Thread: Despondence

Default Despondence

Hi Everyone, I'm very new to DSLR photography and have started toying around with my first DSLR for one week.

Below is a picture taken at one of the slums in Manila of a Filipino boy who's stopping to rest his tired feet on the way home from school. I decided to snap this shot as I noticed that he was holding this pose for a few seconds and seems to be in deep thought.

This was snapped from a car moving at about 30-40kmh.

I appreciate all comments and advice on how I can improve on this picture.

Blog Entries

Default Re: Despondence

looks like he's nusing a sore/hurt foot

the composition given you shot from a moving car, can be improved to draw the viewer into the situation ...... consider stopping and doing a proper study and shoot in future ?
    shaddap and just shoot .... up close
    Walkeast

I reckon a vertical crop of the boy would make the photo more attention grabbing.

The subject does look deep in thought.

I think a little PP could possibly bring out the mood. Also, the subject is too sparse with respect to the entire frame. The background can be pretty cluttered too.
    I say the lens is the soul of a camera. What about the body? Well, it's just the body...

Blog Entries

just my personal preference....... whenever subject is smallish within an image's environment...... it/his/her placement is EXTREMELY important

Like this image in this other thread......... really didnt like the way the author pp'ed his image BUT the placement of the subject (IMHO) was an educated decision

THIS other thread

ed
    Last edited by ed9119; 20th January 2010 at 04:34 PM.
    shaddap and just shoot .... up close
    Walkeast

Quote Originally Posted by ed9119 View Post
    looks like he's nusing a sore/hurt foot

the composition given you shot from a moving car, can be improved to draw the viewer into the situation ...... consider stopping and doing a proper study and shoot in future ?