Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Nikon

Nikon At the heart of the image

Old 27th February 2004   #1
swimcraze

Default who won't be getting a nikon D70???? yet....

hi.....

everyday we have been flooded with the news of D70 and the BUY BUY BUY syndrome. Just wondering if anyone out there will NOT be buying the D70, well, at least for now.... We all know that cost is a big factor here...but let us share the other not so obvious reasons why you won't be rushing into shops to grab the babe D70 ..... as yet.

enjoy !

Old 27th February 2004   #2
jeff49er

I def wont be buying one

Got 2 canon L lens so just cant switch.

Imagaine u have a Toyota Corolla now and u want to swtich to Nissan Sunny because there is a new model in town.

To take pic one has to continue to know his/her camera well enough
Old 27th February 2004   #3
majere2sg

Me ! Me ! Me !
I'm not buying !
Sponsored Link
Old 27th February 2004   #4
tmc17479

Me....waiting for KM's dslr later this year. Hope its within my price range.
Old 27th February 2004   #5
swimcraze

Originally Posted by majere2sg
Me ! Me ! Me !
I'm not buying !
and why???????
Old 27th February 2004   #6
AJ23

Me me me!!!

"Beat me also dun buy ah, webcam and torch enuff liao"

/* in someone's tone
/* runs far far
Old 27th February 2004   #7
majere2sg

Originally Posted by swimcraze
and why???????
Because I am satisfied with my current camera already and can't see any reason for changing it
Old 27th February 2004   #8
espn

AJ23

Anybody wanna sell the 18-70?
Old 27th February 2004   #9
msetjadi

Default thailand made?

this camera is made in thailand, let see if their QC has done a good job.

Do not buy now, better wait until two months at least,let see if there is any complain from the owner

myself do not intend to buy it
Old 27th February 2004   #10
Carllim

Me also not tempted.
Old 27th February 2004   #11
concuss

hehe,

sorry lor, but I don't think I am in a hurry to buy a D70.... my D100 still feels beautiful in my hands! haha!!

but the 18-70.... now that's a different story all together!!!
Old 27th February 2004   #12
espn

concuss: You should be looking at the AF-S 12-24G DX or the AF-S 17-35/2.8D at least. I've high regards for you and you should be getting these!

Old 28th February 2004   #13
bonfire

I'd love to, but but... You cannot tempt me like this
Old 28th February 2004   #14
heshang

is this:
don't miss temptation for opportunity
or
don't miss opportunity for temptation?

Old 28th February 2004   #15
Cheesecake

i'm not buying.
my hands will dwarf over the small D70.

but it could be a nice DSLR to have.
its a want, not a need, to me at least.

go Nikon go!
Old 28th February 2004   #16
zombiez

Originally Posted by msetjadi

Do not buy now, better wait until two months at least,let see if there is any complain from the owner

Why is there a perception that Made in Thailand, the QC is questionable?? What if D70 was made in Singapore? Will it make any difference? BTW, if you check the visit to the factory article, this factory also makes other models for Nikon. F80, F75, F65... just wondering.
Old 28th February 2004   #17
yowch

Originally Posted by msetjadi

Should I be worried that the Toyota Altis will fall apart on the road and cause accidents to Mercedes and BMWs?
Old 28th February 2004   #18
togu

Me me me! I'm not buying! Unless it's stated "Guaranteed Professional", else I'll rather stick with my toy cam.

Old 28th February 2004   #19
Cheesecake

Originally Posted by zombiez
Why is there a perception that Made in Thailand, the QC is questionable?? What if D70 was made in Singapore? Will it make any difference? BTW, if you check the visit to the factory article, this factory also makes other models for Nikon. F80, F75, F65... just wondering.
that's right. i agree with zombiez. but then again, that's the general perception of most people.

and that's not a very good and correct perception to harbour.

so long as the camera is new and it carries the brand, Nikon, i guess most people will have no fear in buying it. Nikon will not want to smear its own brand name esp. now its trying to take on the consumer DSLR market, right?

besides, it is considered cheap by its own standard, the cost in production labour has a vital part to play?

if not for the lack of a grip, i would have bought it.

have no fear.
Old 28th February 2004   #20
patch17

D70... don't need one.

i'm having too much fun with the other 70's cameras.
Closed Thread