Thread: Hi,new member needs help...

Default Hi,new member needs help...

Hi,

Newbie here.

Any insight/advise is appreciated.

I am attending a friend's wedding in 1 month time and I want to know what kind of setup should I use. Currently I have a D90 with 18-105 and a 50 1.8D. I am planning to buy Tamron 17-50VC and/or SB600/900 Speedlight. My roommate told me that 18-105 with SB600/900 is sufficient for the event. Would that mean I don't need the Tamron anymore once I got the speedlight?? Does D90-18-105-SB600/800 combi is sufficient enough?

but if Lets say I buy both Tamron and SB600/900, and I wanted to use the speed of 17-50 and reach of 18-105, when and where on the wedding is the best chance to switch lens and attach the speedlight to maximize the use of each? I am limited to one body only. This might be a nonsense question to some members, Pardon my ignorance....

Thanks and good day to all!!!

Default Re: Hi,new member needs help...

First, welcome to CS. Second, have you tried a search? There are about 2000 "wedding setup" questions, and at least 2 such threads in the last 1-2 days.

short answer: while the larger aperture of the 17-50 may be handy, will you actually need it? How large is the venue? Can you use bounce flash? Can you use a diffuser or lightsphere? There are too many variables; I don't think you need the 2.8 advantage (you could rent if needed).
    Alpha

Welcome to CS
    Take the shot!

Since it is a friend's wedding, I recommend that you practice a lot first, because even with new lenses, what is important getting the right composition and mood during the shoot.

You don't want to wreck a friend's special moment with bad under/over exposed pictures. I hope you are not the only photographer for the day. If you are, getting a spare body would be also a good idea *in case* anything happens on that day causing your camera to become undone.

HTH.
    A picture a day keeps the blues away!

Quote Originally Posted by ronoele View Post