Quote Originally Posted by ahming111 View Post
    you wanna pak game one is it? if not can save on the graphics card lah.

    "Intel original BOXDH55TC" is the mobo is it? if not then wat mobo u using?

    i use AMD most of the time, gd and cheap, recently AMD got a few models that are unlockable, that means it's retailed as dual core (@dual core prices too) but it's able to unlock 2 more cores and run as quad core.

    if u want 2 sticks of ram, i suggest you get dual channel kits, can overclock somemore. a side note abt the CL thou, 9 is very high liao, will be slow.

    samsung HDD got one model tht's pretty gd but not sure got 500GB or not, i'm using the 1 TB myself
    yeah wah to pak game 1
    yeap thats the mobo. but I'll probably be changing to the Gigabyte P55M-UD2.
    I heard that that 1 can overclock the i5-750 to 4.0 ghz imba

    how to see if its dual channel kit?
    what you mean by the CL9 is very high, will be slow?
    sorry, abit computer idiot just starting to learn only

    thanks again

    edit: oh yeah I'm seeing all the stuff from cybermind.com

    links:

    http://www.cybermind.com.sg/images/s...-diy-page1.pdf

    http://www.cybermind.com.sg/images/s...-diy-page3.pdf

    http://www.cybermind.com.sg/images/s...-diy-page2.pdf (motherboard, cpu n ram)
    Last edited by Grey Knight; 23rd February 2010 at 10:01 AM.

  7. #7

    Default Re: computer specs help

    Quote Originally Posted by Grey Knight View Post
    gaming and work hahaha



    I have no idea at all. just began research not long ago only haha as for the sets of 3, I got the idea from http://www.cybermind.com.sg/images/s...-diy-page2.pdf 'cos they are offering the ram at discounted price with the motherboard and cpu





    yeah wah to pak game 1
    yeap thats the mobo. but I'll probably be changing to the Gigabyte P55M-UD2.
    I heard that that 1 can overclock the i5-750 to 4.0 ghz imba

    how to see if its dual channel kit?
    what you mean by the CL9 is very high, will be slow?
    sorry, abit computer idiot just starting to learn only

    thanks again

    edit: oh yeah I'm seeing all the stuff from cybermind.com

    links:

    http://www.cybermind.com.sg/images/s...-diy-page1.pdf

    http://www.cybermind.com.sg/images/s...-diy-page3.pdf

    http://www.cybermind.com.sg/images/s...-diy-page2.pdf (motherboard, cpu n ram)
    how well the overclocking is depends on the processor chip actually, fast but unstable also no use mah

    u jus ask the sales person abt the ram. in general, dual channel comes as twin ram stick packs, same for triple channel (3 sticks). single channel would be only 1 stick lor. the packaging also will write one. the lower the CL number, the faster the ram "exchanges" data with the system. if wanna pak game u can get team xtreem 1600 4GB, abt $179.

    u can try this shop call pc theme. i buy my parts there except for my cpu and mobo which is from video pro cause they promo tht time and their amd chip got the one tht can unlock to quad core.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    493

    Default Re: computer specs help

    Quote Originally Posted by ahming111 View Post
    how well the overclocking is depends on the processor chip actually, fast but unstable also no use mah

    u jus ask the sales person abt the ram. in general, dual channel comes as twin ram stick packs, same for triple channel (3 sticks). single channel would be only 1 stick lor. the packaging also will write one. the lower the CL number, the faster the ram "exchanges" data with the system. if wanna pak game u can get team xtreem 1600 4GB, abt $179.

    u can try this shop call pc theme. i buy my parts there except for my cpu and mobo which is from video pro cause they promo tht time and their amd chip got the one tht can unlock to quad core.
    ahh thanks! now I understand haha

    all these shops are in SLS?

  9. #9

    Default Re: computer specs help

    Quote Originally Posted by Grey Knight View Post
    gaming and work hahaha



    I have no idea at all. just began research not long ago only haha as for the sets of 3, I got the idea from http://www.cybermind.com.sg/images/s...-diy-page2.pdf 'cos they are offering the ram at discounted price with the motherboard and cpu





    yeah wah to pak game 1
    yeap thats the mobo. but I'll probably be changing to the Gigabyte P55M-UD2.
    I heard that that 1 can overclock the i5-750 to 4.0 ghz imba

    how to see if its dual channel kit?
    what you mean by the CL9 is very high, will be slow?
    sorry, abit computer idiot just starting to learn only

    thanks again

    edit: oh yeah I'm seeing all the stuff from cybermind.com

    links:

    http://www.cybermind.com.sg/images/s...-diy-page1.pdf

    http://www.cybermind.com.sg/images/s...-diy-page3.pdf

    http://www.cybermind.com.sg/images/s...-diy-page2.pdf (motherboard, cpu n ram)
    One advise for you, visit other shops instead unless you have tones of cash to spare.
    P e r s p e c t i v e

  10. #10

    Default Re: computer specs help

    Quote Originally Posted by ahming111 View Post
    i use AMD most of the time, gd and cheap, recently AMD got a few models that are unlockable, that means it's retailed as dual core (@dual core prices too) but it's able to unlock 2 more cores and run as quad core.
    Most of the processors that have specific cores locked are due to stability issue and any attempt to unlock 'em might occur undesirable issue.

    While the option is there for anyone that's willing to try, it shouldn't be taken as an alternative to so-called cheaper Quad-Core solution.
    P e r s p e c t i v e

  11. #11

    Default Re: computer specs help

    Quote Originally Posted by Grey Knight View Post
    ahh thanks! now I understand haha

    all these shops are in SLS?
    yap 10char

  12. #12

    Default Re: computer specs help

    Quote Originally Posted by Yoh View Post
    Most of the processors that have specific cores locked are due to stability issue and any attempt to unlock 'em might occur undesirable issue.

    While the option is there for anyone that's willing to try, it shouldn't be taken as an alternative to so-called cheaper Quad-Core solution.
    yes, i understand abt tht part. it's kind of a "gd to have" situation.

    i was lucky mine unlocked all cores and running stable with default BIOS settings.

    actually there r settings to improve the stability (ie VCORE) but tht's OT at here

  13. #13

    Default Re: computer specs help

    Hi TS,
    this is the ram i'm using now.

    IMO, it's a pretty gd price for its specs since ram prices r gng up so the price diff is not too significant

    team xtreme 1600

  14. #14

    Default Re: computer specs help

    Quote Originally Posted by ahming111 View Post
    yes, i understand abt tht part. it's kind of a "gd to have" situation.

    i was lucky mine unlocked all cores and running stable with default BIOS settings.

    actually there r settings to improve the stability (ie VCORE) but tht's OT at here
    Increasing VCORE defeats the purpose of saving power. However like what you've said, its OT, hence no point going into details for that.
    P e r s p e c t i v e

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    493

    Default Re: computer specs help

    Quote Originally Posted by ahming111 View Post
    Hi TS,
    this is the ram i'm using now.

    IMO, it's a pretty gd price for its specs since ram prices r gng up so the price diff is not too significant

    team xtreme 1600
    thanks. how much does it cost? haha

    Quote Originally Posted by Yoh View Post
    One advise for you, visit other shops instead unless you have tones of cash to spare.
    which shop has the cheapest price n reasonable service haha

  16. #16

    Default Re: computer specs help

    Quote Originally Posted by Grey Knight View Post
    which shop has the cheapest price n reasonable service haha
    PCTheme is one of 'em.
    P e r s p e c t i v e

  17. #17

    Default Re: computer specs help

    Quote Originally Posted by Grey Knight View Post
    thanks. how much does it cost? haha
    $179 as of last sat @ PCTheme

  18. #18

    Default Re: computer specs help

    Quote Originally Posted by Yoh View Post
    PCTheme is one of 'em.
    i 2nd this. at least they got stocks for the items they put on the price list (so far those i buy)

    a lot of shops in SLS put such a long list but when ask them, always no stock one

  19. #19
    Moderator diver-hloc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Somewhere North
    Posts
    5,201

    Default Re: computer specs help

    Thought about upgrading my PC.... but can't afford an i5 system. Most likely just change my Core 2 duo to a Q core chip.... need not change Motherboard or even RAM....

    Scuba & Father... For Life

  20. #20

    Default Re: computer specs help

    Quote Originally Posted by diver-hloc View Post
    Thought about upgrading my PC.... but can't afford an i5 system. Most likely just change my Core 2 duo to a Q core chip.... need not change Motherboard or even RAM....
    as long as your new cpu chip can use on ur mobo then y not.

    point to note thou, i read that there are some processor chip that can only take DDR3 and not DDR2 and vice versa. do try to reassearch on this for your new chip, if not gotta change mobo and ram liao

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •