Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 31

Thread: Push Dull looking RAW image to vibration color

  1. #1

    Default Push Dull looking RAW image to vibration color

    I noticed that the RAW images are dull. If view from the RAW file it's not really that dull but once converted from either Photoshop thru Camera RAW or Canon DPP, and then uploaded to the web it looked dull.

    Thus, what do you normally do to push the color to make it more vibrant and colorful?

    I've tried to push the Saturation slider but the image become redder.

  2. #2
    Senior Member limwhow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Life revolves arOnd East Coast
    Posts
    7,052

    Default Re: Push Dull looking RAW image to vibration color

    Quote Originally Posted by pete2322 View Post
    I noticed that the RAW images are dull. If view from the RAW file it's not really that dull but once converted from either Photoshop thru Camera RAW or Canon DPP, and then uploaded to the web it looked dull.

    Thus, what do you normally do to push the color to make it more vibrant and colorful?

    I've tried to push the Saturation slider but the image become redder.
    Hello, pete2322.
    Can you post an example?
    I am sure there are many experienced CSers here who can offer suggestions.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Push Dull looking RAW image to vibration color

    I assume you're putting jpegs on the web. What color space are you using?

  4. #4
    Deregistered shaoken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Clementi/West Coast
    Posts
    2,119

    Default Re: Push Dull looking RAW image to vibration color

    RAW is something which really need editing (from my understanding)..
    You can play with levels in photoshop..

  5. #5
    Member Paiman74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    152

    Default Re: Push Dull looking RAW image to vibration color

    when using Adobe to process Raw, by default in the Camera Profile is Adobe. Change it to Standard or Potrait. It might help.

  6. #6
    Member scorpioh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Woodlands
    Posts
    1,972

    Default Re: Push Dull looking RAW image to vibration color

    Adjusting the curve to a gentle "S" would bring out the punch.
    I say the lens is the soul of a camera. What about the body? Well, it's just the body...

  7. #7
    Deregistered allenleonhart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    3,658
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Push Dull looking RAW image to vibration color

    Quote Originally Posted by pete2322 View Post
    I noticed that the RAW images are dull. If view from the RAW file it's not really that dull but once converted from either Photoshop thru Camera RAW or Canon DPP, and then uploaded to the web it looked dull.

    Thus, what do you normally do to push the color to make it more vibrant and colorful?

    I've tried to push the Saturation slider but the image become redder.
    well.since u stated ur using photoshop,

    u could adjust the color temperature to offset the extra redder overcast
    pimp up the saturation along with htat. not too much, cause u dun wanna have a fake looking image. maybe if u could upload ur cr2 file somewhere and we could take a look/edit and show u how it is done.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    New York, Singapore
    Posts
    1,514

    Default Re: Push Dull looking RAW image to vibration color

    Quote Originally Posted by Paiman74 View Post
    when using Adobe to process Raw, by default in the Camera Profile is Adobe. Change it to Standard or Potrait. It might help.
    i think you got colour space and shooting profiles mixed up! ACR uses adobe 1998 as colour space if im not wrong. you will have to change it to sRGB if you are going to upload to the web.

    if you are shooting in raw, the shooting profiles (neutral, faithful, portrait, etc) won't have an effect on your pictures. those profiles are used only for jpgs processed in-camera
    www.colouredshots.com
    Kodak film disposable camera

  9. #9

    Default Re: Push Dull looking RAW image to vibration color

    Push Dull looking RAW image to vibration color
    omg that sounds like a totally new colorspace!
    sigh.

  10. #10

    Default Re: Push Dull looking RAW image to vibration color

    Quote Originally Posted by allenleonhart View Post
    well.since u stated ur using photoshop,

    u could adjust the color temperature to offset the extra redder overcast
    pimp up the saturation along with htat. not too much, cause u dun wanna have a fake looking image. maybe if u could upload ur cr2 file somewhere and we could take a look/edit and show u how it is done.
    I cannot open the cr 2 file in photoshop, so I had to install the software in the canon CD, then switch from there to photoshop, which is so troublesome...
    And the worse thing is what I did in PS is not saved.

    what went wrong? pls advise...

    sorry, never shoot raw before

  11. #11

    Default Re: Push Dull looking RAW image to vibration color

    Quote Originally Posted by vlg134 View Post
    I cannot open the cr 2 file in photoshop, so I had to install the software in the canon CD, then switch from there to photoshop, which is so troublesome...
    And the worse thing is what I did in PS is not saved.

    what went wrong? pls advise...

    sorry, never shoot raw before
    Try checking if there are updates for your photoshop.

  12. #12

    Default Re: Push Dull looking RAW image to vibration color

    Quote Originally Posted by ahbian View Post
    Try checking if there are updates for your photoshop.
    we need to install the camera raw plug in right?

    what you guys normally do with the raw file? I was so impatient with it that I've converted all to jpeg without doing anything. haha...

    do you use any "lighter" program to view the raw before editing?

  13. #13

    Default Re: Push Dull looking RAW image to vibration color

    Quote Originally Posted by vlg134 View Post
    we need to install the camera raw plug in right?

    what you guys normally do with the raw file? I was so impatient with it that I've converted all to jpeg without doing anything. haha...

    do you use any "lighter" program to view the raw before editing?
    The camera raw plug-in is needed. I usually use canon DPP to view the the photos before I select the ones I wish to work on.

  14. #14

    Default Re: Push Dull looking RAW image to vibration color

    Quote Originally Posted by ahbian View Post
    The camera raw plug-in is needed. I usually use canon DPP to view the the photos before I select the ones I wish to work on.
    but that program is a little heavy and slow . Any other options?


    oh and the pics i shoot in raw r normally so noisy . But I guess it is user's problem

  15. #15

    Default Re: Push Dull looking RAW image to vibration color

    Quote Originally Posted by vlg134 View Post
    but that program is a little heavy and slow . Any other options?


    oh and the pics i shoot in raw r normally so noisy . But I guess it is user's problem
    Hmm... DPP works really fast for me.

    As for the noise, its a combination of your camera model and ISO. Guess you need to figure out your tolerant level and lower the ISO accordingly. But as as mentioned, a noisy picture might be better than a blur picture.

  16. #16

    Default Re: Push Dull looking RAW image to vibration color

    Quote Originally Posted by ahbian View Post
    Hmm... DPP works really fast for me.

    As for the noise, its a combination of your camera model and ISO. Guess you need to figure out your tolerant level and lower the ISO accordingly. But as as mentioned, a noisy picture might be better than a blur picture.
    sigh.... yea...

    and what you normally change in RAW?

    oh, thanks for your advice
    Last edited by vlg134; 8th February 2010 at 04:32 PM.

  17. #17

    Default Re: Push Dull looking RAW image to vibration color

    My RAW workflow:

    1) Open in PS
    2) Tweak Exposure (i tend to shoot roughly 1 stop underexposed for RAW to retain details)
    3) Saturation
    4) Vibrance
    5) Temperature

  18. #18

    Default Re: Push Dull looking RAW image to vibration color

    Quote Originally Posted by alvinlovesu View Post
    My RAW workflow:

    1) Open in PS
    2) Tweak Exposure (i tend to shoot roughly 1 stop underexposed for RAW to retain details)
    3) Saturation
    4) Vibrance
    5) Temperature
    thanks for sharing! . let me try again.

  19. #19

    Default Re: Push Dull looking RAW image to vibration color

    Full version of photoshop will include Adobe Bridge(or somethingy), latest update allows reading of the newer Canon RAWs, go take a look.

    My simple workflow:
    Shoot
    Via DPP: Select, exposure correct, white balance, contrast/saturation, tweak color if needed.
    Then export to JPEG, open in GIMP and add a border and signature.

    Upload, and you're done.
    better to be Socrates dissatisfied than a fool satisfied -J.S. Mill
    1000D. My works

  20. #20

    Default Re: Push Dull looking RAW image to vibration color

    Quote Originally Posted by Keenblade View Post
    Full version of photoshop will include Adobe Bridge(or somethingy), latest update allows reading of the newer Canon RAWs, go take a look.

    My simple workflow:
    Shoot
    Via DPP: Select, exposure correct, white balance, contrast/saturation, tweak color if needed.
    Then export to JPEG, open in GIMP and add a border and signature.

    Upload, and you're done.
    how to install Camera Raw? I just managed to download it from cnet . the files from adobe.com all updater only. how come?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •