Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > General Discussions > General, Reviews, Tech Talk

General, Reviews, Tech Talk Share tips & tricks, techniques, general photography chat.

Old 4th March 2004   #1
denizenx

Default @#%@#$!$ CF card not formatted

got this after I inserted my card into reader..
now even the cam says the same...
any way to restore? wah lau @$%@%@#%@#$13
Old 4th March 2004   #2
finkster

I suppose you've already tried formatting in-camera and also by the pc via the card reader? Which camera, cf and card reader are u using?
Old 4th March 2004   #3
denizenx

Originally Posted by finkster
I suppose you've already tried formatting in-camera and also by the pc via the card reader? Which camera, cf and card reader are u using?
no choice but to format to see if card is ok lor...
using a 1Ds on sandisk 512 Ultra II and an old imation 5-in-1
Old 4th March 2004   #4
denizenx

the card was ok from last pic...
until come back, take from cam, put in card 1 (samsung 64 -- OK) card 2 (sandisk DIED) cached write prob? but I turn write caching to off for media...
Old 4th March 2004   #5
finkster

I'm kinda wary of high speed cards paired with older or slower card readers. Experienced once before where the data transfer hanged midway. Fortunately the images were intact after powering down the pc and trying again.

Normally slow cards dun have the problem. The higher the speed the higher the risk i guess... with USB 2.0 and Firewire around these days. Some cards/card readers just can't take it.
Closed Thread