Thread: Newbie saying HI and needs help.

Default Newbie saying HI and needs help.

Hi everyone,

total newbie to photography here so I would really need and appreciate your advice.

I have never own a camera and I intend to get one soon. Besides general use, I like to focus on taking sport, landscape, animals/nature photos. For sport, particularly the sport of Olympic Weightlifting which consists of 2 lifts/events: the Snatch and the Clean & Jerk. Both lifts are executed very quickly and are done with within 2-3 seconds. Please take a look at a video of the snatch if you haven't seen it before.

Video Unplayable

Thus, the camera needs to able to take multiple quick shots so that the motion can be captured into sequences like this http://www.flickr.com/photos/38313689@N00/, different stages of the lift.

Video recording function will be required as well to record the lifts.

Should I get a DSLR? My budget is about $1k. I browsed the forum and some are saying Pentax k-x?

Your advice is greatly needed!
    Last edited by Enigman; 21st February 2010 at 10:26 PM.

Default Re: Newbie saying HI and needs help.

DSLRs with very fast "rate of fire" are usually the more serious (read: expensive) models.
    The cost goes up almost exponentially as the fps rate increases 1 by 1 (ignoring all other differences in specs, hehehehe)

K-x is probably the best "bang for your buck" camera out there.
    Do you have any brand preference?
    Best is to go down to your friendly camera store (clubsnap has a list... search for it) and try the shooting speed if possible. Get a friend to simulate the action and see if you can capture it.
    Exploring! :)

Welcome to CS
    Take the shot!

For videos, I'd rent a handycam. For fast FPS, you could rent a pro-level cam (or 2 or 3). This way you could video while taking the lift at the same time from 2-3 different angles.
    Alpha

Quote Originally Posted by Rashkae View Post