Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Sharing of broadband ...

  1. #1

    Default Sharing of broadband ...

    i've subscribed singnet broadband 256k, becoz i wanna share the BB with my bro so tat he can surf BB on his desktop, rather than mine (laptop). Wat is tat machine that can do the "sharing"? ... i can't remember wat is it called liao ... and i'm going to purchase it, any brands or specs that i might be looking at?

    thanks
    rgds

  2. #2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by West_ray
    i've subscribed singnet broadband 256k, becoz i wanna share the BB with my bro so tat he can surf BB on his desktop, rather than mine (laptop). Wat is tat machine that can do the "sharing"? ... i can't remember wat is it called liao ... and i'm going to purchase it, any brands or specs that i might be looking at?

    thanks
    rgds
    i think u're lookin for internet access gateway or router...recommend accton one...

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Tampines, Singapore.
    Posts
    1,899

    Default

    if you're going to get wireless then make sure you get a router and not an access point. only a router will do NAT (network address translation) which you will need because the ISP only allocate one address to your broadband connection and you have multiple machines each needing one address.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    42

    Default

    And do pay that bit more to upgrade to an ethernet modem, don't take the free USB modem, cos USB modem cannot be connected to a router. Also try not to fall for their gimmick of the wireless router + modem combination device, cos if one device fails, that's it.

    My $0.02 of networking advice.

  5. #5

    Default

    Actually you don't need a dedicated router to share your internet connection. Your PC would do..

    You would need an network card on your computer ( if your modem is USB ) and also one on your brother's computer. If you're using winxp, just use its generic internet sharing, its good enough.

    On the other hand, if you have any old PCs, perhaps a pentium 1 or pentium 2 computer, .. this is mine http://junyang.dnip.net:8080/stats/ you can use it as a dedicated router, then you would need a switch/hub now...

  6. #6

    Default

    yah, i did paid abit more for an ethernet modem. tmr i'm going to IT show, see if there's any stuff over there tat i want.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Chinatown
    Posts
    182

    Default

    cool.. running linux? you not scared kanna rootkit ah.. i mean u post ur server information here...

    Quote Originally Posted by junyang
    Actually you don't need a dedicated router to share your internet connection. Your PC would do..

    You would need an network card on your computer ( if your modem is USB ) and also one on your brother's computer. If you're using winxp, just use its generic internet sharing, its good enough.

    On the other hand, if you have any old PCs, perhaps a pentium 1 or pentium 2 computer, .. this is mine http://junyang.dnip.net:8080/stats/ you can use it as a dedicated router, then you would need a switch/hub now...

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by carrot^
    cool.. running linux? you not scared kanna rootkit ah.. i mean u post ur server information here...
    yup, with iptables, makes a very good router .. also running squid.. as transparent caching proxy.. again done with iptables..

  9. #9

    Default

    If possible, still stick to getting a router. FOr less then $100, you save yourself from all the hassles.

    Netgear, dlink, accton, so many choices.

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by togu
    If possible, still stick to getting a router. FOr less then $100, you save yourself from all the hassles.

    Netgear, dlink, accton, so many choices.
    yeah, had some in mind liao ... IT show having any offers for ta?

  11. #11

    Default

    ok: these are the FACTS:

    a) get either a dlink or possibly linksys, I am using dlink
    b) since you already have an ethernet modem, all you need is the router. this router can possibly wireless even..

    ok: so why do I recommend dlink/linksys.
    I have tried various adsl router/bridge combos and other brands of routers such as
    netgear/smc/prolink/aztech/3com.

    the most ANNOYing thing is that for those cases, the dns/nat does not allow you to access your local application via its external ip address..

    ie: no loopback
    eg; you have your webserver at port 80, and you expose it to the internet via NAT.
    your internal ip is 192.168.0.2, your external one is whatever your isp assigns you from the ethernet modem: eg: 202.127.100.2

    if you were to type http://202.127.100.2/index.htm , you will be denied access on those brands of routers above. you can only access your webserver from http://192.168.0.2/index.htm

    now, some might think this is pedantic/feeble excuse not to buy any other brand of router but for those of you who are security oriented and you need to probe your pc firewall security from an external viewpoint, you can't use any pc behind this router to probe the external ip address.

    in fact, I've returned all 4 brands of router/bridges to PK computer/suntronics and PK told me to take my business elsewhere cos they can't just keep open/close new box for me to test.. which I accept.. cos I was troublesome too.. but i blame the brand manufacturers..

    take note though that this was in 2003/3/31, so they may have improved their firmware by now *cos I complained to ALL the brand manufacturers*

    this is my current setup.
    Dlink DI-804V
    Creative ADSL blaster/oem broadxent briteport
    Last edited by loupgarou; 12th March 2004 at 03:12 AM.

  12. #12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by loupgarou
    ok: these are the FACTS:

    a) get either a dlink or possibly linksys, I am using dlink
    b) since you already have an ethernet modem, all you need is the router. this router can possibly wireless even..

    ok: so why do I recommend dlink/linksys.
    I have tried various adsl router/bridge combos and other brands of routers such as
    netgear/smc/prolink/aztech/3com.

    the most ANNOYing thing is that for those cases, the dns/nat does not allow you to access your local application via its external ip address..

    ie: no loopback
    eg; you have your webserver at port 80, and you expose it to the internet via NAT.
    your internal ip is 192.168.0.2, your external one is whatever your isp assigns you from the ethernet modem: eg: 202.127.100.2

    if you were to type http://202.127.100.2/index.htm , you will be denied access on those brands of routers above. you can only access your webserver from http://192.168.0.2/index.htm

    now, some might think this is pedantic/feeble excuse not to buy any other brand of router but for those of you who are security oriented and you need to probe your pc firewall security from an external viewpoint, you can't use any pc behind this router to probe the external ip address.

    in fact, I've returned all 4 brands of router/bridges to PK computer/suntronics and PK told me to take my business elsewhere cos they can't just keep open/close new box for me to test.. which I accept.. cos I was troublesome too.. but i blame the brand manufacturers..

    take note though that this was in 2003/3/31, so they may have improved their firmware by now *cos I complained to ALL the brand manufacturers*

    this is my current setup.
    Dlink DI-804V
    Creative ADSL blaster/oem broadxent briteport
    Did you evaluate the other features of all the brands? Functions, Features, Performance, Support, Configuration, etc etc.

    West Ray might prefer to hear a complete comparsion of the various brand, instead of spending his hard earn money on 1 brand cos of 1 feature that you like.

    All the while, I thought port 80 is blocked by the ISP, to prevent subscribers from running their own web hosting. So it's pretty common that you can't publish your web to the public with that port. IF you are refering to internal testing, why don't you just type "localhost" or "127.0.0.1"? If you are refering to testing on another system in your LAN. Er... won't it be easier if you will to activate web publishing service and type the PC name instead of IP? Not too sure about all these technical stuffs, perhaps someone can elaborate more?


    By the way, PK actually let you test and exchange that 4 routers cos of the NAT configuration?
    Last edited by togu; 12th March 2004 at 11:43 AM.

  13. #13

    Default

    By the way, I'm using a DLINK too, but will still appreciate to see some FACTS and not just 1 FACT, on why you think DLINK is top choice.


  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Northwest
    Posts
    5,011

    Default

    Actually quite a number of broadband modems will have built in router and DHCP, so sharing the connection simply through a hub will work on such modems.
    As complexity rises, precise statements lose meaning and meaningful statements lose precision.

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    12,938

    Default

    I'm using Aztech ADSL broadband router (router+adsl modem) now. works fine for me. costs less than $150. used to run a routing software on my main pc to share the internet connection but it couldn't work well some times. and i was using USB network back then

    since West_ray already has a ethernet modem, he just need a broadband router. SMC barricade was quite popular last time. Is it still a good choice now?

  16. #16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mpenza
    I'm using Aztech ADSL broadband router (router+adsl modem) now. works fine for me. costs less than $150. used to run a routing software on my main pc to share the internet connection but it couldn't work well some times. and i was using USB network back then

    since West_ray already has a ethernet modem, he just need a broadband router. SMC barricade was quite popular last time. Is it still a good choice now?
    It's expensive.

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    200

    Talking

    expensive ? well, maybe, but it gives u the option of sharing your printer among all the users of the router + built in switch.

    hence dun have to turn on 2 pcs (urs + the pc tat the printer is connected) to print a single A4 page. juz leave the printer connected to the router.

    tats the sole reason i went for SMC Barricade.


    Quote Originally Posted by togu
    It's expensive.

  18. #18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mervin420
    expensive ? well, maybe, but it gives u the option of sharing your printer among all the users of the router + built in switch.

    hence dun have to turn on 2 pcs (urs + the pc tat the printer is connected) to print a single A4 page. juz leave the printer connected to the router.

    tats the sole reason i went for SMC Barricade.
    Yes, that's a very nice feature, print server that is.

  19. #19

    Default

    recommend u to use a wireless router like alcatel st 570 , 2Wire HomePortal or Aztech 9000W ...
    See my Photo Gallery at the Clubsnap

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    42

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PageUp
    Compex wireless routers are highly recommended over at Hardwarezone.
    Compex routers are so-so. The one highly recommended was the 11b one, cos it uses an Orinoco client on the router's wireless port, and this card has a booster antenna connector, so it has a good coverage. The new 11g routers are similar to other brand's routers, with the antenna built on the set (and it's very ugly looking too). Compex clients are cheap and good though, I have an 11b PCMCIA and USB client.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •