Thread: What to check for when buying new lens???

Default What to check for when buying new lens???

Hi!

I am thinking of getting a new lens and it's my first time doing so. I m wondering what are the things i have to inspect or look out for and how do i do the inspection for it?

i have read some where regarding QC issues on new lenses, so how do i check for all these issues??

Thanks in advance!!!
    Nikon D90 + 18-105mm Kit Lens + Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 VC

Default Re: What to check for when buying new lens???

Just check for the usuals:

- If the front lens have scratches. If it comes with filter, do check for both the filter and lens.
    - The back end of the lens, check to see if there's scratches.
    - Then hold it in front of you, and look through the lens through the back hole. See if there's any fault you can find in the lens through the glasses itself. It should be clear and nice.
    - If it's a zoom lens, try out the zoom mechanism, and check if it zooms smoothly.
    - Then check out the manual focusing ring, whether you are able to manual focus smoothly.
    - Next, use your own DSLR and try a few shots in both AF and MF modes.
    - Then check for body conditions, if there's heavy user marks or whatever (marks, scratches, etc.). But if you do not mind this marks, then you be set to pay for the lens.
    The world through my Canon 50D (35L, 17-55) | Nex 7 (16, 18-55, Sigma 30)

Quote Originally Posted by Guystqy View Post

- If the front lens have scratches. If it comes with filter, do check for both the filter and lens.
    - Then hold it in front of you, and look through the lens through the back hole. See if there's any fault you can find in the lens through the glasses itself. It should be clear and nice.
    - If it's a zoom lens, try out the zoom mechanism, and check if it zooms smoothly.
    - Then check out the manual focusing ring, whether you are able to manual focus smoothly.