Thread: manual slr

Default manual slr

Hi all,

i've been shooting on dslr for a few years and would like to try out shooting on 35mm film. I currently considering a nikon body as i can still get new lenses for it like 50mm 1.8, 85mm 1.8 (correct me if i'm wrong).

A few questions:
    -what budget should i aim for? would arnd $150 for body be enough? i'm only shooting for fun
    -which shops specialize in 2nd SLR bodies?
    -can current nikon flashes (sb-800) be used on a manual nikon body?
    -what should i look out for when purchasing an old SLR? (scratches? dents?)

thx in advance and my apologies if i posted in the wrong section
    Olympus e330 + 25mm pancake + 14-54mm

Default Re: manual slr

Hi lunchtime,

you can check out all kind of working condition Nikon SLR camera at the shop called "The Camera Workshop" in Peninsula Shopping Centres #01-27/31.

Best of regards.
    "There are no mistakes, only lessons. Growth is a process of trials and errors."

Quote Originally Posted by lunchtime View Post
    Hi all,

i've been shooting on dslr for a few years and would like to try out shooting on 35mm film. I currently considering a nikon body as i can still get new lenses for it like 50mm 1.8, 85mm 1.8 (correct me if i'm wrong).

A few questions:
    -what budget should i aim for? would arnd $150 for body be enough? i'm only shooting for fun
    -which shops specialize in 2nd SLR bodies?
    -can current nikon flashes (sb-800) be used on a manual nikon body?
    -what should i look out for when purchasing an old SLR? (scratches? dents?)

thx in advance and my apologies if i posted in the wrong section
    Budget? Only you can tell... But getting a F90, F2M would be quite different. If you get a more recent model, you should still be able to match it with SB-800 and most of the lenses. A older film camera may only be compatible with certain lenses such as those with aperture rings.