Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Bug on leaf using A40 +4 close-up

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    318

    Default Bug on leaf using A40 +4 close-up

    Can't beat King of Insects.... but here's a bug. Picture cropped to remove lots of leaves....

    Macro with Hoya +4 close-up filter
    Shutter: 1/60
    Aperture: 4.8
    Metering: Evaluative
    Flash: On
    Exposure compensation: 0
    Program AE with cloudy mode on





  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Riddle Realms
    Posts
    5,688

    Default

    Nice!

    I'm aspiring to be able to take pictures like that.
    You think the C700Uz will be able do something like this?
    --
    "High Wired, Dream Sired"

  3. #3

    Default

    Originally posted by Wolfgang
    Nice!

    I'm aspiring to be able to take pictures like that.
    You think the C700Uz will be able do something like this?
    Yes you can ... see azone's or tweek's C700 homepage



    To dbchoong , try nice ... but i think the DOF is shallow due to f4.8 ... are u able to set ur dc to f8 ?
    See my Photo Gallery at the Clubsnap

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    318

    Default

    The C700UZ should be able to do good macro shots too. It has a macro focus range of 10cm compared to the A40's 16cm. If not for the +4 close-up filter I used, I would not have been able to get this shot.





    Originally posted by Wolfgang
    Nice!

    I'm aspiring to be able to take pictures like that.
    You think the C700Uz will be able do something like this?

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    318

    Default

    Yeah, still testing macro - have not tried it much except some shots in the house (boring).

    I should have tried another shot with aperture at f8. Could have been better. But it was still raining. Don't want to get me and my camera wet...



    Originally posted by megaweb


    Yes you can ... see azone's or tweek's C700 homepage



    To dbchoong , try nice ... but i think the DOF is shallow due to f4.8 ... are u able to set ur dc to f8 ?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Riddle Realms
    Posts
    5,688

    Default

    Originally posted by dbchoong
    The C700UZ should be able to do good macro shots too. It has a macro focus range of 10cm compared to the A40's 16cm. If not for the +4 close-up filter I used, I would not have been able to get this shot.




    Thank you!
    --
    "High Wired, Dream Sired"

  7. #7

    Default

    Originally posted by dbchoong
    Yeah, still testing macro - have not tried it much except some shots in the house (boring).

    I should have tried another shot with aperture at f8. Could have been better. But it was still raining. Don't want to get me and my camera wet...



    good ! dun give up

    try to practise until you can get a similar like this fly shot ...
    See my Photo Gallery at the Clubsnap

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    318

    Default

    Would stacking 2 +4 close-up filters give an even closer picture? Theoratically should give a +8, am I right?

    Due to A40's minimum of 16cm focus distance (plus no manual focussing), can't really get too close to the subject as it won't focus.

    Anyone tried stacking close-up filters? Would it degrade picture quality?


  9. #9

    Default

    Originally posted by dbchoong
    Would stacking 2 +4 close-up filters give an even closer picture? Theoratically should give a +8, am I right?

    Due to A40's minimum of 16cm focus distance (plus no manual focussing), can't really get too close to the subject as it won't focus.

    Anyone tried stacking close-up filters? Would it degrade picture quality?

    wouldn't it be better if you got one +10 filter?

  10. #10
    ccmheoa
    Guests

    Default

    is the lens adaptor for the A40 available at simlim yet?
    wha'ts the cost for the +4 / +10 hoya filter???

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    318

    Default

    Well, the last time I looked at CP, they only had +1, +2 and +4 52mm filters.

    If I saw a +10 then, I would have got that instead.

    Would you know where to get and how much a +10 would cost? (52mm thread).

    Thx.



    Originally posted by copland


    wouldn't it be better if you got one +10 filter?

  12. #12

    Default

    Originally posted by dbchoong
    Would you know where to get and how much a +10 would cost? (52mm thread).
    ask CP to bring in stock for you lor, should be abt $80.

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    318

    Default

    I paid $16 for the +4 in CP. If you are good at bargaining or long-time customer, maybe can get cheaper.



    Originally posted by ccmheoa
    is the lens adaptor for the A40 available at simlim yet?
    wha'ts the cost for the +4 / +10 hoya filter???

  14. #14

    Default

    Hoya 52mm +10 closeup?
    last week still in stock in CP at $41

    ..NuTs..

    Originally posted by Tweek


    ask CP to bring in stock for you lor, should be abt $80.

  15. #15

    Default

    err... actually, wat does a close up filter do? does it allow u to get closer to the marco shot? does 10x means u can get closer 10 times more?

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    somewhere near...
    Posts
    2,114

    Default

    Originally posted by nuts
    Hoya 52mm +10 closeup?
    last week still in stock in CP at $41

    ..NuTs..

    +10 close up?? Got stock?? hmmmm but the image will be distorted huh? Everyone is recommanding the 250D LENs. Woooo..that's +what ah

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •