Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 47

Thread: Newbie first shots....

  1. #21
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    318

    Default

    I believe you're on max 10X zoom when taking those night shots, right? It'll quite difficult to get good clear shots.

    Not sure, but can try this:

    1. Lowest aperture (2.8)
    2. Medium exposure (6 - 8 secs)
    3. Focus set to infinity
    4. Exposure compensation max (+2)
    5. Highest ISO - bound to be noisy... use PS to remove the noise
    6. MUST use tripod or camera sitting on something that is stable.

    I think the problem not so bad if not zoomed to max.

    U stay Telok Blangah? That's Bukom refinery, right?


  2. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Riddle Realms
    Posts
    5,688

    Default

    Originally posted by dbchoong
    I believe you're on max 10X zoom when taking those night shots, right? It'll quite difficult to get good clear shots.

    Not sure, but can try this:

    1. Lowest aperture (2.8)
    2. Medium exposure (6 - 8 secs)
    3. Focus set to infinity
    4. Exposure compensation max (+2)
    5. Highest ISO - bound to be noisy... use PS to remove the noise
    6. MUST use tripod or camera sitting on something that is stable.

    I think the problem not so bad if not zoomed to max.

    U stay Telok Blangah? That's Bukom refinery, right?

    Regarding your last question, yes.

    As for the steps you advised.. i'll try it out soon and post the result here. One question, how does on set the focus to infinity?

    My highest ISO is 800. Would that be ok?
    --
    "High Wired, Dream Sired"

  3. #23
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    318

    Default

    To set to infinity, there should be a picture of a mountain on some button. Press that to activate.

    ISO800 is very high.... will get a lot of noise. Picture also won't be sharp. If possible, start with lowest ISO and move up. That's the good thing about digicams, lets you experiment without paying through your nose for developing photos.




    Originally posted by Wolfgang


    Regarding your last question, yes.

    As for the steps you advised.. i'll try it out soon and post the result here. One question, how does on set the focus to infinity?

    My highest ISO is 800. Would that be ok?

  4. #24

    Default

    I'm a c700uz user, here are some sure-fire useful tips for nightshots:

    1) use a tripod (you already have done that)
    2) let the nightshot be the first few shots in let's say 5mins, so that the CCD will be cool enough not to produce too much noise.
    3) use F2.8 (or 3.5 if you zoom) if all your subjects are all very far away
    4) keep shutter speed to 4-8 seconds. Expose accordingly to the exposure meter on the top right hand corner.
    5) use tungsten white balance or one-touch white balance to get a correct colour cast.
    6) Set focus to infinity, by holding the OK button which will bring up manual focus. Push the marker of the manual focus to the infinity mark.
    7) use self-timer
    8) keep to ISO100, don't use anything higher. The shorter exposure (with possibly less hotpixels) is not worth the noisier pic if you use higher ISO.

    Your nightshots shld be quite decent with the above tips. However, hotpixels are unavoidable for shutter speed more than 2 or 3s. You can use blackframe subtraction or the mediachance hotpixel program to reduce them, or better still, go to Olympus Singapore and get a firmware upgrade. That will give you hotpixel-less exposure up to about 4-6s.

  5. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Riddle Realms
    Posts
    5,688

    Default

    Originally posted by Tweek
    I'm a c700uz user, here are some sure-fire useful tips for nightshots:

    1) use a tripod (you already have done that)
    2) let the nightshot be the first few shots in let's say 5mins, so that the CCD will be cool enough not to produce too much noise.
    3) use F2.8 (or 3.5 if you zoom) if all your subjects are all very far away
    4) keep shutter speed to 4-8 seconds. Expose accordingly to the exposure meter on the top right hand corner.
    5) use tungsten white balance or one-touch white balance to get a correct colour cast.
    6) Set focus to infinity, by holding the OK button which will bring up manual focus. Push the marker of the manual focus to the infinity mark.
    7) use self-timer
    8) keep to ISO100, don't use anything higher. The shorter exposure (with possibly less hotpixels) is not worth the noisier pic if you use higher ISO.

    Your nightshots shld be quite decent with the above tips. However, hotpixels are unavoidable for shutter speed more than 2 or 3s. You can use blackframe subtraction or the mediachance hotpixel program to reduce them, or better still, go to Olympus Singapore and get a firmware upgrade. That will give you hotpixel-less exposure up to about 4-6s.
    Thank you for the tips given. Very very much appreciated.

    As for the firm ware upgrade.. how much would it cost?

    Kindly advise.
    --
    "High Wired, Dream Sired"

  6. #26

    Default

    Originally posted by Wolfgang


    Thank you for the tips given. Very very much appreciated.

    As for the firm ware upgrade.. how much would it cost?

    Kindly advise.
    it's free if your camera is still under warranty, however they may deny that such a firmware upgrade exists. If that happens, specify that you want to reduce hotpixels, and if worse come to worse, ask for Mr. Goh, think he will most definitely do it for you.

  7. #27
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Riddle Realms
    Posts
    5,688

    Default

    Originally posted by Tweek


    it's free if your camera is still under warranty, however they may deny that such a firmware upgrade exists. If that happens, specify that you want to reduce hotpixels, and if worse come to worse, ask for Mr. Goh, think he will most definitely do it for you.
    Thanks alot.

    Erm, may i inquiry as in to where is this place you're talking about?
    --
    "High Wired, Dream Sired"

  8. #28
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Riddle Realms
    Posts
    5,688

    Default

    Kindly comment please. Newbie's Sunrise shots....





    Thank you.
    --
    "High Wired, Dream Sired"

  9. #29

    Default

    Originally posted by Wolfgang


    Thanks alot.

    Erm, may i inquiry as in to where is this place you're talking about?
    Olympus Singapore!

    Their service support center at River Valley Rd.

    Wah your sunrise shots fresh from the oven one right? Sniff sniff..

  10. #30
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Riddle Realms
    Posts
    5,688

    Default

    Why is it whenever i resize the picture and shrink it.. it always turn out blurrer?

    I usually shrink it from 1600 x 1200 to 600 x 480 or there abouts...

    Kindly advise...
    --
    "High Wired, Dream Sired"

  11. #31
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Riddle Realms
    Posts
    5,688

    Default

    Originally posted by Tweek


    Olympus Singapore!

    Their service support center at River Valley Rd.

    Wah your sunrise shots fresh from the oven one right? Sniff sniff..
    River Valley.. alright then. I'll make a trip down today. Is it ok if i had no sent in my warrenty? I just bought yesterday....

    And yes, it's right from the oven...
    --
    "High Wired, Dream Sired"

  12. #32
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Riddle Realms
    Posts
    5,688

    Default

    Originally posted by Tweek


    Olympus Singapore!

    Their service support center at River Valley Rd.

    Wah your sunrise shots fresh from the oven one right? Sniff sniff..
    As for the firmware upgrade.. how long does it take for them to do it?
    --
    "High Wired, Dream Sired"

  13. #33
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Bukit Batok West Avenue 2
    Posts
    1,734

    Default

    Hmmm Sunrise... The first one quite nice if you are trying to catch the surroundings, but the sun is over exposed....

    The second one... still looks a little over exposed hee hee...

  14. #34
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Riddle Realms
    Posts
    5,688

    Default

    Originally posted by Flare
    Hmmm Sunrise... The first one quite nice if you are trying to catch the surroundings, but the sun is over exposed....

    The second one... still looks a little over exposed hee hee...
    Indeed. I agree it to be so. Just a question. How does one compensate for a rising sun and a darker foreground?

    In the 2nd picture.. the foreground looks underexposed while in the first picture, the buildings look ok but the sun looks over exposed. Any tips? Anyone?

    Kindly advise.
    --
    "High Wired, Dream Sired"

  15. #35
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Riddle Realms
    Posts
    5,688

    Default

    A view from my room.....

    --
    "High Wired, Dream Sired"

  16. #36
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Riddle Realms
    Posts
    5,688

    Default

    Originally posted by Wolfgang


    Indeed. I agree it to be so. Just a question. How does one compensate for a rising sun and a darker foreground?

    In the 2nd picture.. the foreground looks underexposed while in the first picture, the buildings look ok but the sun looks over exposed. Any tips? Anyone?

    Kindly advise.
    Any one can advise pls?

    Thank you.
    --
    "High Wired, Dream Sired"

  17. #37

    Default

    Originally posted by Wolfgang


    Any one can advise pls?

    Thank you.
    you can't lor, because the dynamic range is limited. So when you have a bright sun in the picture, either the sun is properly exposed or the buildings are properly exposed, not both. You can use photoshop to combine them together though, you will need 2 shots: one of the sun properly exposed and one of the buildings properly exposed, and the two shots must be geometrically the same.

  18. #38
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Riddle Realms
    Posts
    5,688

    Default

    Originally posted by Tweek


    you can't lor, because the dynamic range is limited. So when you have a bright sun in the picture, either the sun is properly exposed or the buildings are properly exposed, not both. You can use photoshop to combine them together though, you will need 2 shots: one of the sun properly exposed and one of the buildings properly exposed, and the two shots must be geometrically the same.
    I see, i see. So i can't have the cake and eat it eh?

    Oh well, then i shall try to exp either the sun properly or the building properly.

    Thank you.
    --
    "High Wired, Dream Sired"

  19. #39
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Bedok
    Posts
    1,417

    Default

    Most of your pic is out of focus
    Canon Lover :)

  20. #40
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Riddle Realms
    Posts
    5,688

    Default

    Originally posted by Klause
    Most of your pic is out of focus
    Hmm.. could it be something wrong with my C700?

    Or is it my technique?

    Or is there an actual way to manual focus the C700? (I believe it's totally auto focus right? (or am i wrong?)

    Kindly advice.
    --
    "High Wired, Dream Sired"

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •